Customer Reviews for

Shred: The Revolutionary Diet: 6 Weeks 4 Inches 2 Sizes

Average Rating 3.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

79 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

A Lifestyle plan that works regardless of age or size SHRED has


A Lifestyle plan that works regardless of age or size
SHRED has changed my life in a dramatic way. Before I started SHRED I was on another program where I had lost 40 pounds and had been on a plateau for over a month. I started with Shred in August while following Dr. ...

A Lifestyle plan that works regardless of age or size
SHRED has changed my life in a dramatic way. Before I started SHRED I was on another program where I had lost 40 pounds and had been on a plateau for over a month. I started with Shred in August while following Dr. Ian on twitter and here I am in December 45 pounds lighter and beginning to live the best years of my life. I am 54 years old and have never felt this great as far back as I can remember and I am talking at least for the past 25 to 30 years. This is no joke, my health has taken a dramatic turn, I went from high cholesterol (265 highest ever) now to 188, high blood pressure to normal blood pressure, size 24/26 to size 18/16, pre-diabetes to normal glucose levels and from basically no exercising (use to hate it) to exercising at least 6 days a week. Shredding has taught me what is the best and healthiest way to eat when I am eating out and my portions have become smaller. I am never hungry cause I am in the habit of eating 4 small meals a day plus my snacks. The foods you eat are affordable and found in your local grocery stores. There are no gimmicks or quick fix with Shred, it's a way of life and something you can live with everyday. This is a plan that I have incorporated in my household and now we all are eating healthier, working out together and living a healthier lifestyle. The book is easy to read, the instructions are easy to follow. My first month on Shred I had lost 27 pounds which is a miracle and this was done by eating 4 small meals a day plus healthy snacks and starting with cardio (walking, Zumba and elliptical). I would highly recommend this book to those who want to live a healthier life, eating the right way and the benefits will be 20 pounds in 6 weeks. It works and the awesome thing about Shred, it is affordable and all foods are easily accessible. I am no celebrity, a single middle class mom/grandmother who took the wisdom of Dr. Ian and made it worked for me. By this summer I plan on being at my goal weight and intend on keeping it off because I have found a plan that I love and enjoy doing. The book is worth buying and you will find it useful as you pursue your dream of being a healthier/slimmer person. Get the book and start shredding.

posted by VirtuousWm54 on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

72 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

I wish I would have bought the paper version. Some of the chart

I wish I would have bought the paper version. Some of the charts re times of eating are unreadable on the Nook. Also, there is a lot of going back and forth to the recipes and the days to see what you need on hand for the week. Not as easy with the Nook version. I sta...
I wish I would have bought the paper version. Some of the charts re times of eating are unreadable on the Nook. Also, there is a lot of going back and forth to the recipes and the days to see what you need on hand for the week. Not as easy with the Nook version. I start the Shred Diet tomorrow so I'll get back to you on the diet.

posted by ERDocsMom on January 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    A Lifestyle plan that works regardless of age or size SHRED has


    A Lifestyle plan that works regardless of age or size
    SHRED has changed my life in a dramatic way. Before I started SHRED I was on another program where I had lost 40 pounds and had been on a plateau for over a month. I started with Shred in August while following Dr. Ian on twitter and here I am in December 45 pounds lighter and beginning to live the best years of my life. I am 54 years old and have never felt this great as far back as I can remember and I am talking at least for the past 25 to 30 years. This is no joke, my health has taken a dramatic turn, I went from high cholesterol (265 highest ever) now to 188, high blood pressure to normal blood pressure, size 24/26 to size 18/16, pre-diabetes to normal glucose levels and from basically no exercising (use to hate it) to exercising at least 6 days a week. Shredding has taught me what is the best and healthiest way to eat when I am eating out and my portions have become smaller. I am never hungry cause I am in the habit of eating 4 small meals a day plus my snacks. The foods you eat are affordable and found in your local grocery stores. There are no gimmicks or quick fix with Shred, it's a way of life and something you can live with everyday. This is a plan that I have incorporated in my household and now we all are eating healthier, working out together and living a healthier lifestyle. The book is easy to read, the instructions are easy to follow. My first month on Shred I had lost 27 pounds which is a miracle and this was done by eating 4 small meals a day plus healthy snacks and starting with cardio (walking, Zumba and elliptical). I would highly recommend this book to those who want to live a healthier life, eating the right way and the benefits will be 20 pounds in 6 weeks. It works and the awesome thing about Shred, it is affordable and all foods are easily accessible. I am no celebrity, a single middle class mom/grandmother who took the wisdom of Dr. Ian and made it worked for me. By this summer I plan on being at my goal weight and intend on keeping it off because I have found a plan that I love and enjoy doing. The book is worth buying and you will find it useful as you pursue your dream of being a healthier/slimmer person. Get the book and start shredding.

    79 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    I wish I would have bought the paper version. Some of the chart

    I wish I would have bought the paper version. Some of the charts re times of eating are unreadable on the Nook. Also, there is a lot of going back and forth to the recipes and the days to see what you need on hand for the week. Not as easy with the Nook version. I start the Shred Diet tomorrow so I'll get back to you on the diet.

    72 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Really works - Dr. Smith knows his stuff!

    If you want a easy effortless way to drop weight and get active - this is the book for you. I was lucky enough to get a preview from Dr. Ian and this program helped me lose weight easily. Buy this, you won't regret it!! Love Dr. Ian Smith

    41 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    This book is already a bestseller for a reason, it really works!

    This book is already a bestseller for a reason, it really works! I am using this book in combination with an amazing book called the Hungry Chick Dieting Solution, which a good friend recommended to me. The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution is helping me to improve my eating habits and The SHRED Diet is my support for everything else. For the first time in my life, I am actually losing weight. I have lost 10 pounds already and I am not going back to the way I used to be. Both books are must haves. 

    35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    It's works!!!!!!

    I don' t do a lot of reviews,but I have to tell how good this book is.First of all,I started the shred process on, January 7, 2013, today I weight myself a week later January 14, 2013,in have lost 6 pds.I have tried everything to lost weight,but this book is truly importative,does not feel like a diet,like most books,and plan.You don't have to buy different food,it' s regular food,that I already have,which is a plus for me.i m so happy in can not wait to see the new me,which I have been trying to do for awhile.Now with shred I can do it!!!!!!

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Best diet plan!

    If you want to be successful in losing weight - buy this book! You get to eat 4 meals & 3 snacks a day. It is fool proof if you follow the weekly meal plans. I was one of the lucky ones to recieve an advace copy of this plan & I lost 20 pounds and finally broke my plateau. It's only 6 weeks! Think of where you were 6 weeks ago, and where you could be in 6 weeks!

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Very good, direct way of helping you lose weight the healthy way

    Very good, direct way of helping you lose weight the healthy way. The meals are outlined and very easy to understand. I'm currently on week 3 (Week 3 is really a challenge!) and I have lost 5 pounds. I was not so much concerned about losing a lot of weight but moreso with increasing my metabolism and this program has definitely helped. Dr. Smith also included lots of recipes which makes it that much easier to follow. I do recommend purchasing the paper book as opposed to the Nook version. It is difficult to follow on the Nook because you have to continually refer to the book. A lot of the charts are really small in the nook as well. Great program, though!

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    I think buying the paperback is better.

    I think I willl buy the paperback as it is to time consuming to keep going back and forth in turning pages. The charts are to small to read in the Nook. I am voing to try it. I am a Diabetic and need to have a certain amount of Carbs a day. I am only allowed one snack a day.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Yes, this is easy to understand but as many reviewers mentioned,

    Yes, this is easy to understand but as many reviewers mentioned, it is a lot like reading the same page over and over, andbe aware that he considers a meal - for instance breakfast...to be an omelet made form two egg whites. I hope that those who incorporated this diet into their household have no teens or small children, or people who work really hard, shovel snow, dig gardens with a shovel, as they would not be getting enough energy or calories, I feel. I have only been on it for several days and I feel like I am starving. ANy food at all looks better than it did before I began dieting. Yes, if you will follow this diet, you will lose weight and you will always be hungry while you are on it, too.

    13 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    It really works. I'm so glad I didn't listen to the negative re

    It really works. I'm so glad I didn't listen to the negative reviews.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Recommended

    This book is a good book and is well written and the diet could work, but I quit using it. It would be much more useful to me to have a hard copy instead of on my nook. Too hard to find information from page to page.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Excited to try

    Saw this on dr. Oz today. Im excited to try it!

    8 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    I was very disappointed with this book it is the same thing over

    I was very disappointed with this book it is the same thing over and over on each page for each week . There was no infomation in this book . A waste of money and time.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Same old stuff. Repetative. Not worth reading or the cost.

    Same old stuff. Repetative. Not worth reading or the cost.

    7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The book is well-laid out. Each chapter takes you through every

    The book is well-laid out. Each chapter takes you through every day with specific instructions as to when to eat the four meals and three snacks, giving you the options for each meal and snack and choices for the exercise requirement for the day.
    While Smith is very rigid in his instructions, there seems to be enough choices that make it doable for most people. He gives you the calorie counts for each meal and snack, and options to get to those calories. Fruits and vegetables are key, as is drinking a cup of water before each meal. I think it would easy to follow this book day by day.
    I think if you are the kind of person who follows instructions closely this diet will work for you. There are enough options for your meals and snacks, and Smith lists lots of 100, 150 and 200-calorie snacks in the back of the book that I found so helpful even if you are not on the diet.
    He also has several Smoothie and Soup recipes (both are big options in the diet) that look wonderful too. You don't need to be on the diet to find these delicious and helpful

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    This is the worst diet book since the infamous "Beverly Hil

    This is the worst diet book since the infamous "Beverly Hills Diet". It reads like it was written by a 10 year old for 8 year old readers. The diet itself is a low calorie, low fat, low sugar , low GI and totals about 1000 calories a day. After six weeks anybody would lose weight.
    The recipies are pathetic. He has a one egg white, yes, one, omlette. How do you cook that. Other helpful recipies tell you the peel the banana before putting it in the blender. Who would have known?
    Finally you are supposed to do 40 minutes of cardio five times a week. He suggest about a dozen exercise machines and then repeats the same list 29 more times just in case you forgot what machine to use.
    The people giving the book 5 stars must not have read it or are friends or family members. I would have given it no stars but I had to give it at least. The book was a total waste of $12 and I am mad as hell for wasting the money.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    recommend

    This plan is realistic and totally do-able!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    I love this book! Easy to follow. On my first week, so far so go

    I love this book! Easy to follow. On my first week, so far so good. Excited about getting to the sixth week, time going by so slow. Can't wait till sixth week to see my weight lose. Great plan Dr. Ian! Your one in a million.
    Thank-you

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    I am pretty sure this diet will work. I have tried the smash di

    I am pretty sure this diet will work. I have tried the smash diet before I got pregnant and I lost about 8 pounds in 2 weeks. This book somewhat mimics his other books; therefore, I know it will work. I can't wait to lose these extra baby pounds. :) I plan to combine it with my insanity workout... I am so excited!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This is the first diet that I have tried that works for me and I see results weekly. I am motivated to continue my healthier lifestyle learning to incorporate more fruits and vegetables and keeping my metabolism in fat burning mode. Thank you Dr. Ian Smith for this revolutionary diet, I am starting to love the skin I’m in again!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6