Customer Reviews for

Shredder

Average Rating 3.5
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Shredder

excellent read catches the readers head reccomended age18 and up

posted by 5899398 on January 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

It was ok.

I have never seen so many errors in a book. If the quality of this product is any indication, the movie is going to be a low budget piece of garbage.

posted by 4138308 on May 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Shredder

    excellent read catches the readers head reccomended age18 and up

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Read the sample and decide for yourself.

    I read the other reviews and the free sample, then opted to buy this novel. I was not disappointed, until the very end. I anticipated gore and violence, and spelling & grammar issues. I, personally, did not find the spelling and grammar errors too distracting. Give it a try, if you like gore, violence, and suspense. Beware, of lots and lots of gore and many death in grisly ways throughout the book.

    I enjoyed the overall plot line. What follows is a brief plot summary. A deadly and experienced soldier-for-hire has a mission that goes terribly wrong. No one knows what happened. He survives, but just barely, and goes into a drunken retirement. Years later he is approached, and subsequently mislead, by a sketchy guy in an expensive suit. He takes the job as a "new recruit evaluator." All is not as it seems with his new sketchy employer. As the story progresses, he puts together the pieces of the puzzle, bit by bit. (My favorite part.) Soon, butt kicking action and just desserts are liberally dished out.

    Then, unfortunately, comes the cliche twist ending, which was wholly unnecessary. The author could have left well enough alone, but didn't, sadly. The final twist is the reason for a disappointed 3 stars instead of a 4 star rating.

    The twists and turns were good and kept my attention through to the end of the book. It did get a little slow in the middle, with the repetitive killing of people in similar manners again and again and again. The writing was reasonable, the plot good, and character development wa sufficient. I recommend it regardless of the corny final cliche.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    It was ok.

    I have never seen so many errors in a book. If the quality of this product is any indication, the movie is going to be a low budget piece of garbage.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Poor grammar - not an indication of a serious writer... stopped me from completing this book-

    I found the poor grammar in the narrative (not the dialogue) distracting. Never depend only on yourself, or your buddies, for proofreading and editing; it will come back and bite you on the butt every time. Find someone who knows what they are doing. We rarely catch all our own errors - just a fact of life.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    It was awesome

    If you like gory this is it. I dont think I have ever read a book in 2 days. I just couldn't but my nook down. Some flaws but that didn't bother me one bit. Great job Gary.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    A Must read

    ENJOYED THIS BOOK VERY MUCH,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good read

    grusome in parts but keeps your interst and you have to keep reading to find out the next action

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    best thing ever

    a must read book for people who like action suspence and mystery

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Boo to grammar nazis

    I really wish grammar nazis would just take a hike somewhere. I hate it when you ppl come here and grade the book. This isnt a blamed english class. If you are so grammar perfect, get up out of your lazy boys and write your grammar perfect novel. I guarantee somone, somewhere will grade it grammar deficient. Get a life nazis and give it a rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    GOOD POTENTIAL - FALLS SHORT

    If you have read the jacket or the ebook synopsis you can already tell that SHREDDER is about some soldiers caught in a situatuon where a creature much like The Thing is picking them off one at a time. I would've given this book 2-1/2 stars if possible. WHAT I LIKED: The backstory of the main character. The description of the creature and its utterly evil and gory killing. The idea for the story's creation - I could see what the author was trying to produce. WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Obviously, this book was written by a British author, which is fine. However, the last I heard that the word "whilst" was actually being used was in the 17th or 18th century, and this author uses it a lot. It stuck out like a sore thumb. I also didn't think a lot of the scary scenes were realistic. For Black Ops type soldiers they were sure stupid and inadequate. Like those low budget scary movies where you're yelling at the screen. I also became annoyed with the MANY grammar and spelling mistakes, sometimes having to guess at what was supposed to be written. Lastly, I thought the ending was too cliche'.

    It's supposedly being turned into a movie. Maybe that will be better? It has potential.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    GHOSTY5000

    This book is great for people into blood and gore. The plot line wasn't bad and the book leaves you glued to the nook. The grammar is a little off buut honestly, are you more interested in spellchecking a book or going on novelized thrill ride.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Gory

    A lot of blood and guts. But an interesting concept.
    Poor keene.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Good

    It was alright.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    highly recommended

    very good service, books delivered in good time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    very god read

    great on a cold winters night

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Better movie!

    good read but would make a better movie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Im in love with this book

    If you are into stuff like PREDATOR and any kind of movies thar deal with survival between aliens and humans then this is the book for you. ALSO it should be made into a movie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    cool book

    shreder is the coolest book ever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Awesome book

    Just a bit gory but a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Movie!!!!!

    This was a good story that moved swiftly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10