Customer Reviews for

Shugo Chara!, Volume 1

Average Rating 5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    *Super Cute Story Line*

    If you want to read some cute manga fantasy this is the one of a kind series you want to pick up at your local Barnes and Noble store...The story line is super fabulous that craves your attention. You have this girl Amu who is super cool and spicy** to everyone at school but really is a sweet shy girl who wants to know her interself...hence the Guardians, who show up to help her create this person she dreams of. The Guardians are sweet and add a special touch to the series. My absolute favorite character would have to be Ikuto the bad guy who works for easter....Nwa Nwa.....The storyline is Romantic and Thrilling!! Its your kind of Rainy day book that makes you not need the sun to make you smile and laugh.... I also think the art work is pretty darn good too!!! I hope I could help you out :]

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    A Sweet Tale Of Growing Up And Finding Yourself

    I usually don't read these kinds of stories [Magical Girl Shoujos are all too common these days, if you ask me] but, I was glad I didn't skip out on this one. It isn't your typical story. For one, the herorine isn't vapid or clumsy or inclined to care more about food than what is healthy [unlike others I don't care enough to mention]. The herorine is a rational young girl, struggling to find her own niche in the world. One thing I can honestly relate to. She is a believable, charming character who pulls you into the story so naturally, its no wonder you go through the chapters so quickly. I also love the idea behind the story, everyone having an egg with a version of a future 'you' inside. To cut this long, rambling, review short, I honestly hope you read it, and enjoy this manga as much as I have.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    I've read a lot of manga, and this is one of the best! The plot is completely new and original, and you never know what's going to happen next. The characters are amazing, and so is the drawing. Once you start reading it, you will never stop! It's almost addicting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Manga Series I've Ever Read

    This is a amazing book for all ages, it's funny, touching, romantic, a tale about a lonley girl who finds her true self. I have read the whole series, and every page is great. The drawings are beautiful, and I spend all my free time re-reading it and drawing my favorite characters.

    The name 'Shugo Chara' (when translated) means Guardian Character. The main character, Amu Hinamori, has gone to a new school for six mounths. She pretends to be cool and strong, but really she is shy and quiet. She wishes to be a more honest and obiedent girl. The next day, she wakes up to three eggs in her bed.

    The eggs hatch later, and what hatches is a Shugo Chara. First Ran, then Miki, Then Suu, and later through the series, Dia. Amu is then asked to join the Guardians, a group of kids at the school who also have Shugo Chara's. The Guardians have a Kings Chair, A Queens Chair, an Ace Chair, a Jack Chair, and rarely, a Joker Chair(was empty until she joined).

    She instantly falls in love with the Kings Chair, Tadase Hotori. He rejects her, and asks to be friends, though he quickly regrets it when he starts to fall for her.

    The ememy, the Easter company, is also trying to find the Embryo (a magic egg that grants wishes), but going about it the wrong way. A boy, Ikuto Tsukiyomi, is forcrd to work for them because his step-father is Easter's director. He also has a shugo chara, Yoru. He has to fight the Guardians, including Amu, who is the fighting leader, because she is the most powerful. Throughout thier incounters, he falls in love with her. He helps her out when she is in trouble, but he teases her so she won't like him, and Easter won't target her, though it dosn't work, she falls for too.

    Amu's main love intrests are Tadase and Ikuto, though thier are a few others. I won't tell you anymore, but if you like reading, you will love this book series, it's truly amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    High Expectations

    I have not yet read the series "Shugo Chara" but I will say this much, I have watched the anime and after the first episode I was hooked. I couldn't get enough of it. The love triangle really kept me going and the comedy was great too! I feel I have no right to review a book I've never read, but I build this review off other things. As the anime was awesome, I believe "The original is and always will be better" so I can predict the manga is even better. I recommend to all who love romantic comedies, a little magic and a whole lot of drama.

    Fellow Manga/Anime freak for life
    ~Oak-chan

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Shugo Chara is a unique name and im glad that they translated in english. >.<

    Shugo Chara is a heart jumping story. It made me go crazy 17 times in counting its a very very very very very very very very heartwarming storing and at some moment you would ask your self "OHmygod! what the heck is amu-chan going to do now" or "...i didnt see that coming...". I really liked it. I really really did.

    P.S. I recommend all the manga that i have on display.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great stuff!

    Wonderful story. Excellent entrance into the world of animae.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Oh My God

    I love shugo chara!It is one of the cutest manga ever I just love it I have the first five i can't wait to get the sixth it's so cute if you don't like you have to be a nutjob I even got this girl who doesn't like manga or anime to read it and she loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really love this series!! It's amazing (I'm currently on volum

    I really love this series!! It's amazing (I'm currently on volume 9) and once you get past volume 3 that's when things start really getting good! I mean the first 2 are good don't get me wrong but at times they can be a tad bit slow but they are still cute and quite funny:) This series is for sure not your average 'Magical girl shojo" I'm a sophomore in High school and even though Amu is a 5th grader I find her to be highly relatable to myself! Trust me you can't go wrong with this series!!! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    This is a really good manga. The art in it is INCREDIBLE. It is

    This is a really good manga. The art in it is INCREDIBLE. It is SO beautiful and should be given an award or something because it really just completes the book. The copy I got had an Honorifics Explained page in the begining and that was really informative and interesting. I don't know if your copy will have it though so don't go expecting it. This really is a heartwarming and adorable manga. Thank you Peach-Pit for giving the world one of the best stories we've ever seen. It's even better that it happens to be manga!!! But I have to say that I HATE the fact that Amu is in the fouth grade and like 9 years old! It does add to the cuteness but it makes it sort of less relatable for us teens but she is pretty mature and deep so it evens out I guess. Besides, whatever minor problems I have with Amu, Akuto makes up for ten times over! Gotta love that weird (hot!!!) cat-cosplay-kid!!! You have to read it to get that last one. ;P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    Awesome Manga!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is definatally one of the best series i've read but did you know they have a show? its on crunchyroll click on anime for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    Oh its amazing!

    okay I have not read it yet but I will. I've watched the show though its really good :) I cant wait till Shugo Chara Encore :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    Captured my attention immediately. Awesome manga, couldn't ask for a more sweet, cute, and heartwarming story. Characters are very original thought they resemble Vampire Knight in a sense. All in all, a definite must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A good book to read if you are bored...

    I have never read a manga before so, it took some thought to buy Shugo Chara. Once I bought it I read it in one day. It is funny and you can't wait to see what happens. I loved it so much i bought the entire series. The only thing I didn't like about it was I was confused about how to read it because, the japanese read right to left instead of left to right. But I learned which way was which and I enjoyed reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Will get you hooked on the series

    ive read this 3 times already, and i still cant get enough of the cute story line, well-drawn characters, and the suspenseful moments.

    This is a MUST read(along with the remaining volumes of this series)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good.

    One of my favorite mangas for sure.

    GET IT OR DIE:]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    Shugo Chara

    Really, this is good. You learn about dreams and how you have to keep going on, even if change happens. It has a good message and the illustrations are cute! The anime is good too ~ I highly recommend...especially to people who love shojo, sort of CardCaptor Sakura stuff~ ^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    evelyn/mangasuperfan

    oh my god I watched SHUGO CHARA the telivision show on youtube and fell in love with it instantly.i couldnt help but wonder if their was books on it and their were.i just adore this book.its the first manga i read but because of this book desinatly not the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    Its Adorable

    I love this manga. I picked it up at the library while bored and having nothing to read. I was on a Shojo manga kick, so I began to read it. I fell in love instantly, the characters were adorable! Plus Ikuto sealed the deal with a bit of well... sexual encouragement 'for me the little blush of Amu's and the smirk of Ikuto's is worth a squeal' This is one of the few mangas I am willing to slap down ten bucks per volume for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    Amu-chan, Ran, Miki, and Suu are so CUTE! I love the anime and just had to read the Manga... so... yeah. It's a really awesome series. I recommend it to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3