Customer Reviews for

Shutter Island

Average Rating 4
( 1753 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(891)

4 Star

(523)

3 Star

(218)

2 Star

(68)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Suspenseful and thrilling until the end

This book is a great easy read. I started out reading it cause my teacher told us to pick a book. As soon as I got started I couldn't stop. Dennis Lehane does an amazing job of keeping the reader entertained all the way through. This book is great for anybody who like b...
This book is a great easy read. I started out reading it cause my teacher told us to pick a book. As soon as I got started I couldn't stop. Dennis Lehane does an amazing job of keeping the reader entertained all the way through. This book is great for anybody who like books that could be adapted into suspenseful movies. Not going to give away the story but trust me, if you make it to the end of the book (and it shouldn't be that hard to do) than you will be in for a shock as the ending ties everything together in a way you will never see coming.

posted by Camden on April 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

no agatha cristie :(

I love the author. Read most of his novels. Best one is Gone, Baby, Gone. Just beautiful! However this novel, although tightly written, is trying too hard to be that 6th sense type. It failed for me! I saw the ending 1/3 into the book and kept reading hoping I'll be wro...
I love the author. Read most of his novels. Best one is Gone, Baby, Gone. Just beautiful! However this novel, although tightly written, is trying too hard to be that 6th sense type. It failed for me! I saw the ending 1/3 into the book and kept reading hoping I'll be wrong. If you really want to read a great "People on a small island cut-off from others" novel read Agatha Cristie's "And Then There Were None." You will NOT see the ending coming... Unless you read the last chapter first :)

posted by 3061042 on February 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1761 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 89
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    no agatha cristie :(

    I love the author. Read most of his novels. Best one is Gone, Baby, Gone. Just beautiful! However this novel, although tightly written, is trying too hard to be that 6th sense type. It failed for me! I saw the ending 1/3 into the book and kept reading hoping I'll be wrong. If you really want to read a great "People on a small island cut-off from others" novel read Agatha Cristie's "And Then There Were None." You will NOT see the ending coming... Unless you read the last chapter first :)

    19 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    Suspenseful and thrilling until the end

    This book is a great easy read. I started out reading it cause my teacher told us to pick a book. As soon as I got started I couldn't stop. Dennis Lehane does an amazing job of keeping the reader entertained all the way through. This book is great for anybody who like books that could be adapted into suspenseful movies. Not going to give away the story but trust me, if you make it to the end of the book (and it shouldn't be that hard to do) than you will be in for a shock as the ending ties everything together in a way you will never see coming.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    Unwilling to put it down.

    This is my first Dennis Lehane book, and after reading it I'm sure it won't be my last. The book itself is self-sustaining though out. I started it one morning and read it all day, only breaking to eat and go to the gym. It's that good! It starts off and grabs you with the mystery of what Shutter Island is really all about and gets your brain churning trying to figure out what the truth really is and why people seem to be hiding it. The setting is creepy and at times down right unsettling, and the characters are all well developed. Through his words, Mr. Lehane allows us to see Shutter Island exactly they way he wants us to, and weaves his plot at a pace that is absolutely perfect; always giving you just enough to keep you wanting more. If you like suspense, mystery, and things a little dark and creepy, you must read this book.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Captivating tale with a surprizing twist!

    Shutter Island was a captivating tale that will keep you anxiously reading until the last page! An unexpected twist at the end made this novel all the better!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Mind Blowing & Suspenseful

    After reading "Shutter Island" all I could say was "WOW!!!" I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in a good psychological/suspense thriller. It has a lot of good twists that keeps the reader on the edge of their seat making this book a definite must read. I look forward in reading more books by Mr. Lehane in the near future.

    I saw the film version after finishing the book and I must say that I was quite disappointed. Not to say that the movie is bad by any means. It's just after reading the book and knowing "the surprise ending"; it isn't so mind-blowing seeing it on the big screen. There were points where I just couldn't wait for the film to be over. My final thought is read the book and skip the movie..

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Quite a unique and unexpected story

    With the amount of characters in this story, I would tend to get them confused. Not so, here. Great character development and some puzzling action that is reconciled at the end. You become very undecided about 2 possible endings to the story. Sometimes you're sure of one ending, then positive of another. Very good read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Twists and turns well done

    In the beginning, this read like a Raymond Chandler hard-boiled detective story. I was thinking it was just a so-so story. However, the middle and end brought some surprises that you really have to pay attention to. It ended up to be very different from what I was led to believe. This is the first book by this author I have read; I would go back for more by him.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!

    I thought it was a great read, very well written, and I personally didn't find it slow at all. I thought I had guessed the ending, only to discover I really hadn't. It has well developed characters, lots of action, a twist, and an ending that wraps up everything very nicely.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    twisted!

    I devoured this book, and yet still did not expect the twist at the end! The combined intensity of the Patients on the the Island and the Island itself experiencing a hurricane/storm created a dramatic "fear" and uncertainty. The vagueness of the medical staff help to create mystery. I was constantly trying to guess what was going to happen next. A great read for a stormy night/weekend!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Have to see the movie sometime too

    We missed the movie, though the previews looked good and we really enjoyed the others based on Dennis LeHane's books. Still, at least we've got the book and we'll rent the DVD one day.

    My husband read Shutter Island by Dennis LeHane before me. He seemed to be finding it hard to put down, so I was really looking forward to my chance to read. And I wasn't disappointed.

    The prologue is quietly intriguing, oddly satisfying in that it paints such a different picture of the scenes to come, leaving the reader just that little bit unsettled as the story unfolds-precisely the right frame of mind for what's to come. Soon the reader is viewing things through US Marshall Teddy Daniels' eyes. He meets his new partner and prepares to investigate the mysterious disappearance of a patient from a hospital for the Criminally Insane. Mysteries deepen as clues are uncovered and suspicions aroused. The characters twist and turn, leaving hints of covert experiments and secrets hid in the lighthouse on the shores of the lonely island. But Daniels investigations are blocked at every turn and soon he's threatening to leave while a gathering storm threatens to force him to stay.

    I enjoyed the clues-just complicated enough to keep the reader intrigued, just buried enough to keep the reader turning pages. I enjoyed the hints and the satisfaction that the conclusion allowed. And I found myself rereading and checking back as the end approached. Was this right? Had I guessed? And how would it all play out?

    My husband confessed himself disappointed in the ending, though I felt it was perfectly in tune with the story's path. Still, disappointed or not, we both really enjoyed the book-sufficiently so that we've now bought several others by the same author to enjoy.

    And maybe one day soon we'll enjoy the movie too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    Keeps you thinking

    I enjoyed the way this book plays with one's mind. I knew it had to be somewhat playing head games on me since it takes place at a mental institution, so I was constantly questioning what things were real and what were not. Definitely got me thinking at the end.

    Strong language and sexual scenes, so I wouldn't recommend for innocent eyes.

    The version I read was the ebook version and it worked great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    keeps you guessing

    when i first started this book i was thinking hmm i hope its good.. but wow let me tell you it keeps you guessing till the end.. and it leaves you saying what the hell just happened.. good book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    No Finale

    I didn't enjoy this book at all. I kept at it thinking that it would improve. In my opion I felt cheated that it didn't have an ending.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    overall, a great book.

    yes, this book may have been confusing at times, with the war talk and being fast paced, but Lehane never allows a dull moment in this novel. this book had me questioning my own sanity in the end. with a SHOCKING twist at the end (which i never saw coming), you might be left with more questions than answers. however, i'd recommend this book to anyone who is interested in a well-written, suspense-filled, psychological horror. enjoy. [:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Incredibly twisting. This is definitely a book you will want to stay up all night for, if you are up for the challenge. One that will keep you confused for a while. You will see the need to read it again.

    Wow. Words cannot possibly describe how much I enjoyed reading this book. Me and a couple of friends read this book and we absolutely loved it. We like to read books that do not have an obvious ending and will keep us trying to figure out what happened. Our opinions were very different ofcourse, but we agreed that this is a great book. Two of my friends actually did not finish the book. They said it was way too confusing. The scenes described in this book are graphic and very interesting. Teddy is an amazing character. If you have books waiting to be read, I say you put those down and grab a Shutter Island book. It will be worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Plenty Of Twists & Turns

    This book was the best book I have read in a long time. But I was a little unsure and dissapointed at the end. I was unsure if the main character was just dreaming through the entire book basically soon after he arrived on Shutter Island or if "Andrew" regressed into beleiving that he was Teddy Daniels again. I suppose this was one of those books where you kind of make your own ending. I love twists & turns but I like a book to have a solid ending, not an ending where you guess what happened.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Must Read

    Definitely a must read by both young and old. My teenager loved it as much as I did. This book kept me on the edge of my seat and I couldn't put it down. I love the mystery, suspense book and this was definitely both. The author did a wonderful job of keeping the book going and telling the story of the main character flawlessly. I read this book because I wanted to see the movie, I have not done that yet, but I am definitely going to soon. I would recommend this book to anyone that enjoys a well written, suspensful, thought provoking novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    Ummm....WOW!!!

    I received my nook for my birthday on 2/19 and the first book I chose was Shutter Island. I saw the previews for the movie but I decided to read before watching. I was so involved with this book. I became a third US Marshal trying to figure the truth behind the asylum. The entire story had my mind set going right when all along it was suppose to be going left! I honestly had to re-read a few pages just to make sure that I read correctly. LOL I couldn't put my nook down. I would definitely recommend this book to anybody and everybody.

    TWO THUMBS WAY UP!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lived up to all the hype and then some!

    I will admit - I was hesitant to read the book as someone had spoiled the ending for me ahead of time. Knowing the "twist" I was sure that I would only find the book to be "so-so" but was pleasantly surprised by how quickly I was drawn in.

    This book is completely fabulous. It is clever, quick paced, exciting, funny, endearing, and extremely well written!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Everything is about the ending

    Slow but worth it in the end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1761 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 89