Customer Reviews for

Shutterbabe: Adventures in Love and War

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    Big WOW!

    I am impressed by this woman and her life, and really looking forward to more books by her. I was able to vicariously become her as she faced situations that astound me, sitting in my safe little world. She is a brave warrior and really seems to know and understand exactly who she is and why she makes the choices she does and has.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2003

    A fascinating, inspiring read

    I was enthralled by this book. This woman has lead a thrilling life, and I felt inspired by having read the account. Well - written, as well as a glimpse into the journalist world - definitely a must read for journalism students.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2002

    Sensational Story about Love and War

    After reading the many humorous and touching stories Deborah Copake Kogan has to offer I found this book like no other Biography, Deborah really tells her life and her experiences how it was with no exceptions. The book starts out with her in her college years in Harvard, not knowing what to do with her life in tell she finds the power of Photography. So after graduating she sets of to Europe to find the perfect touch of war and herself. After reaching their she finds herself in a bus with a group of Afghani freedom fighters in Afghanistan, 1989. Once she reaches camp and finds the truth about war, her life will never be the same, She finds people lying died in the middle of the street and she can¿t sleep because troops are coming to get them. This was the way Deborah lived her life for 4 years, seeing and fighting for terrible things. But its not all bad, she finds Love with this and every turn of the page brings a new beginning with a new guy from Pascal to the man she ends up getting engaged to, its all but a breath taking story. I would defiantly recommend this book to anyone that loves a great cuddle up with yet a touch of adventure, Its truly touching and amazing all in one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    A Must Read for Everyone

    Loved this book! Everyone must read this book. I truly felt like I knew the author. Loved how she attached her photos in the book because it connected the reader with the story. I was so sad when the book was coming to an end because I just wanted to read more and more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Wow!

    Heartbreaking book with comic relief. Shows you life behind the camera

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Beautiful. Moving. Must read

    As a photographer and a woman, I thank Deborah for sharing this. It has changed me, inspired me and gotten into my soul.

    Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Excellent and gripping book!

    I honestly couldn't put it down. An amazing story of a woman in photography. A must read for any photography enthusiast!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Will improve with age

    I enjoyed reading this book. She led quite a life when she was younger and has accumulated really amazing stories which she tells very well. You can also see her mature through the book. At first there is very little reflection on her part, and she gives you very little about the broader and deeper meanings and connections of the amazing things she has witnessed and taken part in. You do get the sense at times that she zips into these amazing situations, snaps her pictures, has her incredible adventures and then she zips out, and you don't get a sense of knowing what happened to the people she saw. You get pictures you can put in a scrap book but not a deeper understanding of the story around the picture. By the end of the book, however, you do get to understand the author better, although still not very much about the external world she sees. But she is a good writer and I expect her writing will improve with maturity. --One thing I really liked about the book is that, since I knew she wrote it, I knew she survived all these things that had happened to her. I was cheering for her all the way and by the end of the book, I felt I really liked her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2004

    Exciting

    Shutterbabe is a quick and easy read. The prose is light and crisp--just right for those marathon sessions when you want to burn through a book in a day and a half. With considerable doses of bullets, blood and sex, 'Shutterbabe' is more exciting than enlightening. A page turner as Kogan relives her fast-paced life as a globe-trotting photojournalist and recommended for 20-somethings struggling to make the right early-career choices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2002

    An Amazing Literary Journey!

    This book was easily the best book i've read all year! The experiences documented in Shutterbabe are so incredibly emotional and thought provoking. The book is written so that by the end, I felt very close to Ms. Kogan. I strongly recommend this book to everyone! A fantastic read that stimulates your every emotion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    The Best Book I have Read in a Long Time

    This book is awesome. A must read for any type of man or women. This book has something in it for everyone to relate to and be touched by. This is one of the first true-life stories that has left me breathless and stunned. Not only is it touching, it is adventurous and gripping. A must read for anyone.... I'm serious, buy this book right now!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2002

    what a great read!

    Could not put this down- exciting, emotional, sentimental... recommend this to anyone- you'll most likely finish it in a couple of days- it's just that good!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2001

    best memoir ever

    'Shutterbabe' is the kind of book that inspires you to follow your dreams but at the same time (because it is a memoir) be jealous that your dreams have already been experienced by someone. However, I'm not complaining because by reading 'Shutterbabe' I got to vicariously experience all of Copaken's adventures. Copaken has not only lived an adventure-filled life but she's a good writer, too. I read this book extremely quickly & when I got to the end of it, I wished there was more to read. Another thing I liked about the book is the fact that Copaken is a feminist. Men were always trying to take advantage of her or sexually harass her or order her around, but she didn't put up with it. She was also very honest about writing about an abortion that she had and a time that she was raped. I commend her for writing about those things because it must be difficult for the entire reading public to know all those private things. I recommend anyone who likes travel, good stories, feminism, or photography to read this outstanding book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2001

    Absolutely fascinating book

    Who would allows themselves to be dropped in the middle of nowhere, with the roar of wild animals in the background? Having no idea where are which way to go! Or watch an autopsy of a Romanian child who is then thrown into a gunnysack when it is complete? I am amazed at the life Deborah has lived and how she followed a dream that so few of us would give up our SUV's and comfortable homes for. Through every type of adversity, she seemed to find a funny story to relate to the reader. Being a serious amateur photographer, I found her book engrossing and she took a bit of the glamour off the career of a photojournalist, yet showed us just how human each one of them are. This is a must read book. It is not a page turner, but a page burner....great job Deborah!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2001

    If you are looking for a great book to bring on your trip, look no further

    This is the kind of book that makes you want to run out and accomplish all that you've been putting on hold. It's extremely inspirational and very gripping. From Milan to New York, I couldn't put it down. A definite must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2001

    Inspired and Amazed!

    I can honestly say that I haven't read anything so gutsy and personally revealing in a long time, if ever. I am an amateur photographer and this book has inspired me to start shooting again, merely because of the undeniable beauty (and power) that can be found in a single photograph. <b>Great</b> book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2001

    Amazing, thrilling, passonate, beautifully written book

    If I could give this book a thousand stars, I would. By chance, I saw a tiny snippet about 'Shutterbabe' in Glamour magazine, and I am so glad I did. I picked it up right away and read it cover-to-cover about as fast as I first read 'Catcher in the Rye'-I couldn't and wouldn't put it down. She writes with such conviction; she can put her feelings down on paper like no one else I've ever read. The ending was so beautiful and filled me with so much emotion, I wanted to cry. I've been telling everyone I know about it. Her story is an amazing one and I can't wait to read it again. Wow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2001

    What a Book! What a Life! What a Woman!

    Deborah Copaken Kogan is an engaging author who has led a life usually only found in fiction. In fact, I had to remind myself that this woman is real, her experiences real, and her courage unreal. From dodging bullets to dodging men, to finding the love of her life, Copaken Kogan keeps you routing for her all the way. She makes you proud to be a woman....and happy to be safely sitting on your couch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2001

    EXHILARATING

    An intense ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2001

    EXCELLENT!!!!

    Once I started reading this book, I couldn't put it down--I read most if it in one night. It was amazing to me that someone my age had done and seen so much...really inspired me to get out there and DO THINGS...to follow my dreams!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2