Customer Reviews for

The Sicilian

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very well written novel...

I am a great fan of all three Godfathers, and Mario Puzo's works. This novel, The Sicilian I believe matches the plot line of any of the Godfathers, if it does not exceed those plot lines. Written very craftily, and keeps a story line that keeps you reading with sever...
I am a great fan of all three Godfathers, and Mario Puzo's works. This novel, The Sicilian I believe matches the plot line of any of the Godfathers, if it does not exceed those plot lines. Written very craftily, and keeps a story line that keeps you reading with several different twists. He also uses a great deal of imagery in this novel, which he does a very good job at. Thank You, Mario Puzo for creating such a masterpiece...

posted by Anonymous on January 6, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book!

This book pulls you in with the first chapter with a thirst to know more about its main character Turi Guliano. If you make it through the first chapter (which you will), you will find yourself with this book in your hand with every free moment you have. The Godfather...
This book pulls you in with the first chapter with a thirst to know more about its main character Turi Guliano. If you make it through the first chapter (which you will), you will find yourself with this book in your hand with every free moment you have. The Godfather was an amazing book & The Sicilian is not far behind. So crack open a cold one or pour a glass of wine & enter the town of Montelpre. Great read!

posted by DallasKat on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2002

    Very well written novel...

    I am a great fan of all three Godfathers, and Mario Puzo's works. This novel, The Sicilian I believe matches the plot line of any of the Godfathers, if it does not exceed those plot lines. Written very craftily, and keeps a story line that keeps you reading with several different twists. He also uses a great deal of imagery in this novel, which he does a very good job at. Thank You, Mario Puzo for creating such a masterpiece...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2006

    The Sicilian

    The in between story of Michael Corleone's exile in Sicily before the 1st and 2nd Godfathers. In this novel, Michael must bring back a famous freedom fighter or 'bandit' to America for his father. It is not that easy however. The freedom fighter Salvatore Guiliano is trapped in bloody fued to settle his vendettas with the mafia and the carabinieri (Italian National Police), and Michael Corleone is caught between it. This book I found was eventful and kept my attention till the very end. Puzo is brilliant in this novel, his characters seem so real and ruthless. I would recommend this book to anyone who is into the organized crime stories as well as stories of omerta. Or to any Sicilian who just wants to learn a little more about their culture. This book is drowned in Sicilian culture ins and outs. This book was excellent, and Puzo never seizes to amaze.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2005

    The best Puzo book out there

    I honestly enjoyed this book more than any other Puzo mafia book (and I've read them all). Something about the Sicilian setting and Puzo's storytelling made me visualize the setting and the characters more vividly than most other books. It also sets itself apart in that Puzo takes Michael Corleone back to Sicily to the roots of the mafioso, which I don't think many books in this genre do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2004

    awesome

    You get caught up in the story and you just can't put it down. Awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    Mario Puzo crafts the perfect storyline in this continuation of the infamous Godfather saga

    The Sicilian by Mario Puzo is a truly epic book that the fans of Puzo¿s The Godfather should read. It takes place within the story of The Godfather when Michael Corleone is in exile in Sicily after the murder of police Captain McCluskey and Vigil Sollozzo a Mafia thug. After two years of being in Sicily and away from his family and loved ones Michael is ready to return. His father, Don Vito Corleone, has one last request for his son before returning and that is to bring with him to America a Sicilian bandit known as Salvatore ¿Turi¿ Guiliano. Without a reason as to why he is performing this favor Michael begins his search for Turi Guiliano in Sicily. The entire novel is divided into `books¿, which switch between Michael¿s pursuit of Turi and Turi¿s story. Although, Michael¿s search for Turi is the basis of the book it is not the dominating storyline. The `meat¿ of the book is Turi¿s story and his rise and fall as the ¿Sicilian Robin Hood¿. Turi belongs to a poor farming family that lives under the rule of post-Mussolini Italian National Police or carrabineri. The carribineri terrorize townspeople and work for big Mafia Dons. Turi decides to rise up against the tyrannical forces of the Mafia and the carribineri and begin his own gang that robs from the rich to give to the poor. Turi is hailed as a saint by the townspeople and he is loved by all. Turi¿s story takes place over a period of 7 years while Michael¿s takes place over a matter of days. The Sicilian is a novel that grabs your attention from the start and gets you involved in all of the numerous characters¿ lives. Mario Puzo uses the same formula for this novel as he did for The Godfather but he also incorporates new elements that work for this. I was impressed and left in awe by the end of the book. It is a fun ride that leaves you begging for more while at the same time satisfying your taste for a wonderful crime novel. I recommend this to fans of both The Godfather and action novels. The Sicilian proves that Mario Puzo is one of the greatest storytellers of our time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    awsome work

    you'll find yorself breathing the hot air of sicili,the sirocco will hit you every page you turn over,thrilling piece of art.if you liked the goodfather,please treat yourself and get this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2002

    Another great story from the Nation's bestselling author of the Godfather and Omerta.

    Another great book that I could not put down. In fact I think it coukld be a sequel to the Godfather. Anorther winner from Mario Puzo. I loved Omerta and this one was as good. Puzo was a great writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    it was a good book  

    it was a good book  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2001

    Excellent book

    I will alway's be a fan of Mario Puzo's work. This book is a must read. I put this one next too THE GODFATHER as his finest work. Also a very surprising ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1