Customer Reviews for

Sick: A Project Eden Thriller

Average Rating 4
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Brett Battles Does It Again!

Brett Battles has launched what appears to be another series, the "Project Eden Thrillers". Like the books in his Jonathan Quinn and the new Logan Harper series, SICK takes the reader on an exciting journey of suspense and intrigue. "SICK" refers to a mysterious virus t...
Brett Battles has launched what appears to be another series, the "Project Eden Thrillers". Like the books in his Jonathan Quinn and the new Logan Harper series, SICK takes the reader on an exciting journey of suspense and intrigue. "SICK" refers to a mysterious virus that is seemingly 100% fatal until one man, Capt. Daniel Ash, demonstrates immunity. He discovers there's a group of nasty people who are intentionally releasing this virus and want to study him to discover the secret of his immunity. Ash is not only grieving for his family which was wiped out by the virus (or were they?), he is also trying to find out who's behind this nefarious activity and stop them while simultaneously avoiding capture by them. From the opening chapter where the reader witnesses the devastation wrought upon a man who finds his wife dead and watches his children come down with a deadly virus to the exciting finish, Battles leads the reader on a ride that won't quickly be forgotten. I for one am grateful for the speed that Battles has been churning out his books recently. As long as the quality stays at such a consistent level, there will be no complaints from me!

posted by Kirbster66 on April 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Just ok

While I liked this book enough to finish it I hardly agree with all of the rave reviews. Yes there was some suspense that made me want to keep reading. But the plot wasn't new or fresh at all and the whole story lacked depth and dimension. There was virtually no char...
While I liked this book enough to finish it I hardly agree with all of the rave reviews. Yes there was some suspense that made me want to keep reading. But the plot wasn't new or fresh at all and the whole story lacked depth and dimension. There was virtually no character development - the characters (antagonists and protagonists alike) had the level of complexity you would expect from a Saturday morning cartoon. And the ending and wrap up didn't provide much closure or answer any questions. Finally, the nook version had a number of annoying formatting and pagination errors. There are a lot of better suspense reads out there.

posted by goofyhound on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Brett Battles Does It Again!

    Brett Battles has launched what appears to be another series, the "Project Eden Thrillers". Like the books in his Jonathan Quinn and the new Logan Harper series, SICK takes the reader on an exciting journey of suspense and intrigue. "SICK" refers to a mysterious virus that is seemingly 100% fatal until one man, Capt. Daniel Ash, demonstrates immunity. He discovers there's a group of nasty people who are intentionally releasing this virus and want to study him to discover the secret of his immunity. Ash is not only grieving for his family which was wiped out by the virus (or were they?), he is also trying to find out who's behind this nefarious activity and stop them while simultaneously avoiding capture by them. From the opening chapter where the reader witnesses the devastation wrought upon a man who finds his wife dead and watches his children come down with a deadly virus to the exciting finish, Battles leads the reader on a ride that won't quickly be forgotten. I for one am grateful for the speed that Battles has been churning out his books recently. As long as the quality stays at such a consistent level, there will be no complaints from me!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Could not put it down

    Great book! Great characters. Just discovered this author and looking forward to reading all his books!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Women don't miss out!

    Sick embodies everything an adrenaline junkie looks for. Men and women alike will be electrified by the heart pumping action of this white knuckle thriller as they are caught up in a labyrinth of fear that surrounds a truly shocking global conspiracy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Exciting and Chilling: A Must-Read!!!

    SICK by Brett Battles is easily one of the best books I've ever read. From the very first chapter, first page, first sentence!, it yanks you into the story and keeps you there until the last paragraph. Daniel Ash, an ex-soldier and the main character, is unknowingly and unwillingly subjected to a test of a deadly virus, a test that left him and his two children the only survivors.

    Ash is imprisoned at a secure facility in the middle of the desert to be exposed repeatedly to the virus. With help from inside the prison, he escapes and sets out to save his children.

    A virulent viral outbreak causes calamity to an entire town. The man everyone blames: Daniel Ash.

    SICK is a fast-paced, exciting book that will keep your attention until the very last page. I would highly recommend this book; buy it, but take this one piece of advice: Don't start reading until you have two or three hours to finish!!

    Also by Brett are THE CLEANER, THE DECEIVED, and SHADOW OF BETRAYAL (Jonathan Quinn series); LITTLE GIRL GONE (Logan Harper series); and PERFECT GENTLEMAN (short story featured in KILLER YEAR). I recommend them all, and I am excited to hear more from Battles soon!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Captivating, engrossing, intense page turner

    Brett Battles once again amazes me with his knack for a good story. I love his first series of books (Jonathan Quinn series) and Sick is different, but intensely engrossing. From the beginning, Battles has you hook, line, & sinker when the main character, Ash, wakes to find his wife dead, his daughter deathly sick, and his son, thankfully, alive. The story from here on out is a riveting page turner to find out why this is happening, not only to his family, but his entire neighborhood. As Ash delves furhter into who is responsible for this, he finds unexpected allies & you, the reader, will be surprised by the twists it takes. This is definately a book you won't be able to put down & will be left wanting more. Battles has happily surprised us with another facet of his writing abilities. I can't wait to see what else he has in store for his readers!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Great book!!! I could hardly put it down once I started!

    Great book!!! I could hardly put it down once I started!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great read! Couldn't put it down!!!!!

    Loved the book..... can't wait to read the sequel (exit 9)!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Amazing

    This book was amazing to say the least. Very good story and plot. Kept me intrigued the entire time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    A must read

    this was a great story, lots of suspense and action. i cant wait to read the followup in the series Exit 9, to see what will happen to Ash and the world as we know it.

    there are some characters that i hope have their stories revealed such as Chloe, matt and Rachel.

    A must read for any suspense, action, or scifi readers!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Must read!

    Could not put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Zach

    Btlaeihg!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Anon

    Excellent read. It sets the stage for a truly believable end of the world series. It's so convincing I think it could actually happen in our lifetime. The science behind the story is true...and according to the CDC it's not a matter of if a pandemic will happen...but when! Jp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    intense

    This novel grabs you from the very first page. It is not quite unique plot (If you've read "the Stand). It is an end of the world story. I flu virus started by a group that wanted to emilinate mankind. Of coouse justice prevails and the "good guys" win (although temorarily) it is a complelling read. The only thing that I didn't care for is that the end compelled you to read Brett Battles nest novel. As it turns out this is the first in (at least ) a trilogy. I have read the second, and have the third ready in my library. I guess that tells how much I enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Dismay

    "Hey burrdeh."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    MOVE

    Move to golden riches res 1 crystalstars order

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    To all

    Forcemate Flypaw at sunclan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Scourage

    Pads in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Tkit

    At res fi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Thistlefang

    He nodded

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Misty

    Made dirt here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4