Customer Reviews for

A Sick Day for Amos McGee

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    this is a book that I must have

    This story is of a zookeeper taking the day off because he's sick, him zoo friends miss him, and take the bus to his house and keep him company until he feels well again. It's touching, sweet, and I like the message of caring friendships. The illustrations are other reason to buy this book. They're so good! Off the chart cute and well drawn. It's amazing how real the expressions look, both facial features and posture. Just buy it and you can't go wrong.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    Awesome read with wonderful illustrations--so realistic

    I totally love this book. Philip and Erin Stead did a really great job on this book. The story is so loving and the illustrations are so real. It just makes you want to go to the zoo and see the animals. It's a must buy and so deserving of the Caldecott Medal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    A beautiful story of friendship.

    A simple and sweet story about the true dedication of friendship. The illustrations have a classic feel to them with wonderful and funny small details throughout.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Such a beautiful book! Teaches kindness and beautiful illustrati

    Such a beautiful book! Teaches kindness and beautiful illustrations. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    I love this book. It is a sweet story with beautiful pictures. M

    I love this book. It is a sweet story with beautiful pictures. My kids love reading it every night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    The Illustrations done by Erin Stead in A sick Day For Amos McGe

    The Illustrations done by Erin Stead in A sick Day For Amos McGee are beautiful and unique. Through the images we can see a fun story of friendship. Everyday Amos McGee goes to spend special time with each animal and when Amos gets sick his friends come to his house to make him feel better. The elephant plays chess with him, the penguin keeps his feet warm, and the rhino offers him a hanky. The images depicting this story are playful and warm and it is very apparent why this picture book deserves the Caldecott Award.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    Best Zoo Friends EVER!

    This story is adorable! When you hear a person speak about their best friend(s), you assume they are talking about a human. This story is about some friendships between an elderly man and zoo animals. there are quite a few pictures versus text in this book. The pictures do most of the story telling in my opinion and they seem to be water colors and also pencil drawn. This book is a caldecott award winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    This book is amazing! I bought it for myself as I fell in love w

    This book is amazing! I bought it for myself as I fell in love with it at once i Saw it! The illustrations are so real, I love the details, i keep observing them and can't get enough. My son is only 16 month, but I am sure he will appreciate the book later

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Heartwarming!

    I was surprised to see that this book was just written in 2010. It seems like a classic already. Something that would have been written from a gentler, kinder time. The children that I tutor for reading love it. It is a beautiful well illustrated story that is great for building language and vocabulary skills. Thanks Philip and Erin Stead for such quality writing for children. Lois from Florida, a book lover and collector.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Really Great Story!!

    I loved this book! The story is about a zookeeper who gets sick and is unable to go to visit his zoo friends. So all his friends take the bus to go visit him. All his friends take care of him and help him with the things he would usually help them with. This is a really great story about friendships and caring. Young children tend to be egocentric, so stories like this that demonstrate caring, giving ways is a wonderful exmaple to kids about compassion. The illustrations in this book are phenomenal! They are so realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Recommended

    Amos McGee, the zookeeper was sick one day and he was not able to go visit the animals. Since he couldn't visit the animals came to him and played and took care of him. This is a very good book with good illustrations. This book has a good message about friendship and caring for others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1