BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sick Puppy

Average Rating 4.5
( 167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sickly funny

Sick Puppy is right up there with Skinny Dip in my opinion as one or two of this author's funniest books. But 'Sick' is truly twisted and witty. Not too many authors could handle this material and make it work. Great job, Carl.

posted by Anonymous on June 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Can't put it down great reading!

This is the first book by Carl Hiaasen I read and I was addicted. I made my husband read it as I knew he would love it, he did, and have read everything he has written since. I plan never to go to florida though and never to litter! Love Skink and can see a great mov...
This is the first book by Carl Hiaasen I read and I was addicted. I made my husband read it as I knew he would love it, he did, and have read everything he has written since. I plan never to go to florida though and never to litter! Love Skink and can see a great movie in this book.

posted by Anonymous on April 12, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    Sickly funny

    Sick Puppy is right up there with Skinny Dip in my opinion as one or two of this author's funniest books. But 'Sick' is truly twisted and witty. Not too many authors could handle this material and make it work. Great job, Carl.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Graet book

    Like skinny dip. The characters are well developed. I had to laugh litterally out loud several times. Enjoyable at the very least!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    It is a great book

    I have read it and i could NEVER put it down i would highly recomend this book for you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    One of my all-time favorites!

    Hysterically funny and just an all-out fun ride! I rarely read a book twice, but this one I've come back to again and again. Skink is my choice for our next president!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    Hysterical!!

    This was my first book by Carl Hiaasen and I am hooked. Living in Florida for 7 years and I can see where he gets his inspiration from!! One of the funniest authors out there!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2006

    Great Read

    I've been plugging through Hiaasen's books the last few weeks and have to admit this is one of my favorites. The occasional first person dialogue of Boodle/McGuinn (the black labrador dog that is stolen) is classic and worth the read by itself. And then there is Skink who has been introduced in previous novels (Double Whammy, Native Tongue). I love the crazy old guy more and more with each adventure. Only Hiaasen's warp mind can think of a character such as Skink. LOL. I plan to read this book many more times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    Can't put it down great reading!

    This is the first book by Carl Hiaasen I read and I was addicted. I made my husband read it as I knew he would love it, he did, and have read everything he has written since. I plan never to go to florida though and never to litter! Love Skink and can see a great movie in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2004

    bestest ever

    the best book you will read for a long time!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2003

    Excellent Book!

    The book kept me wanting to read more and more!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2001

    Very entertaining read

    I was impressed! It was the first book I've read by this author but I will definitely go back for more! Interesting characters, entertaining plot, and a writing style that keeps you turning the pages. (I especially liked the Black Lab...) Great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2001

    Good, But a Bit Overlong

    'Sick Puppy' is a typical Carl Hiaasen novel--it has the mix we're used to of dumb politicians, greasy lobbyists, skanky hit men, the ever-resourceful 'Skink' and some plot devices to keep all these folks in conflict with each other (in this case, an evironmentally aware trust-fund millionaire, a lobbyist's highly conflicted wife and her black Labrador). This was an enjoyable book, but not one of his very best. At over 500 pages, it could have done with one or two fewer plot wiggles to keep the legendary Hiaasen astringency intact. It's a mixed blessing that we can refer to a 'typical' Carl Hiaasen novel; they are entertaining but seem to have settled into a formula.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2000

    One of his Best

    I have read all of Hiassens books. Loved them all, my personal favorite being Lucky You. He makes you see, feel and believe the characters and events in the books are real, and at the same time wondering how in the world they can be so outrageous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2000

    A funny, funny book

    I always love a book that makes me laugh like an idiot on the subway as I'm reading it. This is one of those books. A vast cast of crazy characters and great one liners.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2000

    Might Be His Best

    I have read every Carl Hiaasen book since Tourist Season and look forward to my time reading them as a mental vacation. Hiaasen has made me love and see Florida in a way I never would have without benefit of his books. Sick Puppy is classic Hiaasen. The 911 tapes are comic genius. When reading them you can hear the terror stricken voices in your head. The paragraphs written from the dogs perspective give an incredibly realistic look into the brain of a black lab. I love how his characters accept the incredibly bizarre situations they find themselves in. Over the years, Hiaasen has given me, a middle aged, middle class white woman, a very intense and believable look into what it would be like to BE a drug addicted, uneducated, sex driven maniac living along the lower edges of society. I find myself thinking of Hiaasen characters as I read unbelievable news stories and think to myself 'How could someone DO that?' Until this, Double Whammy was my favorite Hiaasen book (the bug in the eye my favorite scene). I might move Sick Puppy to the top of the list.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2000

    very witty

    I am 15 years old and love to read. this book is funny in a crazy mad man kinda way. I recamend this book to anyone that can read. overall a great book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2000

    Outstanding

    Carl Hiaasen has written a very well crafted story about extreme people, left and right, Good and evil, and the and how it's hard to tell the difference sometimes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2014

    This is the second book from Carl Hiaasen (Bad Monkey) and while

    This is the second book from Carl Hiaasen (Bad Monkey) and while entertaining it felt a bit disjointed.  It started off and ended strong, but in the middle it seemed to lose focus a bit with all the intertwined stories.  Enjoyable slap stick comedy at times but at others times it just seemed like he was trying too hard to be outlandish just to be outlandish without adding a lot to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    NEW ADOPTION READ NOW

    Two pups a pup is a baby fury their names are Hope and Scout if you want to adopt them go to 'ethic' res 1 and talk to Bliss thank you and goodbye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Connor

    -puts sally and jojo down so thet can play-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Conner

    Well we have a huge selection of pups but not the new lab

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9