Customer Reviews for

Sickened: The True Story of a Lost Childhood

Average Rating 4
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Sickened--- Ironic!

After reading this book, I had a life changing epiphany on my interpretation of the world as a whole. I didn't take into account that a disease such as Munchausen by Proxy existed amongst us. I had always pictured abuse as phyisical, but I was off. Munchausen by Proxy i...
After reading this book, I had a life changing epiphany on my interpretation of the world as a whole. I didn't take into account that a disease such as Munchausen by Proxy existed amongst us. I had always pictured abuse as phyisical, but I was off. Munchausen by Proxy is the disease her mother had (often the mother would be the one to have it) but this disease had been excruciatingly emotionally scarring for Julie. I had sympathy toward her the entire book. She had no help within her family. Her dad would sit there with the TV remote in his hand almost shoo-ing her away. Her grandmother would assist Julie's mother in ways that are just..paiful to imagine happening. Given many "headache healers", she needed to be hospitalized yet AGAIN! If one doctor wasn't finding something wrong, she'd be taken to the next. Julie survives through this and grows up with successful recovery. This book is truly inspirational and I believe many should read this to become aware of what could be the reality within your society.

posted by Lexie-L on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Interesting point of view

I bought this book expecting a detailed story. However that was not the case. While the story itself is very interesting, the way it's written is pretty bland. I would have expected more detail from a story that is so well documented... Not really worth the money...

posted by Anonymous on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Sickened--- Ironic!

    After reading this book, I had a life changing epiphany on my interpretation of the world as a whole. I didn't take into account that a disease such as Munchausen by Proxy existed amongst us. I had always pictured abuse as phyisical, but I was off. Munchausen by Proxy is the disease her mother had (often the mother would be the one to have it) but this disease had been excruciatingly emotionally scarring for Julie. I had sympathy toward her the entire book. She had no help within her family. Her dad would sit there with the TV remote in his hand almost shoo-ing her away. Her grandmother would assist Julie's mother in ways that are just..paiful to imagine happening. Given many "headache healers", she needed to be hospitalized yet AGAIN! If one doctor wasn't finding something wrong, she'd be taken to the next. Julie survives through this and grows up with successful recovery. This book is truly inspirational and I believe many should read this to become aware of what could be the reality within your society.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Very good read

    This book is hard to put down, and also hard to read at times as Julie describes the horrific experiences from her childhood that stretch out into her adult life. The strength this author has astounds me. Highly recommend.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    Sickened is a story about a girl who lives her life by her mother¿s lies. Julie Gregory is made to believe that she is sick and has something wrong with her, but the truth is it¿s her mother who is sick. Her mother, Sandy, has what is called Munchausen¿s By Proxy Syndrome. Since the age of three, Sandy put Julie in and out of the hospital, took her to dozens of pediatricians and put her through un-needed surgeries, all to find an imaginary sickness. She would keep Julie out of school because she would have a feeling Julie wouldn¿t feel good. Almost everyday Julie was feed a little white pill that was supposed to make her headaches go away but all it did was make her nauseous and feel worse. She goes through her whole childhood and most of her teenage years living her mother¿s manipulative ways. Always feeling that it is her fault she is sick. Sandy had a way of making others feel guilty in order to get the attention she wanted. She would always put Julie down and made her feel ugly. Even though Sandy puts Julie down and makes her feel worthless, Julie still loves her mother and says that she has taught her so much. In a way I think that Julie is afraid of the truth and doesn¿t want to accept what happened to her as a child. All of Julie¿s life she is made to felt ugly and sick until her college years when she finds out what the truth is. This book is about overcome the obstacle of life. Julie shows that even though she went through something most children don¿t go through, she is starting a new life and becoming the true Julie Gregory. I really enjoyed this book. When I would start reading it was hard to put down. It opened up my eyes and showed me the ¿real world¿ and how sick some people really are. I think that people should read this book because it illustrates how strong people can be in the toughest situations.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Interesting point of view

    I bought this book expecting a detailed story. However that was not the case. While the story itself is very interesting, the way it's written is pretty bland. I would have expected more detail from a story that is so well documented... Not really worth the money...

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    A must read

    A captivating and horrifying story of a girl's childhood and struggles to move on in life. Great story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    WOW!

    That is all I can say!
    Very well written! Hard to believe what she went through...I only hope she was able to do what she set out to do at the end of the book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    Sickened - the continuing story?

    After reading this book, which I found gripping and disturbing although lacking somewhat in language (though this is completely irrelevant as far as I'm concerned) I started searching the web for more information. Assuming that Julies sufferings are true and that this is how she perceived her childhood, what I found was that Julies mother not surprisingly seems to have found a new way to receive the attention a MSPB-mother so desperately craves. She is now the 'victim' of a conspiracy led by her own daughter on whom she has doted on her whole life. I don't buy it. And as to the allegations made against the book by julies mother and the welsh reporter she has won over - when has a memoir ever been 100 % correct in that sense? Family backgrounds and childhood stories of family members might not be completely accurate but does not in any way make julie's ordeal less horrifying or true. My point is that a true MSBP-mother is likely to wallow in the attention given to her by a book of this sort and with the enormous gift of persuasion normally linked with this condition she will have no problem finding people willing to give her the attention and pity she needs. I would recommend anyone to read this book if only to learn to appreciate their own life and childhood. Although I hope that you pick up some interest to further your knowledge about this horrendous type of child abuse after you get to know the young Julie Gregory and her mysterious 'illness'. Also I can't help wondering what became of Danny, her younger brother who seemed such a gentle soul. I wish both of them all the best and hope they can overcome their past and make a bright future for themselves. That's it for me! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2004

    Extraordinary Story of Survival

    This is not only a very well-written book, but an amazing story of survival against the greatest odds. The fact that this young woman was able to piece her life together when she reached adulthood, and then write about her hellish childhood in such an incisive way is extraordinary. Most people who come from an abusive childhood are damaged forever, and are always haunted by self-doubt, irrational fears, and an inability to reach out and care for others. Ms. Gregory has risen above the abuse and turned herself into a caring and giving human being. I only hope that the goal she set at the end of the book has been met.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    Awesome

    This book is awesome. It is the only book of it's kind. It's so great that Julie wrote a book about MBP, because there are no others. I'm so glad that I read it, and I hope that other people read it too, so they can learn about MBP. It really helped me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    Very Good Book. :)

    This book was very inspiring. This young girl leaved thru hell and back, yet she came out glowing. A wonderful book, that is well written. I didn't like the last chapter or two though. Was written 'differently' than the previous chapters, but none the less, an excellent novel. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2004

    Strengthened

    Written w/controlled anger. Written as witnessed from the inside out, and then, from the outside in. The strongest message to take from it: When children cry, they hurt. When children do not speak, they've been silenced. When children love, truth and faith can be manipulated. When children speak, listen. Beautifully written. You will want to hug the author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    Incredible read!

    This was an exceptionally well written book. Just when you think this little girl's life is as bad as it could get, it gets worse. The author's courage to tell her story exemplifies what it means to be a true fighter and survivor. Anyone who has been abused or neglected as a child should read this book for inspiration. Julie Gregory is a gutsy gal for exposing her mother and her mother's horrendous parenting and giving the general population just a tiny glimpse into the stolen life of a child. Julie Gregory personifies strength and perseverence. I am truly grateful I decided to read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    Great and awesome book to read

    The book is a page turner and hard to put down, it will keep you reading for hours to go for.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Sickened: The Memoir of a Munchausen by Proxy Childhood

    This book was very hard for me to put down. If you are looking for something that is incredible and true, look no further. It will keep you interested until the very last page, and make you want to know even more about the author and the people involved in her story after you are through reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2003

    Can't stop reading it.

    Written beautifully. Will teach you about the life a Munchausen by Proxy childhood. I wish the author would have included more about what dx the mother may have had...BPD? Factitious disorder?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2003

    One of the best Memoirs I've read

    While shopping at Barnes and Noble, I accidently grabbed this wonderful memoir. Sickened is an outstanding memoir that you cannot put down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    Rough to read but extremely interesting

    To say I enjoyed this book is not entirely accurate. One wonders why a woman such as Julie's mother bothered to have children. She was seemingly abused by her own mother, and consequently went on to abuse her children. What Julie endured is heartbreaking to read about, and her ablity to come out the other side and figure out how to make herself well again is mind boggling. One cannot help but blame her father, also, as he managed to stand up for his son once he was born, but abandoned Julie to her mother's whims.

    It's so hard to imagine why or how a parent can inflict such pain on a child, and equally heartbreaking to realize most adults and even professionals simply don't understand or recognize Munchausen by proxy syndrome, and therefore most of the children who undergo this torture simply slip through the cracks. It's beneficial that Julie was able to write this book in order to flag the behavior, and perhaps she will save some other children for having written this. Fascinating syndrome and very sad for the children whose parents do this to them.

    I applaud Julie for surviving and figuring out how to make herself well after everything she went through. I hope the mother was unable to ever adopt or foster children again, and I think Julie deserves a medal for trying to extricate the other children who came under her mother's care. It's impossible to understand what she got out of torturing these kids, but suffice it to say she should not be allowed within 100 yards of a youngster ever again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Sad, but a good read!!

    I actually didn't know much about the disease her mother had but have heard of cases like this. Such a sad story. Definitely worth buying and its a quick read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Great

    This story was amazing...my birth mother too has munchausen by proxy...i was lucky my sister and i were taken away when we were to young to remembr all that happened to us...but Julie remembers it all! She thought her mother was doing the best for her, she went along with it; but once she realized what was really going on it made her sick...this is a must read for sure...loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Review

    Well written and honest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6