Customer Reviews for

Sickened: The True Story of a Lost Childhood

Average Rating 4
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Sickened--- Ironic!

After reading this book, I had a life changing epiphany on my interpretation of the world as a whole. I didn't take into account that a disease such as Munchausen by Proxy existed amongst us. I had always pictured abuse as phyisical, but I was off. Munchausen by Proxy i...
After reading this book, I had a life changing epiphany on my interpretation of the world as a whole. I didn't take into account that a disease such as Munchausen by Proxy existed amongst us. I had always pictured abuse as phyisical, but I was off. Munchausen by Proxy is the disease her mother had (often the mother would be the one to have it) but this disease had been excruciatingly emotionally scarring for Julie. I had sympathy toward her the entire book. She had no help within her family. Her dad would sit there with the TV remote in his hand almost shoo-ing her away. Her grandmother would assist Julie's mother in ways that are just..paiful to imagine happening. Given many "headache healers", she needed to be hospitalized yet AGAIN! If one doctor wasn't finding something wrong, she'd be taken to the next. Julie survives through this and grows up with successful recovery. This book is truly inspirational and I believe many should read this to become aware of what could be the reality within your society.

posted by Lexie-L on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Interesting point of view

I bought this book expecting a detailed story. However that was not the case. While the story itself is very interesting, the way it's written is pretty bland. I would have expected more detail from a story that is so well documented... Not really worth the money...

posted by Anonymous on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Very good read

    This book is hard to put down, and also hard to read at times as Julie describes the horrific experiences from her childhood that stretch out into her adult life. The strength this author has astounds me. Highly recommend.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2004

    Extraordinary Story of Survival

    This is not only a very well-written book, but an amazing story of survival against the greatest odds. The fact that this young woman was able to piece her life together when she reached adulthood, and then write about her hellish childhood in such an incisive way is extraordinary. Most people who come from an abusive childhood are damaged forever, and are always haunted by self-doubt, irrational fears, and an inability to reach out and care for others. Ms. Gregory has risen above the abuse and turned herself into a caring and giving human being. I only hope that the goal she set at the end of the book has been met.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    Awesome

    This book is awesome. It is the only book of it's kind. It's so great that Julie wrote a book about MBP, because there are no others. I'm so glad that I read it, and I hope that other people read it too, so they can learn about MBP. It really helped me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2004

    Strengthened

    Written w/controlled anger. Written as witnessed from the inside out, and then, from the outside in. The strongest message to take from it: When children cry, they hurt. When children do not speak, they've been silenced. When children love, truth and faith can be manipulated. When children speak, listen. Beautifully written. You will want to hug the author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    Incredible read!

    This was an exceptionally well written book. Just when you think this little girl's life is as bad as it could get, it gets worse. The author's courage to tell her story exemplifies what it means to be a true fighter and survivor. Anyone who has been abused or neglected as a child should read this book for inspiration. Julie Gregory is a gutsy gal for exposing her mother and her mother's horrendous parenting and giving the general population just a tiny glimpse into the stolen life of a child. Julie Gregory personifies strength and perseverence. I am truly grateful I decided to read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    Great and awesome book to read

    The book is a page turner and hard to put down, it will keep you reading for hours to go for.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Sickened: The Memoir of a Munchausen by Proxy Childhood

    This book was very hard for me to put down. If you are looking for something that is incredible and true, look no further. It will keep you interested until the very last page, and make you want to know even more about the author and the people involved in her story after you are through reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2003

    One of the best Memoirs I've read

    While shopping at Barnes and Noble, I accidently grabbed this wonderful memoir. Sickened is an outstanding memoir that you cannot put down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Great

    This story was amazing...my birth mother too has munchausen by proxy...i was lucky my sister and i were taken away when we were to young to remembr all that happened to us...but Julie remembers it all! She thought her mother was doing the best for her, she went along with it; but once she realized what was really going on it made her sick...this is a must read for sure...loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    One

    of the few books . if only book, details the victim of Munchhausen by proxy syndrome. Also explains effects lasting in to adult hood and how to reconcile this with a mother one loves

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Anonymous

    Forget yall this book is sad and interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Fascinating convincing story that pure evil exists and great that Julie mad it through!

    Incredible story of child abuse and how one child survivied. Not always the best written book with some weak areas but still an easy read and absolutely fascinating. Well worth it and I highly recommened this to anyone interested in the human condition. It should be required reading for all doctors and could be used as an argument for centralized medical records shared across practices so that MBP could be detected. Just think of the money wasted on medical care for a well child. Well actually the case made her "sickend".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Xena Maali January 12,2012

    Sad,amazing, heroic,page turner,must read, MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Powerful

    This book is so captivating and powerful. It is so hard to keep reading at some points, but definitely necessary. This is a tragic story, and it needs to be heard. So glad the author gained the courage to write this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Jewel57

    As always truth is scarier than fiction, a horrorific story of trying to stay sane& alive while living in vast crazyness.I read this in less then2 days,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    very true story about a horrible childhood

    As someone who knows that this is like it is very true. I remember the first time I read this book I was walking and I said "oh my god its the *****". This book is so good that I will admit that I have 3 copies of it. 2 in Hardcover and I also have it on my NOOK. The way that the mother acted and the way that Julie would have to act I remember having to do that. I went through this for almost 18 years of my life and was only saved when a doctor called the police. Thank god for the police and CPS. If not for them I would be dead and would of been for quite a few years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    compelling

    Julie Gregory writes about her childhood in Sickened. It is extremely touching, and a rare story. Julie spends her entire childhood going to doctors because her mother claims she has tons of life threatening symptoms. She also spends many nights getting verbally and physically abused by her mother and father. The book later tells the reader about the disease her mother had that led her to do these things to her child. It follows Julie's life and thoughts as she wonders whether to reconnect with her mom, or continue onto a better and healthier lifestyle. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2009

    Great book

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book when I read it over a year ago. It had such an impact on me and really gave light to the disease. I finished the book in a day, I coudln't seem to put it down. It most certainly draws you in and makes you want more. Very good read, I would recommend it any and everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2007

    Everybody Should Read This Book

    Sickened, written by Julie Gregory, is one of the most captivating books I have read. The way it was written is especially important to me, because I felt at times that I was being told this story through the voice of the younger Julie Gregory-and to me, that's crucial. I've read this book twice, and I'm planning on reading it again and again in my future. I think it's important for everybody, at some point or another, to pick up Sickened, and read about this woman's story of her childhood, growing up with a MBP mother- and surviving. To me, Sickened is inspirational, and it has earned all of my support.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    Sadly uplifting

    This book gave a great insight into unhealthy family dynamics. Well written and a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3