Customer Reviews for

Siddhartha: An Indian Tale

Average Rating 4
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Siddhartha Book Review

Herman Hesses' novel depicts the journey of a boy who seeks knowledge and wisdom and quickly finds himself in times of love, devotion, and wisdom. Determined to find his path to enlightenment he witnesses and encounters the hardships which include the path of addiction ...
Herman Hesses' novel depicts the journey of a boy who seeks knowledge and wisdom and quickly finds himself in times of love, devotion, and wisdom. Determined to find his path to enlightenment he witnesses and encounters the hardships which include the path of addiction and trials of his runaway son consumed by greed. Even through all his heartache he is lead by his guide, a mysterious ferryman, through his losses and recuperates by finally achieving his greatest wishes. Siddhartha shows us that the real goal in life is to be complete and always accept your hardships because in the end it is all worth it.

posted by Anonymous on May 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

DON'T BUY Superior Formatting Publishing version

Great book, lousy version! Full of typos, misspellings, repeated words and gibberish. A rip off even at 99 cents. It looks like they simply scanned someone else's and then never bothered to proof or even spell check. I'd like to get my money back from BN if I could figu...
Great book, lousy version! Full of typos, misspellings, repeated words and gibberish. A rip off even at 99 cents. It looks like they simply scanned someone else's and then never bothered to proof or even spell check. I'd like to get my money back from BN if I could figure out how.

posted by 17293622 on January 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    Siddhartha Book Review

    Herman Hesses' novel depicts the journey of a boy who seeks knowledge and wisdom and quickly finds himself in times of love, devotion, and wisdom. Determined to find his path to enlightenment he witnesses and encounters the hardships which include the path of addiction and trials of his runaway son consumed by greed. Even through all his heartache he is lead by his guide, a mysterious ferryman, through his losses and recuperates by finally achieving his greatest wishes. Siddhartha shows us that the real goal in life is to be complete and always accept your hardships because in the end it is all worth it.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Wow

    Whoa!! That was such a good story. Had to read for school and didnt expect to like it. I loved it and definitely recommend. Really makes you think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pure Wisdom

    Siddhartha is a book written about the journey of a young Brahmin to a wise old man.It is a book written for anyone interested in Middle Eastern religion and ways of life. Although this topic may sound extremely intriguing to some people, this was not the case for me. I only began reading this book because there was nothing else to read at the time.
    At first, the plot was slow-moving and I didn't really see the point. This book was boring me so much that I had to stop reading it and find something more interesting.
    Weeks later, with a new mindset, I gave the book another try. I paid attention to the life-long messages that the author was portraying in between the lines. These small details in the plot were what I found most thought-provoking.
    As Siddhartha continued his journey to understand perfection, to understand Om, I began to understand the story. It was not about Siddhartha finding Nirvana, but about Siddhartha realizing the perfection of life and why the good and bad aspects of it are both important.
    After finishing this book I realized that it had left a huge impression on me. It had influenced my ways of thinking about and seeing the world around me. I can actually say that this book, Siddhartha, changed my life. Herman Hesse's writing is what I would define as pure wisdom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    A wonderful addition

    This book is beautifully written and translated, telling the story of a wonderful teacher with grace and almost poetic reverence.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    Sidhartha: as the Manifestation of the colonial Imagination of Harmann Hesse

    Siddhatrha is all about an observation of East religion and culture through the eyes of a
    colonial mind. The main character of the novel, sidhartha has been presented parallel with Lord
    Gautam Buddha. Buddha is spiritual and religious belief of our Eastern community. Siddhartha,
    the main character of the novel is a native character presented by western writer Hermann
    Hesse who has presented the Eastern religion on his own way. Buddhism and Brahamhan
    community is the uniqueness of Easterners and how can we believe o the authenticity of Hesse,
    a westhern author's representation? Herma Hesse's representation of Siddhartha is faulty as he depicts the native character
    From the position of alternity and covered up by his own colonial imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    Siddhartha was a quick read for me. A very simple story, that had me see that each person has to find his own way to happiness. We can't make other people happy.

    Siddhartha, the main character of the book starts out as a priveledged member of the upper religious class. On the surface it looks like he has everything. He's smart, everyone likes him, and thinks he has enormous potential as a religious and cultural leader. But there's something missing. He's unhappy. He has a huge hole in his soul. The world holds no meaning for him. So he leaves his priveledged life for one of living in the woods, begging for food. He ends up living with a woman who teaches him physical love. He has more money than he knows what to do with. Booze, gambling, gluttony. Suddenly he leaves that world for life on the river working on a ferryboat. One day years later the woman he lived with shows up on the ferryboat with a son that turns out to be his. The son doesn't want anything to do with him or finding peace on a ferryboat. The man he works for points out to him that he left his father for living in the woods and finding his own peace and happiness. So the last most important lesson Siddharta learns is to let his own son wander the world in search of his own happiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2008

    One of the better books on the required reading list

    I read Sidartha for my English litterature class and it was my favorite out of all of the required materials. Sidartha the book sheds light on ancient Indian culture and the birth of Buddhism, most of which I did not know before. I love books that are fictional but have an immense amount of factual content to them. Sidartha the character seems deeply self obsessed during the entire book, and I am not sure if that is because of my Western upbringing or if it is a reflection on spirituality and religion, or even if it is the story of a person's gradually growing up over the span of his lifetime. I love how the novel illustrates the stages of life so that the events, if not the characters, connect to the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    couldn't ask for more

    short and easy to read.. you can learn a lot about life by the story even if you are christian, jewish, etc.. read with an open mind and maybe you'll learn something about yourself as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2006

    Unusally Good

    Barron Christian doesn¿t just read, he performance the characters roles. Very engaging. Highly Recommended for a first time Siddhartha reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2002

    Force Feed

    I was force fed this book in high school, and hated it. I was required to read it again in college 3 yrs. later (isn't that just lucky), and loved it. I think I really absorbed the book the second time around. This books is inspiring and poetic. First impressions don't always last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2001

    Great for those seeking

    Great! People said it was hard to read, but its very very easy. this was the first book i read without ever setting down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2