Customer Reviews for

Siddhartha: An Indian Tale

Average Rating 4
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Siddhartha Book Review

Herman Hesses' novel depicts the journey of a boy who seeks knowledge and wisdom and quickly finds himself in times of love, devotion, and wisdom. Determined to find his path to enlightenment he witnesses and encounters the hardships which include the path of addiction ...
Herman Hesses' novel depicts the journey of a boy who seeks knowledge and wisdom and quickly finds himself in times of love, devotion, and wisdom. Determined to find his path to enlightenment he witnesses and encounters the hardships which include the path of addiction and trials of his runaway son consumed by greed. Even through all his heartache he is lead by his guide, a mysterious ferryman, through his losses and recuperates by finally achieving his greatest wishes. Siddhartha shows us that the real goal in life is to be complete and always accept your hardships because in the end it is all worth it.

posted by Anonymous on May 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

DON'T BUY Superior Formatting Publishing version

Great book, lousy version! Full of typos, misspellings, repeated words and gibberish. A rip off even at 99 cents. It looks like they simply scanned someone else's and then never bothered to proof or even spell check. I'd like to get my money back from BN if I could figu...
Great book, lousy version! Full of typos, misspellings, repeated words and gibberish. A rip off even at 99 cents. It looks like they simply scanned someone else's and then never bothered to proof or even spell check. I'd like to get my money back from BN if I could figure out how.

posted by 17293622 on January 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    Amazing

    This is an amazing little treat, that you don`t want to miss out on. I like Herman Hesse anyway and it was by complete accident that I found this book. It is short, but you get immersed.
    A few things about the author: Hesse is a Nobel Prize laureate, born in Germany, but a Swiss writer.He wrote Siddharta in 1922. He had previously, back in the 1910s, visited India.The story focuses on Siddharta, the son of a Brahmin, who leaves his home (the story takes place in Nepal around the time of Gautama Buddha) in search of enlightenment and it recounts the experiences, the events that lead him to reach nirvana. The stories, the people, the events that he encounters all add up to him reaching a deeper understanding of the universe. In the beginning of the story, he actually meets Gautama (Gotama) Buddha, who by then reached the perfect state and listens to his teaching, but decides that he should learn to reach enlightment through his own experiences, not someone else`s teachings.
    The style is quite simple, yet at times it reaches almost poetic heights. As I mentioned earlier, this is a very short novel, but it took a long time (and surely a long spiritual journey) for the author to write.
    I highly recommend Siddharta, and other works of Herman Hesse as well.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    Therapeutic

    I read this recently during a painful break-up/separation from my wife. At the time I was convinced we were getting divorced. Reading this book made me realize that I was going to be fine whatever the outcome. Once I stopped pouting around and enjoyed life with or without my wife, she came back. I credit this book with saving my marriage.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Journey

    If you are looking for your own spiritual journey... you will be inspired after reading this book. Simple and meaningful. Definitely one of my all time favorites!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    Great Read

    A book that will make you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Beautiful

    Loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Slow but FANTASTIC!!!

    This book is AWESOME!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Enlightening.

    A wonderful enlightening journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Life changing

    This is on my Top 10 Best Books of All Time list. You will reexamine the way you view life. It's is crushing and uplifting in the same breath. It's a shorter book, but don't be tempted to read it all in one sitting. Savor every sentence, let it marinate in your psyche, you will wonder how you never thought like that before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    a favorite

    i have read this book twice and i highly recommend it. the depth and meaning is great. it is a truly amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent...I highly recommend

    This is an enlightening and thought provoking book about a man who is on a path to discovering what the purpose of life is..On his path to finding this out he realizes that the path he originally thought was not the correct one,And upon realizing this continues to search and ends up going through different trials and tribulations..It is a book that will make you think, that will quite possibly alter the way that you perceive things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent writing. The style and content brings the reader to the threshold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    Timeless

    I have read this book over and over through the years. This copy was a gift for my 14 year grandson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2005

    This has been my favorite for 10 years and counting...

    I love this book. I re-read it at times of transition and I ALWAYS get a new understanding/perspective. But most importantly I find peace. I have read it so many times I can't remember the first time. But everytime I am at a point in my life where I am searching for comfort and meaning I grab this book and read it. And it always delivers.... Check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2003

    Ageless!

    Highly recommended! Contains the profundity that is relative throughout time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2003

    Siddhartha is a must

    Siddhartha is a powerful book. It is focused on one individual's spiritual journey through life. It is a book about illumination of self-discovery, learning the lessons and meaning of life through our individual experiences. It is a journey that teaches us the importance of finding, as contrary to simply seeking. After reading this book we can truly obtain wisdom and understanding of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2003

    Siddhartha was so good.

    Siddhartha was such a great book, I really love buddhism and this book just explained it all for me in such marvelous detail. It truly is a book that needs to be read over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2003

    great book

    I love the book and Siddhartha's search for inner peace and trying to break away from the inner self. It was a very interesting book and I learned alot of stuff from it about Buddhism that I didn't know before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2003

    Om is the word

    this book brings perspective to the conditions of human life. it makes you want to drinketh life to the dregs. A truely spiritual tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2002

    It calms my spirit

    I have recently reread and saw the beautiful movie of Siddhartha . The book offers a joy of discovery, a clarity of thought that transcends time and cultures. It is abook to read and reread as it rveals something new with each reading. It has the wisodm of ages expressed lucidly through the words of Hermannn Hesse.Calming the spirit is a lesson to be learned and cherished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4