Customer Reviews for

Siddhartha (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 266 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Alright

    Its more of a adult read than a high school read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2007

    mrizk student of uofd

    i enjoyed reading this book very much. it showed how a person changes his/her way of life throughout life. It also showed how greed may change the way a person looks at things in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2006

    A Let Down

    I was made to read this book for english class and I'd heard mostly good things about it, but I didn't like it. The story seemed rushed and the plots were very tenuous. It was repetitive and predictable. No high praise for this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2005

    PREDICTABLE AND OUTDATED

    Typical story that follows the plot of just about every other story ever written. It's all about the buddah, and though it has some interesting events, It makes the story even more predictable. Gets a little better at the end, but the last chapter is really disapointing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    a book about budda

    This book was a decent book. It told the story of Buddha well but it was slow and the book can get very confusing at times. I liked how Herman Hesse used examples to help you understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2002

    HARD TO UNDERSTAND

    This book was a little to deep for me to understand but what i did understand was o.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2001

    Average

    While this story was easy to read, it's message was very deep. At times, I enjoyed it and at times it put me to sleep. Some people will find relief in the pages of this book, but as Siddhartha himself learned - you cannot learn religion you must experience it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2000

    Blah

    This book, while interesting, never caught my attention. Have you ever sat there reading a book for hours, but aren't really reading it? Well this is that kind of book. I found myself reading a page over and over again without understanding it. The end was utterly confusing. The middle chapters are good though and that's why it warrants a 3 out of 5

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2000

    An overrated tale, not as 'illuminating' as people say

    There are occasions in which the references one has about something -a book, in this case- are so good, that one can't help but feel disappointed after checking out the actual thing, and finding it is no match for its references. That is what happened to me in this case. I heard everybody talking about this awesome book about the search of inner peace, and God, and all that stuff, and 'Siddhartha' simply did not live up to my expectations. There is little of value to rescue about this man's journey in life; in general, this tale, told with extrordinary simplicity, while not a bad one, fails to create that unique illuminating experience that many claim it does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2000

    It was ok

    I read this book and I really didn't understand what he was doing half the time. The only exciting chapters were 5-8. Then it got boring. You have to understand meditation and 'inner-peace' to like the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2