Customer Reviews for

Siddhartha (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 266 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 146 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    Siddhartha

    Siddhartha is a great book about a teenage boy's journey to find himself. Siddhartha, the best, most knowledgeable Brahmin's son with the highest abilities was expected to become a great Brahmin. However, Siddhartha was unhappy and wanted to learn more, he wanted a higher understanding of life and its meaning. Siddhartha decides to leave his family in pursuit to find his purpose in life, accompanied by his best friend Govinda. Govinda loves Siddhartha and will travel with Siddhartha wherever he may go. Siddhartha and Govinda enter to woods and take on the lifestyles of Samanas. They renounce all their possessions and live in the woods. They learn to think and meditate. They learn to fast and travel around the world begging for food at the villages they pass through. They begin to understand the power that the mind has over the body. During their travels they begin to hear rumors of Gotama. Gotama the Illustrious One, the Perfect One, had achieved a state of total enlightenment and was now preaching his views and teachings to all who followed him. Siddhartha was skeptical about this man, but he and Govinda did decide to leave the Samanas and find Gotama. When the two found Gotama, they discovered that all the rumors were true. Siddhartha is now impressed with Gotama and is amazed at his understanding of the world. Govinda immediately decides to devote his life to Gotama and becomes one of his disciples. However, Siddhartha talks with Gotama about a flaw he found in Gotama's teachings. During their talk, Siddhartha has an epiphany. When the two say good-bye to each other, each expressing great respect for the other, Siddhartha finds Govinda. He tells Govinda that he will continue traveling and that the two must part ways at this time. Siddhartha proceeds to find a girl, Kamala, who teaches him the art of love. This is a great book filled with philosophical views as Siddhartha strives to understand his Self.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2008

    A True Hero's Journey

    Had to read this book for English class and was very interested by the title and cover. Siddhartha is an amazing story of a man wanting to find the true meaning of life. Siddhartha masters several worlds in his quest for nirvana. I could not put this book down and actually throughly annotated this book. This book is very interesting and not only asks a lot of questions but answers them too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book was a page-turner. I found it to be an intriguing story. I read it in high school (2001) and again recently. It was a good read both times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2007

    Awesome....

    This is an extremely well written/narrated poem. One that has been used by many to spiritually guide and bring awareness to one's natural EYE. I have listened/read over and over again. Only to discover something new each time. I recently lent my copy of this particular audio, now I am back in hopes to regain a new...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    Siddhartha was truly the story of my life. In search of the 'true' meaning of life (which all religions erroneously claim to have) Siddhartha only finds peace after coming to terms with the wholeness and interconnectedness of life. This is truly a book that only an open minded person will understand and enjoy. It is truly priceless for everyone who has pondered the great questions of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    One of the Best!

    Let me tell you straight...one of the best book i have ever read. Very well written, almost written like a long poem, and an insightful story that has alot to say about life. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    Siddhartha was the bomb

    This is a great novel written from a great man. Siddhartha explains explicitly how you can be spiritually connected with yourself, not only in the physical but for your soul as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    Beyond Belief

    I have never read anything as moving as this book. I thought that initially that this book would be easy and light reading. Boy, was I wrong! I gravitated toward the title, because I have always been fascinated by Buddhism. Hesse's narrative is so mystical, so asthetic, so enigmatic, so all-encompassing, so poetic of a writer that it at first seems it is repugnant, which like the story of Siddhartha itself, becomes beautiful. This book made me fast, think, and listen better. Maybe life changing literature. Shakespeare, I think I found your match.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2006

    Amazing!

    No matter what religion you are, this book has something to teach everyone. A very easy read, yet still utterly inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2006

    Not just a tale of spirituality

    Even those who are not into Buddhism will find Siddharta to be a powerful book. It speaks more of the quest for a boy's initiation into manhood than it does of a wandering monk's search for perfection. Like the works of Roman Payne or the Brothers Grimm, it speaks in a timeless and eery tone revealing Hesse to be more of a poet than a sage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2005

    A great book for the soul

    Hesse has done an excellent piece of work. This book guides you through siddartha's life and his tribulations. it is enriching because anyone can copmare with the life and emotions siddartha was feeling. it's enlightening and a truly beneficial read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2005

    Brilliant Book

    Although Siddhartha was a rather difficult read (I'm going into seventh grade this year), Siddhartha's religious explorations really interested me. I'm being batmitzva-ed in a year or so, and am not truly happy with the Jewish explinations. It was an interesting perspective on Buddism, life, and the world. I would reccomend it to anyone interested in such matters, although probably it would be easier for those at least in high school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2005

    What would we read if it weren't for. . .

    the fine literature that shapes many of us into who we are now? I've been re-reading my entire library. This is a book that revolves around change and how all change becomes good in creating who we are. I am indeed thankful for this writing and wonder, what if it was never written?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2005

    great

    one of the best books i have ever read. It explains so much about life , You really recognize that really we are all humans and we al make mistakes and we can all get up and go and find the right path; aside from that there are many other intense meanings to this book and what it portrays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2003

    GREAT

    Absolutely GREAT!!! A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2002

    Siddhartha is a great book!!!

    This book in and of itself is a well written novel based on the sense of enlightenment. If you believe this book "sucks," it is because you are too immature and narrow minded to realize the true beauty of what was written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2002

    A Story of Enlightenment

    Siddhartha, by Herman Hesse, is a rich, beautiful story, set in India, about a man's spiritual journey to reach an understanding of the world. The story beings when Siddhartha is an eager young man with an insatiable thirst for knowledge. As the story progresses, Siddhartha undergoes a truly profound transformation as he experiences and exposes himself to different lifestyles, all the while searching for enlightenment. He meets Buddha on one occasion and realizes that Buddha's peace, his enlightenment, is what he strives to one day achieve. In fact, 'Siddhartha' is a name often given to Buddah himself. The simplistic style of the novel lends a classic quality to the story; making the reader savor every word. Hesse effectively engages the reader in Siddhartha's journey from the very first page and involves him in Siddhartha's journey by making him ask himself the same life questions posed by Siddhartha. The reader is offered valuable insight into Eastern philosophy. While it is a nice novel to be read for purely pleasure, it can also be one to ponder and digest. This classic book can be read and enjoyed by anyone, young and old. Siddhartha is most definitely a treasure and one of my personal favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2002

    Beautiful

    My words would only cheapen the awe-inspiring greatness of this book, but I feel that I must help this book find its way into other's hands. I strongly feel that this book should be read and enveloped in every human soul. Yet its wonder is modest - simple and easy to absorb into one's thoughts. The mind and spirit are calmed and I was overwhelmed with a deeply spiritual state throughout the entire book. This will affect me for a lifetime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2002

    A must for the ones searching for the meaning of life.

    This is a marvelous book that can be an eye opener for those of us that see life as a journey. Life is much more that what most of us see, feel, and enjoy. There is a spiritual path that some of us are aware of, and enjoy reading about another free spirit that searches for his own truth, instead of just accepting 'DESTINY' as something already given. Long live the free spirited people!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2002

    Grand

    Well, I'm a Buddhist individual in which was first intrigued by the title. It was recommended to me by my good friend. The book brought out peace of mind and truth into view. Simplicity and individuality is far more valuable than anything else. The questioning of faith in this novel struck with my current situation of reality in which my best friend was trying to convert. But however I felt I have to be myself and remain a Buddhist, because I love the ideas of Buddhism and some Christian beliefs to me are bogus. But religion is religion and as long as it serves its purpose to the person, it's good. Back to the book, I highly recommend this book to anyone willing to read it or is just looking for an enjoyable book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 146 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8