Customer Reviews for

Side Jobs: Stories from the Dresden Files

Average Rating 4.5
( 558 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(356)

4 Star

(138)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A great read

Side Jobs is both alike and completely different from all of the Dresden Files books up to this point. It's a collection of short stories, written by Jim Butcher, which take place at various points in the continuity of the Dresden Files universe, each one prefaced by a ...
Side Jobs is both alike and completely different from all of the Dresden Files books up to this point. It's a collection of short stories, written by Jim Butcher, which take place at various points in the continuity of the Dresden Files universe, each one prefaced by a short explanation.

It's the same, most obviously because it involves the characters and locations that readers have come to know and love through the main series of novels, but also because of the writing itself, which pulls you in and never wants to let go. The difference comes through the feeling and the ideas behind each story. The ones written in the usual manner, from Harry's perspective, feel lighter and less serious, while the ones NOT written from his perspective (of which there are two - one from Thomas's viewpoint and the other from Murphy's) actually have a different texture, and really do feel like they are being narrated by someone else while still keeping with the usual Dresden Files tone.

In all, Side Jobs is definitely a book to pick up if you've read the other Dresden Files novels (if you haven't, some of the characters and events referenced in the short stories will be a bit confusing, although Jim Butcher does his best to explain them in the narratives).

posted by Shiroikami on October 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

If your a fan of the series an good read

The quality is not consistent in the stories and the book is written for fans well versed in the series. Newcomers would be better off starting with the novels as that is the arena where Jim Butcher's really shines. Nikki

posted by Nikkiandthedrone on December 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 356 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    A great read

    Side Jobs is both alike and completely different from all of the Dresden Files books up to this point. It's a collection of short stories, written by Jim Butcher, which take place at various points in the continuity of the Dresden Files universe, each one prefaced by a short explanation.

    It's the same, most obviously because it involves the characters and locations that readers have come to know and love through the main series of novels, but also because of the writing itself, which pulls you in and never wants to let go. The difference comes through the feeling and the ideas behind each story. The ones written in the usual manner, from Harry's perspective, feel lighter and less serious, while the ones NOT written from his perspective (of which there are two - one from Thomas's viewpoint and the other from Murphy's) actually have a different texture, and really do feel like they are being narrated by someone else while still keeping with the usual Dresden Files tone.

    In all, Side Jobs is definitely a book to pick up if you've read the other Dresden Files novels (if you haven't, some of the characters and events referenced in the short stories will be a bit confusing, although Jim Butcher does his best to explain them in the narratives).

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    I can't get enought Harry Dresden!!

    These stories are wonderful, they fill in some gaps between books. They're funny and entertaining. I don't know how Jim Butcher does it, but he hasn't written a bad Harry Dresden story yet! I highly recommend to any Dresden fan.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    Great Antholgy

    I am glad i waited for this book instead of buying all the other ones for a single Dresden story. Its a nice diversion until Ghost Story is released.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Page turner

    Fast paced action, nerd humor, and interesting plotlines have hooked me on the Dresden series. Although this is a set of short stories it is no exception.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Never disappoints!

    These stories fill in the gaps between books ... Great idea! Now we know what happened to Michael and how Harry found out more about Gard! Big fan, and can't wait for Ghost Story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Impressive, as always.

    As I am a huge Dresden fan i am biased, but this book is as solid as all of his work. nice to read some of the shorts to fill in those pesky gaps between books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    dresden fans must read!

    great back story and sidelines for all dresden fans... especially the final story told from karen murphy's perspective!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Stonefrost

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Great addition to Dresden Files

    Interesting inside looks at previous adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Awesome Stories.

    I had not read all of these stories before.
    I really like the characters.
    The premise for the series is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent read!

    I don't normally do short story compilations, but this one was as good as his full novels, with lots of backstory to the characters. I would definitely recommend to any fan of Dresden.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    A fun romp with Harry

    I found this book to be a very nice collection of stories which gave me some insight into Harry Dresden. It allowed me to picture Harry as more of a regular guy who at least got a little rest (?) in between his adventures outlined in the novels. The book also allowed us readers to see how Mr Butcher's writing of the wizard's stories evolved over time which was great. I greatly enjoyed the book and highly recommend it to Dresden fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Sweet

    It's a great read full of awsome stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Egg store

    Buy any egg here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Dresden is by far the best character I've read. Jim Butcher has

    Dresden is by far the best character I've read. Jim Butcher has by far become my favorite author. I love the way he told a couple stories from Thomas', then Murphy's point of view. I would love to see a Storm Front movie, cast to description, and not cut up like most book to Hollywood films. Done with lots of thought narrative, like the TV show attempted. Can't wait to read Ghost Story and see where things go. I seriously wish this series would go on forever like Dragon Riders of Pern series or Valdemar series. But even wiseass, flippant, do-gooder, with a will of steel and heart of gold can't last forever. Thanx Jim for another good read, and I can't wait for your Bigfoot in Love series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Good Book!

    Fits in well with the other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Good

    Hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great read.

    A more than worthy addition to any Dresden collection. I especially enjoyed the notes that placed the stories chronologically in the series. I didn't realize that some of the main books reference the stories in this volume. A must have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Really reaaly gooooooooood

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 356 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18