Customer Reviews for

Sideways Stories from Wayside School

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wayside School...

    my teacher used to read this book in class when i was still a kid in elementry school and it was one of my favorite books ever... to be honest i haven't read it since third grade or so, now i'm a freshmen in high school, but i would recommend it to anyone anywhere! it is great, funny, and a major attention getter of children around the ages of first to fourth grade... i'm so glad that my teacher read it to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    Great!!!!!!!

    I think this book was really great! My 1st grade teacher read this book to the class and everybody loved it. I recommend this book to all ages. It was hilarious and the characters were so wacky!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable

    This book was really fun to read! It's funny and alive, a great pick for non-readers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    One of the greatest book I've ever read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Silly fun

    Wayside School was a set up to be special from the moment the builders mistakenly built it as thirty one-room floors instead of one thirty-room floor. Luckily this left a lot of extra space for the playground, a playground that Mrs. Jewels' class rarely gets to play on since their room is at the top of the building. <BR/><BR/>I remember loving the Wayside books as a kid. Anything and everything could and did happen, from dead rats who are determined to sneak into Mrs. Jewels class, to Mrs. Zorf (who doesn't exist, and her classroom on the 19th floor which also doesn't exist) to puns and humorous literal interpretations of concepts. In trying to expand my children's love of stories I picked Sideways Stories from Wayside School to read before bed each night.<BR/><BR/>While we enjoyed some stories, like Mrs. Gorf (who turns the kids into apples when they misbehave), Mrs. Jewels (who thinks the class is filled with monkeys because children can't possibly be so cute) and Todd (a student who just cannot seem to get through a whole day without being sent home, no matter how hard he tries), others were a complete miss. There were some stories I feel we didn't connect with because my son is a very literal thinker and didn't "get" the joke. <BR/><BR/>Being willing to believe anything is important to enjoying the thirty short stories in this book. If your child can suspend disbelief then they'll love these wacky tales. But if you stall on how unreal the concept of a story is then it's hard to get past that. Sachar doesn't suspend disbelief, he assumes you've already done that and writes a story about what happens afterwards.<BR/><BR/>Most of the stories are about three pages long, which lends well to before bed reading. Each is about a different student or teacher, but they all feature a familiar cast of characters which also makes this book good for reading in small bits since each story is like an episode, a whole story on its own but expands the world of Wayside a little bit at a time. The short length of the stories will also help children still learning to read or parents who burnout on books aimed at kids balance the pros of reading together with the frustrations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    A great read aloud

    When our teacher first read 'Wayside School', we knew it was a silly and odd book. There's lots of funny parts like when Mrs. Gorf got turned into an apple. We laughed. The book should be good for all ages. Hope you enjoy the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    The best book I've read this quarter is 'Sideways Stories from Wayside School.' The main characters were some teachers and all the kids in Mrs. Jewel¿s class. They just pretty much say what they like. I like Todd, he gets in trouble all the time. Its pretty much this upside down school. There are thirty stories in Wayside School. There's no nineteenth floor and no Miss. Zarves. They built the classrooms on top of each other. The school is very tall. The setting is in the school. To tell funny stories is the theme. I'd like this story a lot because I like funny stories. I connected because I do funny things a lot and weird things too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    Sideways Stories is Funny!

    There are thirty characters for every chapter. They are Mrs. Gorf, Mrs. Jewels, Joe, Sharie, Todd, Bebe, Calvin, Myron, Maurecia, Paul, Dana, Jason, Randi, Sammy, Deedee, D. J., John, Leslie, Miss Zarves, Kathy, Ron, The Three Erics, Allison, Dameon, Jenny, Terrence, Joy, Nancy, Stephen, and Louis. The thirty chapters represent the thirty stories of the school. This story talks about the characters. It talks about what the characters like and don¿t like. It also talks about all the characters differences. So if you read this story you will notice they fight. It is in and outside the school in the summer. The main idea of this story is that Wayside School is sideways and has thirty stories and has thirty people in one classroom. I liked this story because it talks about what these thirty people are like. I connected to this story because everyone is different and everybody likes different things. There is another story like this one called Wayside School is Falling Down but it talks about Wayside School crashing down because it is so tall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    weird side from wayside

    Mrs. Gorf had a long tong and pointed ears. She was the meanest teacher in all of Wayside School. She warned the children that she would turn them into apples if they did anything. Was Mrs.Gorf a witch? No one knows .My book is called Sideways stories from Wayside school by Louis Sachar. Some of my favorite stories were about two kids .Sharie was a girl who weighed forty-nine pounds and she wore a big, red and blue, and fury coat. Her eye lashes weighed a pound and a half. All together she weighed eighty-five and a half pounds. Paul had the best seat in Mrs.Jewls class, he sat in the way back where nothing was heard , seen, or even smelled. He got the erg to pull girls hair. He always pulled Leslies big long smooth pigtails. One day he wanted to pull them more than anything. Paul grabbed her pigtails and yanked as hard as he could. Well what did you think so far? I think this book is so funny. They just have the weirdest kids who have funny attitudes.Mrs.Jewls is a nice and funny teacher. When she first met the kids she was scared they would be too cute, so cute the would look like monkeys. Why? I don¿t know. The author of the book was one of the characters . He described him self with a red face, a mustache of many, many colors. He was known as Louis the yard teacher. He told many crazy stories about Wayside School to the children that were very funny. I would recommend this book to people who love comedy and weird stories. The comedy are the funny parts. The weird thing about this book are the children and their lives. When Mrs.Gorf was a teacher she turned kids into apples in a weird way. Read this book if you want to find out more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2004

    Reccomended!

    If you laugh your head off at Junie B.,and more importantly like to,and are looking for another book that is even more hilarious then her then this is the PERFECT book for you! Louis Sachars funny book will delight anybody ages 7-107.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    FUNNY

    What would you do If you had a school thirty stories tall and you had a class full of all kinds of different students and a teacher not exactly right? Well, Thats what all the kids at wayside school had to deal with everyday in sideway stories from wayside school. Each chapter of this novel explains a different kid on the 30th of this wacky school. For example Rondi has her two front teeth missing And everyone loves it when she smiles and she doesn't know why everyone loves her missing teeth so much. I recommend this book to people of all ages It¿s funny and It¿s just an all around good book. I would give this book a 9 out of 10 If I was to rate It. By: Blake Quesenberry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2003

    A Weird Teacher and a Great Book

    Wayside school is 30 stories high, and each class has its own story. Mrs. Gorf turned her kids into apples. The book provided a lot of details about each kid. We would definitely recommend this book to one of our friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2003

    A Very Funny Book!

    We enjoyed reading this book very much. There were quite a few funny and interesting characters, including Mrs. Gorf who turned her students into apples, John who reads updside down, and Mrs. Jewls, who we thought was a little nice and a little mean at the same time. Overall, we recommend this book to everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2003

    High-lariously funny book!

    I first read this book when I was in 3rd grade, and even though I am a freshman, it still makes me laugh. I have probably read this book about 100 times! Louis Satcher really has a sence of humor, and knows what students young, and old, like to hear. I thought that the way he dedicates every chapter to a different character, brings out the uniquness and humor of the book. If you like books that will make you laugh out loud, this is defenetley a book for you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2002

    Sideways Stories from Wayside School

    This book is about tales that they tell in Wayside school. The main characters are Mrs.Juwelsclass.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2002

    Extremely funny

    This book was one of the best i've read in a while. This has alot of good comedy in it. For example on one part of the story the teacher thinks the kids are monkeys because they are so cute. This book also tells you about each charter and tells you all diffrent things about them. Such as one major thing they've done. Over all this book was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    This book was terriffic

    This book is about kids from Wayside School and teachers.Most of these kids,and teachers are werid.In the first chapter it tells about Mrs.Gorf.Kids in her class could not do anything. They couldn't sneeze, cough,or say bless you . If you did those things and even more you would be turned into an apple. This is what started the weirdest school year of all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    This book is very intresting

    This story was about kids from a school that was built sideway. There are amazing details and great chapters. It was very exciting. I could relate this to myself. There are a lot of people that can relate this story to them too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2002

    It is a outstanding book

    It is about people. that they have problems and they talk about them and their problems. This school is missing the 19th story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2002

    Sideways Stories from Wayside School

    This book is about a teacher and thirty kids in a tall school. Stupid things happen to them like when the teacher was turning kids into apples. She was going to eat them, but they jumped off her desk. They jumped on her until she turned them back into kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2