Customer Reviews for

Sidney Sheldon's Angel of the Dark

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable

I stopped reading Sidney Sheldon many years ago. His early books were excellent, but then they started to feel repetitive. In addition the dialogue became ridiculously simple like a child had written it. However, this book was truly enjoyable and better than anything...
I stopped reading Sidney Sheldon many years ago. His early books were excellent, but then they started to feel repetitive. In addition the dialogue became ridiculously simple like a child had written it. However, this book was truly enjoyable and better than anything Ive read with his name on it in many years. It was just a fun book that completely held my attention.

posted by laur3296 on April 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Every detective has a case that haunts them. For former LAPD Det

Every detective has a case that haunts them. For former LAPD Detective Danny Mcguire, that case is the murder of millionaire art dealer Andrew Jakes. When police arrived at the Jakes home, they found the elderly Mr. Jakes savagely murdered and tied to his much younger w...
Every detective has a case that haunts them. For former LAPD Detective Danny Mcguire, that case is the murder of millionaire art dealer Andrew Jakes. When police arrived at the Jakes home, they found the elderly Mr. Jakes savagely murdered and tied to his much younger wife, Angela, who had been brutally raped. With stolen art and jewels, the scene looks like a horrific burglary. Suspicion is placed on the young Mrs. Jakes, who survives the incident and whom Mr. Jakes left his entire fortune. Surprisingly, Angela leaves her entire windfall to a local charity, and disappears from LA. With his number one suspect/witness gone, Danny Mcguire is left to ponder the case with no leads.

Ten years later, Danny Mcguire, newly married, living in France, and working for Interpol, has all but moved on from the Jakes case. He is still haunted by the look in the young wife's eyes, but has accepted that he will never know the truth behind the killing. Then one day he is contacted by Matt Daley. Daley is a struggling script writer who happens to be the estranged son of Andrew Jakes. In an attempt to discover a compelling story, he looks into his father's case and finds that other murders fitting the exact profile of his father's have occurred in various cities around the world. When his relays this information to Danny, the two embark on a fast paced, world wide investigation to uncover the truth behind these murders.

Although the bestselling author, Sidney Sheldon, passed away in 2007, author Tilly Bagshawe continues his tradition of fast paced, intriguing mysteries in a expert manner. This story had as many plot twists as we've grown accustomed to in stories like this, and the ending is sure to leave readers reeling. The beginning of this novel has several time, location and character changes over a short number of pages. While this is vital to the telling of the story, I felt that the jumps could be a bit confusing. Fortunately, I stayed with it, and the last two-thirds of the novel were clearly written and very entertaining. This novel is a solid addition to the mystery genre and a nice continuation of the Sidney Sheldon legacy.

posted by ABookAWeekES on July 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Enjoyable

    I stopped reading Sidney Sheldon many years ago. His early books were excellent, but then they started to feel repetitive. In addition the dialogue became ridiculously simple like a child had written it. However, this book was truly enjoyable and better than anything Ive read with his name on it in many years. It was just a fun book that completely held my attention.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Love to read Sidney Sheldon Books

    Could not put this book down. It contained suspense, romance and the "Sheldon" twists.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great looks can be deceiving when it comes to murder and decepti

    Great looks can be deceiving when it comes to murder and deception!

    When they say that some people who have great looks will use them to move forward in life, that is exactly what Lyle Renalto had planned to do. Seems like just about anyone would pay for great looks or even fall in love with someone who did no matter how old or young they were. Since becoming a well-known attorney to the rich and famous, he believed that his life was taking a turn for the better until he found Angela Jakes.

    Now that she has been brutally beaten, raped and left tied to her nearly decapitated older husband, he's about to find out just how far his looks will get him. Danny McGuire is the lead detective assigned to the case which is the most gruesome crime scene he can recall ever seeing in his entire career, and what makes it worse is why Angela Jakes wasn't murdered as well but simply left tied to her husband. Seeing her beauty behind all the bruises and cuts to her face, Detective McGuire will stop at nothing to see that justice prevails and the brutal killer is caught. Only now, the only obstacle in his way is her attorney Lyle Renalto. He duty is to assure that she remains protected and away from the badgering questions of the police.

    When he fears for her safety, he has her put on a plane and sent out of the country. Only now it seems that Angela has vanished when Detective McGuire needs to question her further.

    After ten years, and no suspects in the case, Detective McGuire still haunted by his failed efforts leaves the United States for Lyon, France and now finds the solitude of working for Interpol helps to quell the demons from his past. Only now it seems that the killer is back on the lose when married older men are being murdered at random and left tied to their brutally beaten wives.

    I received Sidney Sheldon's Angel of the Dark by Sidney Sheldon and Tilly Bagshawe compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. This being my first Sidney Sheldon murder/suspense mystery, I was immediately involved as the reader. Trying to pick up on subtle clues I was along for the ride with Detective McGuire to try and figure this one out. I kinda had an idea but wasn't sure if I was correct or not until the very end. This book does contain some graphic violent crime scenes and some sexuality among the characters so the reader should be warned, it may not be for everyone. Those who are looking for a compelling, edge of your seat ride, will definitely want this one. I rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    Lots of twists and turns. I found it a bit confusing and not in

    Lots of twists and turns. I found it a bit confusing and not in the true Sidney Sheldon style. The story jumps between different years and places which made it hard to follow at times. You can definitely tell the difference between the true Sidney Sheldon books and the ones that have the influence of this author, Tilly Bagshawe. Somewhat predictable plot. This book was published 5 yrs after Sidney Sheldon's death. Still an enjoyable read with a final twist at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Tilly Bagshawe did a good job following up on Sidney Sheldon's work

    this book has a few very good twists at the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    This is the first Sidney Sheldon book I have read. I enjoyed it

    This is the first Sidney Sheldon book I have read. I enjoyed it so much am looking into his other books. I am just discovering that another (?) author has taken up his writings? Throughly enjoyed this book and will be coming back for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    Definitely Classic Sheldon...great read....grips you from the be

    Definitely Classic Sheldon...great read....grips you from the begining right to the end.....after reading I really miss Sheldon's books...I've read them all & they definitely were all soooo good.......always has a bit of everything from love, money, sex, murder.....and best of all the twister didn't see it comin ending.....luved it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Great Read

    Really enjoyed this book, lots of twists

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    OMG!!!

    What a wonderful book that so deserves a sequel so please if there's a sequel, don't make us wait too long!! However, the going in and out of different story lines needs a little tweaking because I was getting confused on who was who whereas Sidney Sheldon had a better flow of leading you in & out of the different story lines without confusion of the characters. All in all great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Keeps you in suspense........with surprise ending.

    Unbelievable ending. Bagshawe weaves a suspense-filled tale that proves people do not change habits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1