Customer Reviews for

The Siege

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    white's best

    I have read all of Stephen White's books and, like the Harry Potter series, they have gotten more complex as he has gone on. "The Siege" is set primarly in New Haven, CT, a city I am pretty familiar with. White's research is extensive and precise. Nothing is left to guess work. The tension is palpable and most of the questions are answered. The loose ends are the loose ends that Sam Purdy doesn't know the answers to. Speaking of Sam, being a native of Minnesota I find him an excellent lead character. In other books, he has been a secondary character to Alan Gregory, but not this time and I liked Sam.

    I passed the book along to my mother-in-law who loves thrillers and who lived in New Haven for 35 years. I am certain it will stand up to her scrutiny. This is a terrific read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great read indeed

    My wife and I have read every Stephen White book. We love his stories. This book takes a solo look at one particular character who has appeared in most of White's books about a Boulder psychiatrist. His recent books have been focusing on characters other than the usual star. What we liked about this book was it is full of suspense, a possible crime of terrorism but continuing doubt about what might be happening. In the end, your left saying, this could happen. A real event could trigger this kind of well plotted crime. Ending this book was a downer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2009

    Not what a devoted White follower would expect.

    Was well done, even though it was moved from the typical Boulder location. Masterly woven together, with twists and turns continuing to pop up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Storyline and Thrilling Read

    This was a great storyline and a first time read of the author which took me to places I did not expect. A tightly interwoven story surrounding the hostage taking in New Haven, CT. The underlying plot was rich and I really liked the way the author brought the multiple story lines together in a compelling and taut mystery format. The use of the main characters backgrounds and how they eventually intersect was well done. Great characters, plot and story telling...what more could you ask for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tense Thriller

    Someone fiendishly clever, who has planned for every contingency, and who has an unknown agenda, is holding Yale students hostage inside the "tomb" of one of the school's secret societies. They are being slowly released, some to die instantly, others to walk free. The ones who survive aren't talking. Law enforcement agencies, hostage rescue teams, SWAT teams - all are frustrated, baffled, and helpless. On the job, unofficially, are a CIA agent, an FBI agent, and a Colorado police officer on suspension. One of them has some inside information unknown to the agencies currently trying to negotiate. An ongoing and conflicted love story between the other two adds interest. Together, the trio painstakingly begins figuring out what's going on. I am giving this a qualified five stars because I found the ending a bit anti-climactic and confusing. Nonetheless, once started, this book is a great ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    A class act yarn!

    Stephen White never fails to write a "can't put down" thriller. As always a good and original read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    Siege Mentality

    Someone(s) has taken hostage many collage students, some the sons and daughters of high profile parents, and barricaded them all in the house of a secret society on the campus of an Ivey League collage. As some of the hostages are released, some to go free and others to be brutally murdered, it takes a suspended police officer, a mentally challenged FBI agent and a CIA operative to unravel what is going on and what the captors really want. The Government and our trio of misfits do not always see eye to eye and the reader must wait until the end to have the real meaning of this situation be revealed. The plot and tension mounts to the very end and the out come can go many ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    Friend becomes major character

    I see Mr. White has expanded his thinking in that he made his friend the major character of this book. I think that was wise; it made a different viewpoint all together. I enjoyed the book and my son is reading it now. You are our favorite author: we read Ludlum's old ones, Lescroat, Tannebaum, Glass, etc.
    Keep up the wonderful writing!!
    Judy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    White continues the quality of this series.

    So many writers I have loved and followed become lackluster, and fall into the "grind out another book" syndrome after enjoying a level of success of a few bestsellers. Not Stephen White. He continues to breathe new life into his characters and storylines with each new installment of this series. The relationships that form and florish, the depth of Boulder that comes to life through his eyes, the inner feelings of Sam Purdy, Alan Gregory and others make Stephen White exceptionally readable. Last year, I started with the first book of this series and am now current with Mr. White and The Siege. If you haven't read them all, do yourself a favor and enjoy this talented, intelligent writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointment Kills!

    Disappointment seems a mild word but can inspire terrible deeds! A number of high profile students at Yale University have been kidnapped and are being held hostage. One by one, the exit a fortress-like building on the Yale University campus and no one knows whether each one will live or die. Very little, in fact, is known about who is directing this horrific scenario unfolding which has even the best criminal officers and investigators stymied. What becomes quickly clear is that this monster killer doesn't want money or any other such expected commodity that can be bargained for the lives of a group of America's most promising students.

    Sam Purdy, a suspended Boulder City, Colorado police detective; Deirdre Drake, a CIA analyst; Christopher Poe, an FBI counter-terrorism agent; and Christine Carmody, a New Haven Police negotiator spend hours trying to figure out the siege increasing in intensity because no one can predict who will live and who will die. Their questions and speculations parallel that of the other multiple law enforcement officials swarming outside the building holding the Yale secret society initiates and members.

    It's a wild, tension-packed account that never wanes right up to the very last page. It also turns out that a similar event has scarred Agent Poe in a way that frequently comes close to totally debilitating him - posttraumatic syndrome at its most powerful and horrendous level. Each parent of the hostage students has something to bargain with as the stakes begin to become obvious. Will they be strong enough to stay quiet and submit to the demands of the terrorist or contact officials and thereby lose everything?

    The Siege is a tautly written, well-researched and realistic novel of a reality that could possibly be the next face of the evolving War of Terror on a local and/or global scale. One wants to pull away from this nightmarish scenario but is compelled to keep reading, having vicariously become part of the lives of these credible and amazing characters!

    Superbly done, Stephen White!

    Reviewed by Viviane Crystal on August 29, 2009

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2009

    Great Thriller!

    What a page turner! Great book even with Dr. Alan Gregory getting a break from the action! I could not put this down until I finished it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    Loved it!

    An amazing thriller, I couldn't put it down. Best read in a long, long time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    brilliant super hostage thriller

    At Yale University, a group serendipitously assaults a building housing a secret society. The assault team easily takes over the edifice holding a number of students who include some offspring of VIPs as prisoners. The invaders turn the complex into an impregnable stronghold.

    Slowly Yale officials realize something has happened on the campus. They call in law enforcement who tries to make contact with the hostage holders. However, those in charge inside make no demands what so ever and ignore efforts to negotiate with them. They randomly murder some of the victims and release others for no apparent reason. Suspended Boulder, Colorado police officer Sam Purdy, FBI agent Christopher Poe and CIA terror expert Deirdre Drake unite trying to break the enigmatic code of the terrorists.

    This is a brilliant super hostage thriller that makes the case that terrorists learn lessons from each assault making the next one more efficient and perhaps effective; unless the countering law enforcement also learns by extrapolating from the current attack to prevent the next. Fans will be hooked from the moment the assault team takes over the building and wonder what they want and how they choose who dies. THE SIEGE is a terrific timely thriller that reminds the audience diligence is everyone's job whether it is knowing a lone wolf is going to mete justice to an abortion doctor or a group burning down a religious facility as everyone is under siege when we remain silent until after the incident and claim non me culpa

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2