BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sifted: God's Scandalous Response to Satan's Outrageous Demand

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    How to deal with adversity when life throws you a curve ball!

    A Biblical encounter that will first challenge you, then comfort you, then leave you changed.

    Discouraged by life's difficulties - both the life-shifting catastrophes and the drip-drip-drip of your daily troubles? Dissatisfied with the same old pat answers about God's role in our hard times? Rick Lawrence takes you on a surprising - even dangerous - journey into the deepest recesses of God's heart toward us. To get there, he drills deep into the single Scripture snapshot (Luke 22:31-32). Jesus tells Peter he's about to be "sifted like wheat" - shaken hard, beaten, and pitched into despair until he's separated from the person he always thought he was.

    Satan's going to do it. And Jesus is going to allow it. But why? Jesus makes no mistakes with His metaphors, and sifting offers a brutally honest picture of God's goodness at work on behalf of our freedom. Sifted is a rigorously honest, deeply challenging, yet powerful redemptive exploration of the trials that beat us down, the good God who allows them, and the incredible beauty sifting can reveal in us.

    I received the book, Sifted by Rick Lawrence, compliments of B & B Media Group for my honest review and for some reason, came at just the right opportunity for our family to use this as a study into what is meant by being sifted, what the purpose is in our life and how we can become better Christians in spite of the process.

    Rick Lawrence uses many real life examples to illustrate how the sifting process works. One such example is the death of Steve Curtis Chapman's daughter, who was killed in an accident by one of his sons backing out of the driveway and hitting the small girl. In the midst of this time, the Chapmans underwent their own "sifting process" and what came out the other side has not only helped them in their grieving process but also helped others by watching how they weathered that storm.

    This helps us to explain the question "why" even though during the process we can't always see the benefits of what things happen to us but this book helps the reader weather the time that passes and enables them to help others through life's "sifting" process of their own. I rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars and think everyone should have a copy in their home.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    A God send

    The content in this book has made a refining, sifting season in my life understandable, Gods love for me more apparent, and satans motives more transparent. I pray that Rick and his family are blessed and that they continue to allow the Lord to use them to help bring souls to Christ and feed his sheep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Recommended

    This book takes an in depth look at a section of scripture and how it can help us live our lives today. This book was an interesting read and gives you something to think about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Recommend

    Book takes an in depth look at a passage of scripture and how it can be applied to our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Thought provoking.

    Made you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Sifted: A Book about God's Unfailing Love

    For anyone who has questioned the caring of God, the sanctity of trials, or simply why life can get beyond difficult, Rick Lawrence has written you a book.

    "Sifted," is truly a book for anyone who would call themselves, "a disciple," of Jesus. In a final interaction with Peter, Jesus Christ looks him in the eye and declares in Luke 22:31 and 32: "Simon, Simon, Satan has asked to sift all of you as wheat. But I have prayed for you, Simon, that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers." Rick Lawrence would contend that at that moment the Lord spoke through Peter to all of his followers to come. Within the book each portion of the statement is pulled and stretched throughout seven chapters to explain how this relates to each of us. Using personal stories, quotes and metaphors, the book paints a powerful brushstroke of how each of us is turned from ugliness to beauty. As Rick puts it, "Beaten. Separated. Revealed." We are challenged to comprehend that a loving God, would want so desperately for us to be whole, that he might allow, the "bad stuff" in life to transform each from merely "Simon," to "Peter" the rock. We start with understanding that the Lord calls each of us by a name that he only knows, and through each chapter are brought on a journey of comprehending to understand God in the midst of our personal chaos. More accurately, we are asked the question, "Could this be for our own good?" This is a book that has impacted me deeply and personally. I was reminded that the Bible is not a place of stories, but where I am able to immerse myself in God's story. For once we understand our own "sifting," we come to see that the Lord never left us in the midst of it all. In the depth of God's grace, through our trials, like Peter we are transformed into a force to be reckoned with. Well written, from a powerfully, personal viewpoint, this is a challenging read. Not everyone may agree with the conclusions that are drawn. A hard case that God allows Satan to stretch us, is one of the main arguments he make. While the cause and effect of our own sin is addressed, it is not the crux of Rick's journey into his soul. Instead could it be that Christ actually has a purpose and a plan in our hurts as well as our triumphs? This is not the cotton candy plan of fairy tales, but one upon which legends are born. A book for anyone who is trapped in the chaos of misunderstanding the Lord, this is not a light read. Instead it is one that you allow to enter your soul, and mull over for awhile. For any of us grappling with a life that feels to heavy, this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    A Must Read For The Body Of Christ!

    " Simon, Simon, Satan has asked to sift you as wheat, but I have prayed for you, Simon, that your faith may not fail, and when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers." ~ Jesus in Luke 22:31-32

    Satan had asked God, as he did of Job, to sift him, grind him, beat him down, in an effort to get him to turn his back and reject God. Have you felt this way during low points of your life? Maybe you are in the middle of a sifting.

    Sifted by Rick Lawrence is an in depth study of these two verses. Jesus, the author reminds the reader, was sifted more than any person on earth. The more we become like Jesus, the more we will be open to similar siftings. Satan has the audacity to think that he has a chance to take our salvation and does everything in his power to cause us to give up our faith and walk with our Lord. He thought so back in Eden, and nothing has changed.

    Rick Lawrence offers insight, comfort, challenge, and a call to a deeper unity with the Lord. He also calls us to stop judging those who are experiencing hardships. If you are facing hardships, this book will encourage you. If you need comfort and understanding to respond correctly during these trials, read this powerful book.

    "Only those who have been sifted like wheat,.have the clarity to proclaim that, in truth, they love God - unconditionally - the same strain of love that saved them in the first place. The same love that wells up in the Vine and courses into the branch that was dying. And when the cost of loving Him turns out to be our very lives, the beaten, separated, and revealed discover yet another kindred intimacy with Peter. " ~ Rick Lawrence

    Rick Lawrence is the long-time editor of GROUP magazine and co-leader of the Simply Youth Ministry Conference. He also speaks frequently for conferences and workshops, consults for national research organizations, and publishes prolifically-with 31 books (authored, coauthored or edited), hundreds of articles, and a small-group curriculum to his credit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1