Customer Reviews for

The Sight

Average Rating 4.5
( 341 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(275)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

one of the best

I just bought this book a wighle back ,mainly because i saw a wolf on the front cover and i love anything to do with wolfs. as i started reading it got better and better i cudent belive how intising the book was. i just barly foud out about the next book 'fell' and i ca...
I just bought this book a wighle back ,mainly because i saw a wolf on the front cover and i love anything to do with wolfs. as i started reading it got better and better i cudent belive how intising the book was. i just barly foud out about the next book 'fell' and i cant wait to get that one and start reading it. all i can say is if your looking for a good book with a hooking plotline and a i just kant let go of the book i would sugest the book

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not what I look for in a book

Like I said this isn't what I look for in a book and I was very disappointed. I was so excited to read this book because its the kind of book IK love, animal adventure/fantasy, but it turned out to be a let down. I believe there are two 'alities' in the world: realit...
Like I said this isn't what I look for in a book and I was very disappointed. I was so excited to read this book because its the kind of book IK love, animal adventure/fantasy, but it turned out to be a let down. I believe there are two 'alities' in the world: reality and what I call bookality. Now bookality shares some of the things that reality has death, despair, and other negative real life things but there is a big difference between the two. Most of the time reality sucks and is not like what you see in movies, bookality is more like movies. There is conflict and sadness through the main part but when it is all said and done you are left with a happy uplifting ending. The Sight was much different. The Sight was too much like reality. Almost all the characters died, which I don't mind throughout the book, but to have the book end like that is not what I like. The ending was much too depressing and I did not like that at all. Now the author was very descriptive, used brilliant language, and kept the story going. I was always very hooked on the story and couldn't put it down. That's why I gave it two stars instead of one. If you like animal fantasies/adventure novels and don't mind depressing endings it is a very good book and you would like it. If you are like me and can't stand terribly sad endings stay away!

posted by Anonymous on November 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 341 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    one of the best

    I just bought this book a wighle back ,mainly because i saw a wolf on the front cover and i love anything to do with wolfs. as i started reading it got better and better i cudent belive how intising the book was. i just barly foud out about the next book 'fell' and i cant wait to get that one and start reading it. all i can say is if your looking for a good book with a hooking plotline and a i just kant let go of the book i would sugest the book

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Heartbreaking, Intense and Eye Opening

    This book is a heartbreaking, uplifting, and breathtaking story of family, love, treachery, magic and legend.

    I first read and purchased this book when it first came out, looking for a good read, and this book satisfied that need- to the tune of being read at least twice a year. It never fails to be a good read, break my heart, or leave me breathless.

    Clement-Davies certainly did his research on the history, legends and lore of ancient Romania, and he overdid himself on his research of the familial ties of wolf packs- the characters are fantastically feral and untamed, but their characterizations, relationships, fears, secrets and dreams make them resonate with the reader.

    The plot moves smoothly, making it an easy read- it's harder to put it down! It sucks you in and when you force yourself to pull out, it leaves you winded.

    Despite having a hold on someone my age (25), the writing is clean and easy to understand for younger audiences, and has a message of love, hope and a connection that ties the world together. This story made me cry the first time I read it, and it still makes me tear up every time. This book is amazing and everyone should have a copy on their shelf- I do, and it's a lovingly worn, dog eared copy that has seen much reading on rainy nights and sunny days.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A View into the Wild

    There may be many books about wolves out there, but none of them are quite like the Sight. This book gives a very detailed view into religion, death and the effects of humans on enviornment, but still somehow manages to remain a rather light read. I would reccomend this book to anyone of any age who wants to get a different view on life or just wants a great read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Book Worth Reading

    The Sight is truely David Clemente-Davies masterpiece. It is an intricate tale of love, death, family, lore, and the ways of nature. The detail is outstanding and paints a perfect picture in the reader's mind. Aside from that,the story, although a little complicated, is a mixture of real fears, and fears of the fantastic variaty (such as curses, and the sight itself.) I would recomend this book to those who enjoy a good read, but also have the time to read (as this is a thick book). It is probably best to be read by tweens to young adults. I would also recomend this to readers of the fantasy genre.
    It is overall better than it's sequel, Fell, and has a better story line than books such as twilight. Even though this is a fantasy, it is still filled with realistic situations in the wild. It is a very unique style of fantasy, jam packed with the real facts, including pack life, the humans at the time, and Romania overall. It is apparent that Clemente-Davies did his research and then some. This is by far one of his greatest pieces of work. Wonderfully done David Clemente-Davies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    heartbreaking masterpiece.

    When I first started reading The Sight, I wasn't quite sure about it, but soon enough, I was completely hooked and wrapped up in the story. It is a great book with wonderful insight into the world of wolves.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    Fabulous!

    This book is part of a ongoing series and is very fascinating! It is a fabulous book and is full of adventure and action. It goes into old wolf lore and is fun to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Amonymous

    I was only 10 and was probably a little young to read this but i hava higher reading level for someone my age so here was my insight on this book:
    AWESOME!!!!! TOP 10 FAVS for sure! This book is emotionally gripping and if u liked this one you need to read FELL, the next book. I read both and felt that the number one thing to get out of these books is complete self-satisfaction because wow this author has the talent of being able to entertain bored teens and young adults. Thank u for writing this mr.david. i love it!!!!! Now that im older i still wanna read it!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    AMAZING

    This was a good book. i enjoyed readinguu

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    IT TORE MY HEART OUT!!!!!!!!!!!

    I CRIED WHILE READING!just a unforgetable heart wrenching story fell made me cry as well anything and everything you need to know about life is in the sight n fell.it truly is love sacrifice friendship family religon all the challenges are there. to me it throws everything in reverse it showed wisdom beyond comprehension. it shows truth on the inside and makes you wonder....in comparison.....we humans are more animalistic....the animals more human than ourselves

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Sight

    This is an amazing book! Thrilling, full of excitement an mystery, and VERY addicting. It keeps you on the edge of your seat until the very last page, and even then you want to keep reading more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Sight

    The Sight is an amazing book and one of the best books I've ever read.Once you start reading it you won't be able to stop.Trust me, you will love this book!That is if your an animal lover.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One Of My Favorite Books!

    The Sight was a book that kept me reading for more. It brought tears to my eyes at points yet it touched my heart. Important lessons in life can be learned throughout many of the characters. Good for a school project or just as a fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is an AWESOME BOOK! ROCK ON Davy!

    At first when I bought The Sight, I just had it lyng around. I had read the synopsis and I thought it was a "childish fantasy novel." HUMPH!!! CHILDISH FANTASY NOVEL MY GUTS! It was an amazing book. Perplexing, Thrilling, and all that other good stuff. It had powerful characters, astonishing settings, great dialogues, a powerful plot, and more, MORE, MORE!!!! Anyway, I haven't read Fire Bringer or Fell yet, but I really am looking forward to! I highly recommend this book to people that love Wolves, strong Fantasy novels, and those that don't.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    The best book I ever read

    The Sight was one of the best books i ever read and is now definately my favorite series. I got this book at Barnes and Nobles because I love animals, fantasies, and mysteries. This book seemed perfect for me and it was ' especially since wolves are my favorite animals '. This book is the best and if you ask me if you haven't read it yet then you have no idea what you're missing:'':

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    Great Book

    Well I read this book when i was 8th grade which was like 2 months ago. Back then people would only read books that gave you A.R. point. This was because of the Accelerated Reading program our school has. Although i just had enough points to pass i still read books off the list. For example this was one of those great books i read during the year. People would ask me why i still read and i told them that i had a what you could say a passion for it. Another thing is after break 'which is ten minutes' we have have something called d.e.a.r. 'drop everything and read' We would go to our third period class and just read for 30 minutes. So i would always be tortured after d.e.a.r. since the wait of after school to read. I would never look at the clock in fear that it would hit the thirty minute mark. I look forward to reading the sequel Fell.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    Not what I look for in a book

    Like I said this isn't what I look for in a book and I was very disappointed. I was so excited to read this book because its the kind of book IK love, animal adventure/fantasy, but it turned out to be a let down. I believe there are two 'alities' in the world: reality and what I call bookality. Now bookality shares some of the things that reality has death, despair, and other negative real life things but there is a big difference between the two. Most of the time reality sucks and is not like what you see in movies, bookality is more like movies. There is conflict and sadness through the main part but when it is all said and done you are left with a happy uplifting ending. The Sight was much different. The Sight was too much like reality. Almost all the characters died, which I don't mind throughout the book, but to have the book end like that is not what I like. The ending was much too depressing and I did not like that at all. Now the author was very descriptive, used brilliant language, and kept the story going. I was always very hooked on the story and couldn't put it down. That's why I gave it two stars instead of one. If you like animal fantasies/adventure novels and don't mind depressing endings it is a very good book and you would like it. If you are like me and can't stand terribly sad endings stay away!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2002

    Awsome animals!

    I loved it! It had a great ending and it was not expected. I hope he writes a sequal. Larka was a wonderful wolf in the book. Possibly my favorite story. It has a great hidden message also!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding masterpiece! This book is absolutely fantastic. It's

    Outstanding masterpiece! This book is absolutely fantastic. It's one of my favorite genres, has just the right
    amount of drama, and I LOVE wolves. It's like a recipe that's made of paper. Its plot was wonderfully done, and
    if it were a movie, I would watch it over and over. I greatly recommend this phenomenal treasure to my fellow
    wolf-lovers and fans of adventure, wonder, and nature. I read this book more than 5 times, and each time it's
    just as good as the first. You rock, David Clement-Davies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    A really good story that combines some realistic elements of the

    A really good story that combines some realistic elements of the wolf with a fantasy type story. A really good book for anyone that likes wolves and animal adventure stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    ummmm

    I think the author forgot what he was writing about and where he was going. On mutable occasions...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 341 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18