Customer Reviews for

A Sight for Sore Eyes

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

WOW!

This book was very entertaining. It was easier to follow the plot than many of Ms Rendell's novels. It reminded me of a Hitchcock movie, with dark unexpected twists, characters being undone by their own psychologic drawbacks. All of the characters in this novel are fla...
This book was very entertaining. It was easier to follow the plot than many of Ms Rendell's novels. It reminded me of a Hitchcock movie, with dark unexpected twists, characters being undone by their own psychologic drawbacks. All of the characters in this novel are flawed. Ms Rendell connects them in bleak and surprising ways. Enjoy.

posted by 8571168 on February 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

My second Rendell read

This book was my second venture into Ruth Rendell's books. I had just finished The Water's Lovely and wanted to keep going with her writing. This book was good, but not quite as captivating. I do enjoy her ability to establish several distinct characters and I find that...
This book was my second venture into Ruth Rendell's books. I had just finished The Water's Lovely and wanted to keep going with her writing. This book was good, but not quite as captivating. I do enjoy her ability to establish several distinct characters and I find that I invest in each of them while reading. As with The Water's Lovely, the writing style is not my favorite (please stop ending sentences with prepositions) and I had to stop several times to reread sentences in order to grasp the tone. But other than that I will continue to read her books.

posted by 2681245 on November 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    WOW!

    This book was very entertaining. It was easier to follow the plot than many of Ms Rendell's novels. It reminded me of a Hitchcock movie, with dark unexpected twists, characters being undone by their own psychologic drawbacks. All of the characters in this novel are flawed. Ms Rendell connects them in bleak and surprising ways. Enjoy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    I'd never heard of Ruth Rendell before until I read 'The Water's Lovely' and decided I wanted to read some more of her books. What a surprise to find my local library had several in both the general fiction and mystery sections. I found this novel a little slow getting into, partly because there was so little dialogue. However, once the author started to bring the three separate characters together, the suspense began to build. In one corner you have a neglected child who grows into a maladjusted psychopathic young man. In another corner you have a sheltered naive young woman. And in yet another corner, you have a woman who has relied on her looks her entire life and now finds that age is slowly taking away the only asset she ever cared to think about. When their lives begin to cross paths, true danger lurks and I found myself having difficulty putting the book down as the end drew near. Rendell does an excellent job of increasing the pace of the story by jumping from one scene to the other with greater and greater frequency as you near the climatic end. Definitely a worthwhile read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2000

    A Book for Sore Readers...

    Ruth Rendell has truly outdone herself yet again. She is the Anne Tyler of intrigue and keeps her readers spellbound until the last word. Rendell is a 20th century Moliere, though not so absurd as to be comedic...instead plaintive, picking the wonders of humanity and weaving them into her tapestry-like plot. Rendell is proof that literature still exists in our society, that semantic enjoyment is not belittled to sex, drugs, and Stephen King gore. Thank you, Ms. Rendell, from this English major who still tries to find great writing in a world of trade romance paperbacks.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2000

    great book

    what a great book-I couldn't put it down--It is a book that I won't forget for a long time. Now I want to read all her other books.This would make a great movie. Such a web she weaves and I don't think anyone could possibly guess the ending? Terrific!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2014

    Boring, tedious and predictable. This was one of the worst books

    Boring, tedious and predictable. This was one of the worst books I've ever picked up. There was no mystery - you knew who the bad guy was going to be from the first. Nothing happened until page 61, and then nothing continued to happen. A real dud. Very disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Nicely plotted

    I really appreciate Rendell's stand-alone novels, based on having read about half a dozen. I'm not as enthused about her series works for some reason. The stand-alones have always caught me by surprise just when I think I know where they are going. Yet she plays fair and in retrospect I can see how she had foreshadowed things so skillfully. I do wish there were occasionally a character I could really pull for, the truth is I really didn't like anyone in the book. This is another excellent effort by a master.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    My second Rendell read

    This book was my second venture into Ruth Rendell's books. I had just finished The Water's Lovely and wanted to keep going with her writing. This book was good, but not quite as captivating. I do enjoy her ability to establish several distinct characters and I find that I invest in each of them while reading. As with The Water's Lovely, the writing style is not my favorite (please stop ending sentences with prepositions) and I had to stop several times to reread sentences in order to grasp the tone. But other than that I will continue to read her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    WOW this was a great read

    This was a fascinating, most enjoyable read. I didn't want to put it down. It sucked me in and I got lost in that creepy, sad, twisty world. HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2000

    SUPERB & SUSPENSFUL

    Rich, lush descriptions of the characters and their emotions. This one can keep you up all night...if you're willing to skip the stunning psychological insights by Ruth Rendell and just follow the story line.Key character Teddy Brex is obviously an autistic artist...on the brink of becoming a serial killer. During certain passages...I was breathless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2001

    puzzled

    A great novel but I am baffled by something. Regarding the bank pin number. How does La Punaise become 4162? Help!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1