Customer Reviews for

The Sign

Average Rating 3
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Excellent and Informative

Every once in awhile a book of fiction combined with nonfiction theories hits the market as a thriller that keeps the reader riveted to the end. The only drawback to this story was the author's obvious animosity to anything connected to religion- all religions. Also his...
Every once in awhile a book of fiction combined with nonfiction theories hits the market as a thriller that keeps the reader riveted to the end. The only drawback to this story was the author's obvious animosity to anything connected to religion- all religions. Also his belief in a man made global warming is way off the mark. The recent geological activities with volcanoes, earthquakes, and tsunamis should be called natural global changes- not man-made global warming. Other than that he writes a very good read.

posted by Marktwenty on April 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Huge Disappointment

I've read Raymond Khoury's work in the past and enjoyed it; however this novel not only didn't live up to his past work, it was downright irritating to read. If you happen to be a super-far-left Marxist type Socialist you might enjoy this predictable story. I was not ...
I've read Raymond Khoury's work in the past and enjoyed it; however this novel not only didn't live up to his past work, it was downright irritating to read. If you happen to be a super-far-left Marxist type Socialist you might enjoy this predictable story. I was not only angered that Mr. Khoury uses the "ANYTHING (even if it's amoral or unethical) is OK as long as it meets leftist political agendas" to justify character behaviors. Truly, the character's solution at the end of the book is not the path of truth and honor, but LITERALLY "We're going to lie because it meets leftist standards and we don't want the right gaining political power." It's blatent. Mr. Khoury also has an addendum to his novel that is a many-page discourse on how awful President Bush was (get over it - he's out of office), a tired, old, has-been argument. The worst part of all this bashing of the political right in the US is that Mr. Khoury lives in the UK. Bush was never HIS president and this is not his country, and as a proud American I was greatly offended to read Khoury's nasty commentary. Just to be clear, I am NOT a Republican, never have been, and never will be. I simply have no patience or respect for lame, worn-out garbage that refuses to acknowledge there are good and honest people on all political fronts (not just left and right). Mr. Khoury, I will NEVER purchase another book of yours - I refuse to put a penny in your pocket.

posted by laurak122 on May 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Disappointing

    His books are normally worth a light summer read, but this one leaves much to be desired. Getting his politics as the major part of the story line does not do the story any credit nor does the story give any credit to his strident political views.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    Here WeGo Again

    A fairly good read-only Khoury should be getting paid by DNC, or at least re elect Obama committee-"climate"opinions aside, it's not the worst book out there it could have been better with less kowtowing to present administration.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Personal political opinion novel unsuccessfully disguised as a thriller.

    The first novel by this author was compelling and suspensful this is not the case with this novel. The plot of the book is not immeadeatly clear and when it does become clear it is evident that the author is using the book to express his views on global warming and religon and trying and failing at disguising it at a thriller. The book is insulting to anyone who doesn't share the opions expressed in the book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Expected too much

    I did not enjoy this book as much as I had hoped. I suppose my expectations were too great since reading "The Last Templar".

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    disappointing

    It begins with the appearance of 'the sign' a mysterious glowing apparition in the Antarctica. I thought form that I would enjoy a great thriller, but this is not the case with this book. The plot is thin; the characters are not developed and the book is more or less and avenue in expressing the author's political and religious views. I expected more and got less. I do not recommend "The Sign" for anyone looking for a good thriller or mystery to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Angry and humorless

    The basic idea behind this story was slightly better presented by Douglas Preston in Blasphemy. The problem with this story is not its anti-religious themes. I don't disagree with Khoury's perspective but unfortunately it comes across less as entertaining fiction and more like an angry airing of grievances about the state of affairs. There is plenty of humor and irony that could have been brought out but Khoury seemed to find none and takes his grievances much too seriously. The writing lacks the wit and humor that might have brought fresh perspective to a valid but now stale tale of woes. As a result of several rants, the story loses much of its entertainment value and his message is short-changed by the lack of objectivity. The one point it does manage to get across is that science-based extremist philosophy is just as dangerous as its religious counterpart.

    It doesn't help that the characters are weak and cartoonish and the circumstances lack credibility. Matt has far too much success against trained mercenaries and his background doesn't properly establish why this would be the case.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    An insult to people of Faith

    Raymond Khoury was a new author for me and The Sign was the first of his books, so I had high hopes. However, as the book progressed, I found that he was aggressively negative about religion and Christianity, in particular. I have read books that were negative toward religion however this was different this was more of an open attack. Not only was he very verbal about his disdain of pastors and his dislike of churches, he even used the real name of a well known Christian ministry which I thought was in poor taste considering this is supposed to be a fiction novel.
    Throughout the book he continues to blame religion for much of the world's problems. Sadly, he is mistaken in believing that religion is responsible for the world's woes. He is also wrong in believing that if we could only do away with the old, archaic, religious thought, we would have a better world. Mr. Khoury must not be aware that this has been tried, and more than two hundred million people have died over the last three centuries because of the godless philosophy of many past and present world dictators.
    Worse, yet, was his duplicity. While he was criticizing people of faith for their attitude and what they believe, his hero characters were planning on deceiving and lying to the world in order to protect their liberal philosophy and keep the religious folks out of the White House. Yes, he really did say that. Not only did he champion this dishonest behavior, he made it clear how terrible and destructive society would be if the Christians were, again, able to regain influence in politics and put a Christian in the White House. Since we do not have a Christian in the White House at present we are able to see for ourselves the deceit the liberals bring with them.
    I know this review sounds unbelievable but, believe me, it's true. As a Christian, I enjoy reading all kinds of books; even those that are critical to my faith. But in an adventure novel, I would hope that this kind of Christian bashing would be avoided.
    The message Mr. Khoury preaches at the close of the book makes it clear he believes the world needs a new worldview; one that can only come with a new understanding, a more enlightened and up to date understanding of God. However, that would only bring a new set of problems for the world to interpret. It's not a new set of rules that is needed, but a faithful living of the ones God has already given us.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    I guess I should have paid attention to the other reviews, but I

    I guess I should have paid attention to the other reviews, but I read this because I've enjoyed his past novels so much. Khoury lets his viewpoint overload his story, leaving just a really bad book. I'll think carefully before buying another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1