Customer Reviews for

The Sign of the Beaver

Average Rating 4
( 324 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(188)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

15 years later, this book stuck with me.

I read this book in the fifth grade. I've since moved on to middle school, high school, college, and now I'm working on my PhD. This book stuck with me as one of the highlights of the fifth grade. I absolutely loved it at the time, and I'm buying a copy now so I can ...
I read this book in the fifth grade. I've since moved on to middle school, high school, college, and now I'm working on my PhD. This book stuck with me as one of the highlights of the fifth grade. I absolutely loved it at the time, and I'm buying a copy now so I can read it over and over again. Matt and Attean's relationship was interesting, and I'm sure that and the cultural diversity aspect was why they made us read it, but most of all I loved the survival aspect of it. I thought it was awesome to see how the Native Americans lived and survived day to day and some of the clever things they did to get by. Even though it is fiction, it's realistic historical fiction, but not the boring kind. I really liked and identified with Matt too (even though I'm female) and he was remembered years later as someone I admired. This book was really fun to read, and I would recommend it to anyone, young or old.

posted by boomer87 on December 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

So faf? So far....

I am on only ch 6 but it pretty good i a.m readibg it in fifth gr

posted by Anonymous on May 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 325 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    15 years later, this book stuck with me.

    I read this book in the fifth grade. I've since moved on to middle school, high school, college, and now I'm working on my PhD. This book stuck with me as one of the highlights of the fifth grade. I absolutely loved it at the time, and I'm buying a copy now so I can read it over and over again. Matt and Attean's relationship was interesting, and I'm sure that and the cultural diversity aspect was why they made us read it, but most of all I loved the survival aspect of it. I thought it was awesome to see how the Native Americans lived and survived day to day and some of the clever things they did to get by. Even though it is fiction, it's realistic historical fiction, but not the boring kind. I really liked and identified with Matt too (even though I'm female) and he was remembered years later as someone I admired. This book was really fun to read, and I would recommend it to anyone, young or old.

    34 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Encourage a student to read this book

    I have used this book for many years in my 4th grade reading class. It is seldom a book they will pick up on their own, but after the first chapter they are hooked and they love it. We have amazing dicusssions about friendship and trust. This book is a great story of a developing friendship between a Native American boy and a settler boy. The settler boy, Matt is left alone in the wilderness and only survives with the help of Attean, a Navie American boy. Several parents also read this book along with us, and they always surprised by how much they like it as well. Due to a early publishing date, words like "squaw" are used that I don't really encourage, but that is about the only thing I don't like about this story. A students should be a proficient reader to read it independently. Elizabeth George Speare deserves the awards she has won for this book and others. For older readers, The Witch of Blackbird Pond is also terrific.

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Amazing!

    I just finished the book and it was amazing! The day my class finished the book, the teacher gave us a "essay" about which was our favorite book, Esperanza Rising or Sign of the Beaver, and of course, Sign of the Beaver!

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Best ever love it you read it!!!

    The best book ever !!!!!!!!i loved it and my sisters class read it so good but I did not like the movie

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Love the book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!&L-O-L$$$$$$$¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿^¿???????????????

    Cool





    8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Awsome

    This is one of the best books I have read

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    read this book in the fifth grade. I've since moved on to middl

    read this book in the fifth grade. I've since moved on to middle school, high school, college, and now I'm working on my PhD. This book stuck with me as one of the highlights of the fifth grade. I absolutely loved it at the time, and I'm buying a copy now so I can read it over and over again. Matt and Attean's relationship was interesting, and I'm sure that and the cultural diversity aspect was why they made us read it, but most of all I loved the survival aspect of it.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    January 4 ,2013

    Amazing

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Awesome

    Have to read!

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Great

    Great

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    AWESOME!!!

    Gives interesting facts about indians. P.S. "my social studies teacher goes crazy over them"

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Interesting

    Kinda good but if they added more specific examples as i a common nine year old would like to see here so writing a book report would be more simple

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Awesome

    This a awesome book i am reading.It's for school i recamenad

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Awesome

    I am reading this for school and I am only on chapter 2 and it is really good!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good book for school readings

    My son really enjoyed this book.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    WOW!!!!

    I thought this was going to be a boring book about Pioneer Life but it wasn't! We read it in class and I know if the teacher hadn't made us read it I would have missed out on a lot

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    This book is awsome

    I love this book my teacher read it to me at school once.it took a long time to readbut it was worth it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Awesome

    One of the best books ever just hoped that attean did not leave matt

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Hrat Great

    I am reading this bo for school and it is really good. At first i thought it would be boring but it is amazing. The friendship beween matt and attean is inncredible

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Pretty good

    Wouldn't read it myself. I had to read it 5th grade. Actually pretty good. Gets better around chapter 4.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 325 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17