Customer Reviews for

The Sign of the Beaver

Average Rating 4
( 337 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(197)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

15 years later, this book stuck with me.

I read this book in the fifth grade. I've since moved on to middle school, high school, college, and now I'm working on my PhD. This book stuck with me as one of the highlights of the fifth grade. I absolutely loved it at the time, and I'm buying a copy now so I can ...
I read this book in the fifth grade. I've since moved on to middle school, high school, college, and now I'm working on my PhD. This book stuck with me as one of the highlights of the fifth grade. I absolutely loved it at the time, and I'm buying a copy now so I can read it over and over again. Matt and Attean's relationship was interesting, and I'm sure that and the cultural diversity aspect was why they made us read it, but most of all I loved the survival aspect of it. I thought it was awesome to see how the Native Americans lived and survived day to day and some of the clever things they did to get by. Even though it is fiction, it's realistic historical fiction, but not the boring kind. I really liked and identified with Matt too (even though I'm female) and he was remembered years later as someone I admired. This book was really fun to read, and I would recommend it to anyone, young or old.

posted by boomer87 on December 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Interesting and new

This book was different. I liked it because it did draw you in to some ponits. It taught me alot about the wilderness, history, and a different launguage. This book gives a lesson that no matter what religion, color skin, or country of origin, any person can be friends ...
This book was different. I liked it because it did draw you in to some ponits. It taught me alot about the wilderness, history, and a different launguage. This book gives a lesson that no matter what religion, color skin, or country of origin, any person can be friends with the most unlikely people.

posted by Avid_Reader101 on February 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    BAD

    Worst book ever i dont know if i just didnt like the topic or something but i just didnt find it very interesting at all
    Also i am 11 so that also might be a reason why i dint like it that much

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    It stinks!

    Just the worst book ever not entertaining at all!

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    "This book is an Okay book try to read it"

    This is a great book but I was not that impressed. The story is about a young boy named Matt. Matt's father has to leave him in the woods until he returns with the rest of the family. The family has to leave there because there is a deadly disease called typhus and it is spreading and they do not want to catch it. While Matt is in the woods he meets this boy named Atean they start to get to know each other and become great friends throughout the story. But the problem with this book is that it is too sad. All it needs to me is a lot excitement. But it was really interesting and depressing all at the same time. But you should still check out the book and see if you like it. Great job Elizabeth George Speare. Personally I recommend this book to people who like the outdoors.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    boring

    its so boring that i fell asleep reading it

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Terribl Terrible

    Read at school

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Absalutly horrible do not read!!!!!

    Thumbs down rate? -59

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Kyle

    Wha took u so long kyle

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Hi

    Hi LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOOOOOOOLLLLLLLLLLOOOOOOOOOLLLLLLLLL

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Stupid book report

    Because of this supid book i had to do a report on it
    Damn whatever dreck approves of this sad excuse for a novel!

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Bad

    Yea

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Bad

    Worst book ever

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    SUCKER+BOOK

    A+waste+of+money+on+the+extreme-+HORRIBLE%21%21%21%21

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    the book

    a good book but I hated it beacause the baby does not make it.but is a good book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    the book

    i did not enjoy it.it was dumb

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    Best book ever !!!!!!

    I would recomend this book would be for 5-13years old and I like this book because this is the part of the book were Matt gets chaced by some bees and the bees chaced Matt to a ledge and Matt fell off of big hill and landed into a lake and he went to go under to get away and when he tride to swim back up but there was a bad pain in his leg and he tride to get it off and he sinks.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    I dont like it

    i thought it really stunk. it was a little weird and boring. all of my past summer reading books were wilderness so i have some what you would call 'experince'.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2006

    Sign of the Beaver

    I thought the sign of the beaver book that I read was an average book. It was not the best book ever. It was kind of boring. I thought there was not so much fun in the book. How ever it was kind of exiting because I liked the part where the main charter taught the Indian boy to read. Then the Indian boy taught the main charter many valuable skills.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2006

    Sign of the Beaver

    I would not recommend this book to other people. Well because it seems to boring because it has no sizzling words, no action, it¿s not that interesting, and it doesn¿t describe that much. Well that¿s why I wouldn¿t recommend this book to others.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2005

    did not really like it

    well it was quite boring and very lengthy. it is definitely a book for young boys not girls.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    BORING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

    it was horrible because it was so boring i would rate it a zero if i could. there is nothing interesting about it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2