BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Significance

Average Rating 4.5
( 294 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(212)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful start to a series.

I really enjoyed this book. The story is fantastic, the characters are great, and it moves at a great and sometimes fast pace. When I first started reading, I was a bit thrown off by the imprinting thing and thought. "Oh boy, here we go!", but I was pleasantly surprised...
I really enjoyed this book. The story is fantastic, the characters are great, and it moves at a great and sometimes fast pace. When I first started reading, I was a bit thrown off by the imprinting thing and thought. "Oh boy, here we go!", but I was pleasantly surprised about where the story went from there. It was much different than I initially thought. The only thing that I didn't like in fact, was the amount of errors in the book. There were a lot of them. Missing words, wrong words, etc. The good thing is, Shelly has written a great story that captured me, so I was able to overlook the errors in the book for the most part.

The characters are really great. Maggie is very likable and real. I really felt connected to her. You really get to know her well since the book is from her PoV. You get to know what she's thinking and what she's seeing. Then there's Caleb. *sigh* Totally sweet, and super swoon worthy. You get to know Caleb really well too, since they are soul mates. I wasn't bothered by the gushy instant love with them because that's the way it is supposed to be. I was bothered by Kyle though. Seriously! He just annoyed me to no end. I know that he is supposed to come across that way, but I really wanted to jump into the book and be like, "Dude, what is your problem!! She's Caleb's soul mate, don't be such a tool about it! She never would have wanted you anyways! Ughh!" Okay, so yeah, sorry about that. I loved the whole Jacobson family (minus Kyle) though. They are are really fun, friendly, and caring. The characters were written really well, and I loved getting to know them. I really did feel a connection with them.


There is a lot of things that Maggie has to learn, and honestly if it were me, I probably would have freaked. She takes everything relatively well, with only a few little breakdowns. I was worried that learning all about the life that Maggie now belongs to would feel like a major info dump, but it really didn't. You do find out a lot, but it seems like just the right amount so it's not overwhelming. Maggie knows that she will gain abilities now, and so do the Jacobson clans enemies. There has also not been an imprint in a very long time for any of the clans, and the Watson clan is super angry about it. They will try anything they can to get Maggie away from Caleb so they can't ascend. (that is what it is called when they get their abilities) There are some really tense situations, and I was really on edge and feeling Maggie and Caleb's pain when they were going through them.


This was a great book. The characters are wonderfully written, it has great ups and downs, and there were no spots that felt too slow or boring to me. I want more Maggie and Caleb. I could do without Kyle, but he's there for a reason, and hopefully we will get to know more about him. (No matter how much he bothers me.) There's something not right about that boy besides his intense jealously and malicious behavior. Significance held my interest all the way through, and I am interested to see where the story will go.

posted by Amabe421 on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Boring and repetitive

I thought that Maggie's background story was very interesting and realistic. Then she met Caleb and I thought, aw how sweet she deserves someone special. I thought the imprinting thing was alright but then the whole ability thing and "human, but not human" thing was ver...
I thought that Maggie's background story was very interesting and realistic. Then she met Caleb and I thought, aw how sweet she deserves someone special. I thought the imprinting thing was alright but then the whole ability thing and "human, but not human" thing was very cheesy and just plain corny. To me it seemed like some typical amateur writing. Not impressed nor did I enjoy it. Plus, the entire book was about I love you, but I just met you...stupid. Literally, there were pages on end that just endlessly described about how Maggie loved Caleb, but didn't know how it was possible, yada yada yada. Not to mention, I found lots of similar parts to this book to twilight. Imprinting, mind reading, special unique powers, soul mates?? Geez. I did not like this book and I don't even know how this book is a series....

posted by Bella-bookworm on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Ok

    I liked this book. Not as good as the other ones ive read but good. One thing that boothered me was maggie. I didnt like how she was so clueless about like everything. I HATED the fact that every freaking word in the story was all about maggie and caleb obsessing over each other. I know that they are soulmates and all but i just felt like the author had a billion ideas about how people fall in love with each other and slapped it ALL into one book. Every single word was like omg i love you dont not touch me for more than 2 seconds. There was so many love scenes(clean ones) that i got really overwhelmed. Then i got bored. Then i got really bored. Then i was crying for the dang book to end. No offense but thats how i really felt.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Tedious

    Finally finished it. It drug on and on. Tended toward boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Significance is the first book in Shelly Crane¿s Significance se

    Significance is the first book in Shelly Crane’s Significance series. Overall I liked it. It reminded me a great deal of Twilight: heroine is being raised by a single dad, all the supernaturals in the story look at the unconfident plain heroine in awe all the time, the male lead and his family are so protective over her, the supernatural element is secretive, there is conflict with a nearby supernatural clan, supernatural gifts, the similarities go on and on. There was some uniqueness that perked my interest. As noted in the synopsis, the story is about the main characters “imprinting” on each other. It’s described as each other’s souls seeing something in the other that they can’t live without. The couple are instantly drawn to each other and become mates, partners, companions, soul mates, the person they each will be with forever. Although “imprinting” is not a new concept in supernatural fiction, the focus in Significance was the unconditional love between the significants (the couple who imprinted on each other) and them being the only other person in the world able to calm the other. It is a beautiful thought really and I liked that this young-adult book encourages abstinence, life-long commitment, and connecting with someone in a powerful way. That alone is why I went from 2 stars (it’s ok) to 3 stars (I liked it). Also, there are some climactic moments that involved the rival clan which creates some fun suspense.

    My favorite quote:
    “You don’t love people for what they can give you. You don’t love them because of what they do for you or how good you make them look. Love is blind, love does not boast, love is not vain.”

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Hello

    Good flow in the writing. Story of a insecure depressed teenager meets confident darling man and of course the usual competitive other guys who can't resist her. This seems to be the theme for most of her books. This one has an interesting 350 page teenager type story to go with it. The ending is an abrupt cut-off.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Ok read

    I liked it but it kinda dragged for me? I seen potential maybe the next book will be more exciting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I liked this story. I¿d been looking for an insta-love story, bu

    I liked this story. I’d been looking for an insta-love story, but of the paranormal kind. I really liked this one.

    I really liked the premise of having a significant, who is your soul mate and your perfect match. In many stories now-a-days, when a person finds their “mate,” “true love,” or “soul mate” you get couples who try to fight it because they don’t want to be with that person, etc. and it annoys me. This is the person who you are meant to be with! But not here. Maggie and Caleb can’t stand to be apart from each other—quite literally, because otherwise they’re in pain.

    Maggie isn’t a stupid weakling, but she understands why Caleb is sometimes a bit protective of her and is smart enough to cooperate and listen. Caleb isn’t an over-protective caveman, he listens and he pays attention. Everything he does is for Maggie—she’s the only one that matters to him right now. Caleb is sensitive and listens and I really, really liked him for Maggie—they really complemented each other well.

    Kyle… Kyle annoyed me. A lot. I realize that this was probably what was supposed to happen with this character, but I just wanted to keep him away from Maggie for ever and ever. Seriously. He needs a slap upside the head.

    One thing that I really didn’t like in this story was Maggie’s father. His sudden recovery from being a bad father for a year is solved by seeing his daughter be with a boy she’s serious about? And then he acts like he cares and like he wasn’t a complete ass-hat for a whole freaking year but he forced Maggie to work her butt off in high school so she could pay for clothes and food! What? And then Maggie forgives him because she knew he was having problems?

    I had to stop reading for a bit. He is her father. He shouldn’t have been an ass for the past year and then “whoops, sorry, everything’s back to normal now.” I had a hard time accepting that.

    Once I got past his speedy recovery into fatherhood, I just tried to pretend like it never happened and that he was just a normal father. Once I did that, I was able to continue reading (though I did get really mad at him throughout the book). If I pretended like that whole year of ass-hattery didn’t happen, he was actually a good dad who cared about his daughter.

    Another character I didn’t like was Bish, Maggie’s brother. Where does he get off on acting like Maggie’s father? Finally, when Maggie’s father is on board and everything, now he decides he’s going to be telling Maggie what to do. No. Nope. Not happening. I understand he’s concerned about his sister, but maybe there is a reason her father and Caleb’s family isn’t worried. It’s 50-ish against one for a reason, jerk.

    (The ending, by the way, left me mad at Bish and Kyle, for many, many reasons.)

    Phew. Rant over.

    I loved the whole idea of this story. Having a significant, getting special powers, it was all amazing. I loved the two ‘clans’ and everything. Even with Maggie’s father and Bish, I still enjoyed this story and all of the obstacles Caleb and Maggie had to go through, and I liked the main characters immensely. I am looking forward to reading the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Meh..

    Everything seems to happen to fast in this book. After ten minutes she can feel him just hpenend to quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    At first I was very disappointed in this book, but I had boughte

    At first I was very disappointed in this book, but I had boughten the whole series at once so I continued to read the series. Significance the first book in the series has so many similarities to Twilight that I wondered if the author just rewrote Twilight as ace's instead of vampires.  I was iffy going into the second book, but as I read the book seemed to get better and better. Although, there were times i would notice more similarities to Twilight.  I continued to read the series, and I am so glad i did. Even though at times I felt like i was reading Twilight over again, it was a very good book. I definitely advise anyone who likes Twilight to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Fast read

    Fun book with some funny parts, nice love story with people you can like, some drama ...main charather gets kidnapped and her boyfriend has to save her is kind of slow and involves some physical abuse by her kidnappers...

    If your looking for something quick to read this might work for u

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1