Customer Reviews for

Signing Their Lives Away: The Fame and Misfortune of the Men Who Signed the Declaration of Independence

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    A Fascinating Read About The Signers of the Declaration of Independence!

    As a great fan of the musical "1776," finding a book that tells of the lives of these extraordinary (yet ordinary) men was a definite treasure. What I found most interesting was the information on those whose name was not as famous as Adams, Franklin, Hamilton or Jefferson. As a descendent of signers Roger Sherman and Stephen Hopkins, this book brings that short, but oh so important period of our history into focus.

    This is a must read for anyone who has interest in the founding of the United States!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    Fascinating Revolutionary Figures

    If you're looking for a fun and interesting book about the lives of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, then this one's for you. The authors share facts about the lives of these 56 men in a humorous and enlightning way. Well worth the brief but entertaining time it takes to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    great book and great cover design

    loved it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended for those interested in Early American History

    Sogning Their Lives Away and its companion volume Signing Their Rights Away by the same authors is an excellent addition to the shelf of anyone who is interested in Early American History and the later lives of those patriots who signed The Declaration of Independence and/or the Constitution ofthe United States. These short (in most cases) biographies give the reader the results of their deeds whether their death came in poverty or in being elevated tothe highest elected office in the land.
    Both books are quick reads, and since the chapters are short, can be put down and picked up without great loss of continuity. I, however, read both from cover to cover in one sitting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Signing their lives away...

    a wonderful book, full of information I never learned in school and it written unlike a history book (so it wont put you to sleep).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    Interesting Reading in Short Chapters

    I bought the book for my husband, but he's found that he's had to share the book with me. I like the way I can select a particular signer of the Declaration and read about what happened to them after that tumultuous time. I started out with the one I am told I am a descendent of, and then went on to read about those from my state. After that, I went back to the beginning and am going through each state. I like that I can read each section in a quick period of time without losing track of the purpose of the book because I don't have long times to spend on reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    Excellent book for the history buff!

    As both a history buff and trivia expert, I was delighted with "Signing Their Lives Away"! It is fun to read, formatted in an interesting and attractive way, and uniquely informative. I was really impressed with the extent and detail of the research that went into this book. It covers many interesting aspects of American Revolutionary history that have been overlooked, or overshadowed by greater events of the period. It also dispels many myths which have been perpetuated about some of our founding fathers. Whether you are a historian, trivia nut, or just like fun books, I think this is a slam-dunk.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    Who Knew?

    So, you call yourself a US history buff? Not until you've read this delightful exploration of the signers of our nation's Declaration of Independence. Sure, you may know about Franklin, Adams, and Jefferson -- but Thomas Stone who died of a broken heart? Yep, until you've read "Signing Their Lives Away" you don't know nothing about who signed what! This is a touching, humorous and accurate account of all the men who put their lives, families and fortunes on the line as they committed treason to sign a piece of paper declaring independence from Great Britain. Pretty dangerous stakes for the pursuit of life, liberty and happiness. A 'must have' for anyone with children, anyone who calls himself a patriot -- or anyone interested our country's history! Accessible and honest, it makes no attempt to denegrate -- only inform. What a concept in non-fiction! Congratulations to the authors, Joseph D'Agnese and Denise Kiernan

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    excellent

    short vingnettes of the men who signed the Declaration Of Independence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    Nice try, great idea but not well executed

    This is a superficial and casual treatment of a subject that has great possibilities but comes off and not-so-well informed barroom conversation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2