Customer Reviews for

Signs of Life

Average Rating 3.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - Inspiring Story / Original new voice

This books is impossible to put down. Signs of Life is a memoir written by author Natalie Taylor and begins with the tragic accidental death of her husband Josh when she is 5 months pregnant.

The book is addictive. While set in the WORST of circumstances, Signs of L...
This books is impossible to put down. Signs of Life is a memoir written by author Natalie Taylor and begins with the tragic accidental death of her husband Josh when she is 5 months pregnant.

The book is addictive. While set in the WORST of circumstances, Signs of Life shows us all that there are moments of hope that keep us moving forward. The writing is so raw that it pulls at the complete emotional rolodex... bringing you from sad grief on one page to deep bellied laughter on the next. Natalie discusses how her crazy family, a made up Fairy Mom Godmother, her students, her son Kai, her single mom groups, TV, and radio shows all help her pick up the pieces and move on.

Signs of Life is an amazing read and I suspect this isn't the author's only book. Natalie's passion for literature is evident throughout and she's an original voice on a very difficult subject.

Highly recommend.

posted by David_Vic_Wilson on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

See if you can stop after page 1? No. After page 100? Wanted to.

Signs Of Life's cover states: "Sit down with this book. See if you can stop at page 1." Well, the beginning was pretty good. But after a while it just gets repetitive. No, I didn't stop.. but I wanted to. I was really hoping it would get better. Actually, her best chapt...
Signs Of Life's cover states: "Sit down with this book. See if you can stop at page 1." Well, the beginning was pretty good. But after a while it just gets repetitive. No, I didn't stop.. but I wanted to. I was really hoping it would get better. Actually, her best chapter was her last. It was the most uplifting part of the whole book. Natalie never gives any real insight into her husband.. except he was basically the best person ever! And although I do feel for her.. I felt like she was just so stuck up and rude. I know she was greiving.. but still. I also felt like this book was just thrown together. One paragraph could be about a book (and trust me.. she gave so many book reviews... ) and the next it was about how her loss was so much worse than everyone elses. So yeah, it felt like she scribbled this all down and put it together into a book. Would I recommend this book to someone who recently lost someone? No. I also don't understand how she could get rid of her dogs

posted by Kristy1984 on April 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    See if you can stop after page 1? No. After page 100? Wanted to.

    Signs Of Life's cover states: "Sit down with this book. See if you can stop at page 1." Well, the beginning was pretty good. But after a while it just gets repetitive. No, I didn't stop.. but I wanted to. I was really hoping it would get better. Actually, her best chapter was her last. It was the most uplifting part of the whole book. Natalie never gives any real insight into her husband.. except he was basically the best person ever! And although I do feel for her.. I felt like she was just so stuck up and rude. I know she was greiving.. but still. I also felt like this book was just thrown together. One paragraph could be about a book (and trust me.. she gave so many book reviews... ) and the next it was about how her loss was so much worse than everyone elses. So yeah, it felt like she scribbled this all down and put it together into a book. Would I recommend this book to someone who recently lost someone? No. I also don't understand how she could get rid of her dogs

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Highly Recommended - Inspiring Story / Original new voice

    This books is impossible to put down. Signs of Life is a memoir written by author Natalie Taylor and begins with the tragic accidental death of her husband Josh when she is 5 months pregnant.

    The book is addictive. While set in the WORST of circumstances, Signs of Life shows us all that there are moments of hope that keep us moving forward. The writing is so raw that it pulls at the complete emotional rolodex... bringing you from sad grief on one page to deep bellied laughter on the next. Natalie discusses how her crazy family, a made up Fairy Mom Godmother, her students, her son Kai, her single mom groups, TV, and radio shows all help her pick up the pieces and move on.

    Signs of Life is an amazing read and I suspect this isn't the author's only book. Natalie's passion for literature is evident throughout and she's an original voice on a very difficult subject.

    Highly recommend.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    good job

    superb

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    Gr8 book

    I just read the sample and it made me cry ive nevr cried b4 i wish i could buy the whole thing i think any1 should read it you will love it gr8 book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    Partial review

    I am 50 pages into this book so far. I found myself sucked in after page one. I couldnt look away. I got the sample and im going to finish the book. Ive never reviewed a book before i read it but im only seeing one other review and its very negative. I lost my sister and several other people close to me. This book so far is gripping. No one can truely understand where shes coming from unless you have lost a mate. I applaud the author for reveiling feelings that most people wouldnt dream of. Everyone has different opinions. We all cant like the same things. Some people might not care for this book, but i read reviews on amazon n they are great. Either way this book will b epic to some people. It could really get some people through hard times. Even if i read the rest of the book n lose interest, ill still give it a good rating because someone needed to write a book like this to help others

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Did not like at all

    This is going to sound terrible, because i know what she went through is devastating, but she sounds like a terrible immature spoiled child.
    Every page is "poor me" "I'm the only one in the whole world that has had a loved one die" - Boo hoo bad things happen every day - get over yourself. The way she talks about his mother and sister is terrible - she should be ashamed of herself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Single mom

    I found the begining of book was good but the rest of book the book author was repeating herself. However i can totally relate to some of her grief and frustrations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    I did not read it but was going to order until one review said &

    I did not read it but was going to order until one review said "how could she get rid of her dogs" and that did it for me. Would no, could not read after that remark.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Natalie Taylor's tale of love at it's very best and very worst is excellently written with raw emotion, blunt honesty, and biting humor. I would recommend this book to anyone for a better insight into what it's like to have your heart's content one minute, and then have it ripped out of your chest the next. Very honest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    A must read!

    This was an amazing book. I couldn't put the book down and found myself wanting to read all the time. I laughed, cried, and found a friend in Natalie. Highly recommend to all.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    I had just finished reading Two Kisses for Maddie which was amaz

    I had just finished reading Two Kisses for Maddie which was amazing and was looking for the same type of book, this was not it. I agree with what others say in she really never talks about her husband or her son. It is more about her students and what book they are reading in her class. I just could not connect with her at all as the author, although I can sympathize with the situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Read this for book club and found it to be an excellent read. Need to understand the book is written at the time everything is going on. Lead to great discussions in book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Disappointing and Extremely Annoying

    I read the back of this memoir at the libray and excitedly checked it out. I was extremely disappointed. The author rarely talks about her actul husband or tells the reader about what he was like. It's all about me, me, me - even before he died. It is understandable that she is in grief and pain, but she barely even mentions how she misses her husband; it's all about HER loss and HERself. She takes out her anger on everyone - she bashes her mother in law and her sister in law (whom I assume will eventually read the terrible stuff she said about them), everyone who offends her at the grocery store ("No one understands what me, me, me is going through!"), and even goes as far as to despise Faith Hill as she is watching the Oprah Show because Faith's life is SO perfect with Tom McGraw, and the author's life is the very opposite. The language is harsh, and her blunt honesty comes across as extremely rude. She never stops to consider how others may be feeling. I am sorry for her loss, but she writes very self centeredly. I had to quit reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Sad

    ok book, but sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Good story

    She isnt a world class writer but her story is captivating because its so real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was a pick for our book club and I am so happy it was

    This book was a pick for our book club and I am so happy it was chosen! I loved the author's witty personality and raw writing style. She really just let it all out, the good and the bad, which I think makes this book very real, yet insightful as to the grieving process. I loved how she used books, especially classic literature, as a form of therapy for her. I couldn't put the book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Not depressing!

    Very interesting, honest, and open memoir. I loved "watching" the author move through her grief into hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Signs of life . Three stars

    Signs of life was brillant at first as natalie taylor tells the tragic display of misery put upon her. But now as I realize, many times in the story she felt so bad for just herself when a lot of people in the world have had so much more misery. But she wrote a story of how her life was "like tootally over and I will never be happy again." Even though, the story was just about a number of amount of emotions and complains, Natalie Taylor deserves three stars for overall representing herself to represent many people throughout thr world so I give Signs of Life by Natalie Taylor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    Extremely well done.

    This book will strike a chord with anyone who has ever lost a loved one. There were many times I thought Natalie was inside my head speaking my thoughts for me. You will laugh and cry all in the same paragraph.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    Very thought provoking

    Im so grateful this book was written. A close friend lost her husband 18 months ago. I "get it" so much more now! Will be getting her a copy. LOVED it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3