Customer Reviews for

Silas Marner

Average Rating 3.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Nicely written story about a bitter man's transformation

This is an interesting, nicely written book about a man who becomes so disappointed with the circumstances of his life that runs away and lives far from society. He becomes bitter, loving only his gold, but then changes. What made him change and rebuild his life i...
This is an interesting, nicely written book about a man who becomes so disappointed with the circumstances of his life that runs away and lives far from society. He becomes bitter, loving only his gold, but then changes. What made him change and rebuild his life is brought to him by chance. Destiny seems to have laid it at his door. Then begins the story of the man's transformation and his further affairs, all well told. The best thing about the book was the message it conveys that even when all seems to be lost, everybody can change and lead a full and happy life. What I did not like was that the protagonist did not really change because of his inner will but because of something foreign to him. Destiny will not always lay salvation at our door; more often, people have to make a very strong internal effort to overcome bitterness. In spite of this, the novel is definitely worth reading

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

a cure for insomia

BORING and DULL.This book can definately put you to sleep. It's too wordy and slow. Don't read this book unless you're getting ready for bed.

posted by Anonymous on January 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2006

    A Nice Tale

    Since I am not used to reading classic novels, I found it really interesting to read. I found this book really excellent because of the the descriptive writing and now I am really looking forward to reading many classic novels through my high school years. George Eliot is a really good writer. I want to read all of her books now.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Good Book

    I was required to read this book for my English class. Although it isn't a modern book, it still is an excellent read and applies to modern times.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2000

    Warm and Tender

    This book truely touches your heart and soul.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Love it

    What a classic for all time. Kids today don't get it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Great book

    Loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    Silas Marner - A Must Read

    As an English teacher I love re-reading novels each year. What I didn't expect this year was a new-found appreciation for Silas Marner. The theme of redemption and the colliding of parallel plots moved me this year like no year before. It just makes you feel good to read a story based in love, honor and just reward in a time like ours. I recommend this book for anyone looking for a feel-good story for spring.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Lovely, sweet and charming!

    I love this story, it is one of the best classic novels. It makes me sad to learn that it has become highschool english fodder. It is the perfect book for reading by the fire on a cold winter day. Silas's tale of loss and gain, love and and selflessness, and the many ways to have wealth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2003

    WOW!!!

    This book is outstanding!! George Eliot has to be one of the greatest writers ever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2000

    Excellent Literature!

    Wonderful story of love, gold, and redemption. I highly recommend it. Go out and buy it or rent it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    U love it

    Love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Life Values

    I have taught a modified version to students with special needs and this version to students with similar results from both groups. The moral questions transcend setting, and it resonates with students of all backgrounds. I have had more profound classroom discussion with this work than any other. Ben Kingsley has a DVD of the work that is a high quality addition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Dawnpack!!!!!

    Its really a orphanage but you could rp a pup there! Pickles res1+ activity: mid

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Brilliant

    Steve Martin delightfully updated this classic, modernizing it, calling it "A Simple Twist of Fate" I read his treatment in book form and also loved the movie he produced from his manuscript. It was this that lead me to purchase my copy of Silas Marner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Help

    What is it about?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Excellent book

    Silas Marner is a well-written story about a man who is given undeserved pain and punishment in an early period of his life, then is given an unexpected joy later in life. While one of those situations eventually is answered and understood, the other never is. This leaves Silas, and the reader, to realize that whatever our choices in life, we are not always in control of the outcomes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2002

    A Sure Classic

    This Story is quite beatiful,It is a view of human love and life through the old used eyes of a weaver this book is a sure keeper and is in my opinon very emotional and goes deep into your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2001

    Classics never die

    I read this book when I was in high school. It was an independent choice and not a book assigned by a teacher. It made such an impact on me that when I began teaching, I decided that it would be a book I would share with my advanced eighth grade students. Yes, some of the language is 'old,' but the lessons we can learn about hurt, and love, and redemption in this book are so valuable that it's worth some initial struggle. I highly recommend Silas Marner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 1999

    Beautiful

    The story of Silas Marner and his life was wonderful. It was beautiful and perfect. I loved the beautiful way it told Silas's feelings and his emotions of loss and betrayal. When Eppie came to him, his life gained something that he didn't even realize he had lost. For Silas, Eppie gave him a reason to keep on living. This was a gorgeous and lovely book that should be read by everyone. P.S. Skip chapter 6--it's horribly slow. Don't even try to understand what's going on.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2