Customer Reviews for

Silence

Average Rating 4.5
( 223 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

This book has gotten a lot of mixed reviews, but the subject mat

This book has gotten a lot of mixed reviews, but the subject matter is so different from a lot of contemporary YA fiction of the non-paranormal genre that I was intrigued.  Sometimes these intense subjects can be glossed  over or sanitized for the YA book, so I was inte...
This book has gotten a lot of mixed reviews, but the subject matter is so different from a lot of contemporary YA fiction of the non-paranormal genre that I was intrigued.  Sometimes these intense subjects can be glossed  over or sanitized for the YA book, so I was interested to see how that was going to play out in this book.

The underlying "secret" of this book is a dark subject and one that was probably as tough to write as it was to read without getting extremely emotionally invested in the main character.  Oakley is clearly a girl who is haunted by something in her past, but we don't know what that was for much of the book.  The hints were subtle and that made the reveal that much more shocking and upsetting.  An interesting twist to this story was the fact that Oakley doesn't speak.  At all.  For that matter, she has virtually no communication with anyone of any kind.  Her isolation was so complete that, although she had a cell phone for texting, she never used it.  Every night, Cole texted her and she always answered him... but never sent them.  I didn't understand why that was until the end, which I won't share for fear of spoilers.  That isolation made me wonder how the story could possibly progress well with a character who had no verbal communication.  How can she maintain friendships and relationships, trapped in herself the way she was?  The answer was simple.  She couldn't, not really, outside of her brother and her best friend Cole.  It was tragic, her  isolation.

There is romance in this book, and it is touching and sweet, but I think that the rest of it was more of the central focus of the book.  And I liked that.  I liked that there was much more to the story than teenage romance and angst.  

This is a story that is, in my opinion, character-driven.  There were characters I loved and there were others that I hated with a passion.  Like in real life, there were points at which I hated/loved a particular character and then later in the story, my feelings would flip.  Oakley's parents are a perfect example of this.  As a mom, I felt like their hands off approach was a bit unbelievable.  But as the story progresses and you learn ore there are questions that get answered and make you understand.

Things to love about Silence...

   --The subject matter.  Not that one can truly "like" the subject matter, but I liked how it was handled throughout the story.
   --Knowing Oakley.  As I said, I wondered how Oakley would be as a well-rounded character without communication and I was truly impressed with how much of a non-issue that turned out to be.
   --The relationships and characters.  Whether you loved them, or hated them, they evoked a response and that is important.

Things I wanted more or less of...

   --More Cole.  Technically, the chapters of this book are done in POV-style, chapters for Oakley and chapters for Cole.  But Cole's POV doesn't come into play until Chapter 11, more than halfway through the book.

Some quotastic goodness...

   --Silence consumed my whole life ; it suppressed things I could never express. My silence was responsible for my family’s happiness. Silence was my prison (1).
   --We couldn’t be together. I would never be good enough for him. He was perfect , and I was broken (18).
   --I loved her so much. More than anything in the world. Enough to let her go (211).

My recommendation:  This was a moving story that I think is more than worth a read!   

posted by KikiD870 on February 12, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Do not start this book,it has no ending

Do not start this book,it has no ending

posted by greenup2save on December 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book has gotten a lot of mixed reviews, but the subject mat

    This book has gotten a lot of mixed reviews, but the subject matter is so different from a lot of contemporary YA fiction of the non-paranormal genre that I was intrigued.  Sometimes these intense subjects can be glossed  over or sanitized for the YA book, so I was interested to see how that was going to play out in this book.

    The underlying "secret" of this book is a dark subject and one that was probably as tough to write as it was to read without getting extremely emotionally invested in the main character.  Oakley is clearly a girl who is haunted by something in her past, but we don't know what that was for much of the book.  The hints were subtle and that made the reveal that much more shocking and upsetting.  An interesting twist to this story was the fact that Oakley doesn't speak.  At all.  For that matter, she has virtually no communication with anyone of any kind.  Her isolation was so complete that, although she had a cell phone for texting, she never used it.  Every night, Cole texted her and she always answered him... but never sent them.  I didn't understand why that was until the end, which I won't share for fear of spoilers.  That isolation made me wonder how the story could possibly progress well with a character who had no verbal communication.  How can she maintain friendships and relationships, trapped in herself the way she was?  The answer was simple.  She couldn't, not really, outside of her brother and her best friend Cole.  It was tragic, her  isolation.

    There is romance in this book, and it is touching and sweet, but I think that the rest of it was more of the central focus of the book.  And I liked that.  I liked that there was much more to the story than teenage romance and angst.  

    This is a story that is, in my opinion, character-driven.  There were characters I loved and there were others that I hated with a passion.  Like in real life, there were points at which I hated/loved a particular character and then later in the story, my feelings would flip.  Oakley's parents are a perfect example of this.  As a mom, I felt like their hands off approach was a bit unbelievable.  But as the story progresses and you learn ore there are questions that get answered and make you understand.

    Things to love about Silence...

       --The subject matter.  Not that one can truly "like" the subject matter, but I liked how it was handled throughout the story.
       --Knowing Oakley.  As I said, I wondered how Oakley would be as a well-rounded character without communication and I was truly impressed with how much of a non-issue that turned out to be.
       --The relationships and characters.  Whether you loved them, or hated them, they evoked a response and that is important.

    Things I wanted more or less of...

       --More Cole.  Technically, the chapters of this book are done in POV-style, chapters for Oakley and chapters for Cole.  But Cole's POV doesn't come into play until Chapter 11, more than halfway through the book.

    Some quotastic goodness...

       --Silence consumed my whole life ; it suppressed things I could never express. My silence was responsible for my family’s happiness. Silence was my prison (1).
       --We couldn’t be together. I would never be good enough for him. He was perfect , and I was broken (18).
       --I loved her so much. More than anything in the world. Enough to let her go (211).

    My recommendation:  This was a moving story that I think is more than worth a read!   

    24 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Loved it

    A great read read it in little over 2 hours I couldn't take my eyes off of my nook would recomend for 12+

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Excellent, intense

    This was a wonderful, emotional, and intense book about a terrified but brave person.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Come

    It is nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    very good

    Silence is a well written book. The only thing I didn't like was they went back and forth with the characters. good mystery and depending on the book would read something else by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Good Read

    This book was predictable but still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Great book!

    Great story line with fun and loving characters. Would definetly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Read this. Now for my rant.

    I really liked this book. I loved her and Cole and I just loved it. I think we all were loving them together. But then when she called Cole, and the whole deal with her dad and Frank went down, I realized that I kinda liked her character more when she didn't talk. I don't know if that made me a horrible person or what, but I honestly just liked her more when she didn't talk. Whatever. So everything was a happy and then, Hey Cole, so I didn't tell you, but my family managed to pack up all of our things in 1 day, without telling you, and now we are moving to Australia. I mean. Come on. They did the frick frack 2 times. They LOVED eachother. They were both so mature, but I guess that all of this didn't mean jack to Oakley who just leaves. She doesn't try to stay. She doesn't beg her mom to stay. We all know that Coles mom would've let her stay there. But no. Like I don't mean to be a jerk here, I do get that what had happened was horrible and all of that, but what they had was special. I mean, if she would just give up their love, it must not have meant enough to her.
    So what I'm trying to say is that what I'm picking up here is that Oakley was just some 16 year old that sex means nothing to. The ending was too rushed. I mean the climax of the book was like 30 ish pages long. Less than that.

    Whatever. You should read this, but don't expect for the ending to be this beautiful paradise that you hope for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Wowowowowow

    I loved this book the girl is just like me because i dont talk alot and i live in my own little world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Bree

    Just read this book in 6 hours and i liked it. The book got a little difficult brcause it couldn't maintain its rhythm as other books but its something u get used to. I feel sick to ky stomack when i think of Oakley's dad. WHat a jerk and its peopleile him tha make me distrust the male figure. Currently 12:17 P.M or A.M depending on how u read it. Its midnight tho.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    It was okay

    A good idea and a great story. I loved it. However, it sort of sounded like it was written by a teenager. Its a booo for ages twelve through immautre seventeen. For one who has more sophisticated reading habits, you wouldnt be totally impressed. This book was a fun casual quick read, but was a little too simple. There needed to be a little mre "show, dont tell." Characters were fun though and one could get essily attached. Over all, a fun simple read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Silence

    It was a good love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Must read!!!

    This book is amazing. Sure there are a few too many grammatical errors, but who cares. It didn't take away from the story's intensity. This story centers around a dark subject matter and I became so emotionally invested in Oakley's life I couldn't put it down. I kept wanting to know more about her. I only wish it was longer. It definitely played out rather quickly at the end. I immediately began reading Broken Silence and though both books are amazing, I'll admit book #2 was a lot better. You get a better look at the main characters and you have a little more time to digest what's happening. I highly reccomend reading these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Tyis book was sooo goodvand i felt so bad for oskly ecause i know that things like bthis really ds go on in the wirld maybe even in my villag but nobody spaks upabout it so it is really hard t do anything about it and these gilrs( and maybe guys to) just need help. I also think that broken sience is abook tyat shiuld be read to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    a book to check out

    why some girls and their dad's don't get along cause their dad lets their friends get away with towards their daughter, then blame the girl for it all. Men like this are gross, and get away with to much. They don't tho in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    great book!!! Jmm44

    You won't want to put this down... The story of a girl who is mute.... Should have had better editing. But it wasn't resolved at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Greag Great read

    Great read loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Roz830

    This book had a lot of gramatical errors , but overall it was
    a very good book with a very captivating subject matter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Couldnt put it down

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Warning

    I am a huge book worm who has read about a million books but none of them have ever made me cry as much as this one. I stayed up till 4 in the morning just to bawl my eyes out!!! It was a great book though and i would highly recomend it to any girl age 12 and up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3