Customer Reviews for

Silence for the Dead

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Silence for the Dead is a gothic style ghost story set in the ea

Silence for the Dead is a gothic style ghost story set in the early 1900’s right after World War I. The setting is an old family manor that has been turned into a recovery home for shell-shocked soldiers. The residence is isolated and difficult to get to. In addition, i...
Silence for the Dead is a gothic style ghost story set in the early 1900’s right after World War I. The setting is an old family manor that has been turned into a recovery home for shell-shocked soldiers. The residence is isolated and difficult to get to. In addition, it was the sight of family murders years before. Kitty Weekes is a young woman eager to leave her life behind, so she applies for a position as nurse in the home, even though she is untrained and unqualified for the job. The recovering soldiers of the nursing home are all colorful characters, plagued by dastardly dreams and unique in their needs. There is an overly strict matron and her assistance that create problems for Kitty as she struggles to feign her nursing knowledge and abilities. One particular resident, Jack Yates, a national hero, not only comes to her rescue, but they soon become friends who work together to solve the mystery of the ghosts and unravel the truth about the past murders that took place there.




There is plenty to keep a reader entertained in this gothic style romantic paranormal story with numerous plot twists. Well written, I could easily picture the house, the scenery, and the characters as I read along. From start to finish, the book held my interest right up until the gripping climax. If you want to cozy up to a nice haunted house tale, then this is the book for you. It definitely gets my approval!

posted by Mirella on April 15, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Historical fict

Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

Historical fiction with ghosts, crazy PTSD soldiers and all in a home that is completely isolated from the world.  Kitty is a woman who has been running from a past for a very long time and she ends up in this historical ...
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

Historical fiction with ghosts, crazy PTSD soldiers and all in a home that is completely isolated from the world.  Kitty is a woman who has been running from a past for a very long time and she ends up in this historical home that has been converted into a mental hospital working as a nurse without the proper qualifications.  She learns that the past doesn't always stay in the past both the past of the occupants of the home and those in her personal past. 

posted by KrittersRamblings on April 22, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Silence for the Dead is a gothic style ghost story set in the ea

    Silence for the Dead is a gothic style ghost story set in the early 1900’s right after World War I. The setting is an old family manor that has been turned into a recovery home for shell-shocked soldiers. The residence is isolated and difficult to get to. In addition, it was the sight of family murders years before. Kitty Weekes is a young woman eager to leave her life behind, so she applies for a position as nurse in the home, even though she is untrained and unqualified for the job. The recovering soldiers of the nursing home are all colorful characters, plagued by dastardly dreams and unique in their needs. There is an overly strict matron and her assistance that create problems for Kitty as she struggles to feign her nursing knowledge and abilities. One particular resident, Jack Yates, a national hero, not only comes to her rescue, but they soon become friends who work together to solve the mystery of the ghosts and unravel the truth about the past murders that took place there.




    There is plenty to keep a reader entertained in this gothic style romantic paranormal story with numerous plot twists. Well written, I could easily picture the house, the scenery, and the characters as I read along. From start to finish, the book held my interest right up until the gripping climax. If you want to cozy up to a nice haunted house tale, then this is the book for you. It definitely gets my approval!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Amazing

    Like you were back in time, at the house with all the characters. The authors style of writing is so fluid you never want the story to end. Do not pass this one up. A must, must read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVE Simone St. James style of writing and this one did not di

    I LOVE Simone St. James style of writing and this one did not disappoint. Simone has the ability to pull the reader into a place and time, in this case, 1919 post-war Britain, and write characters that you care about. I like that she threads a bit of romance into her story without destroying it and veering off into "just" romance. This is a ghost story that will keep you turning pages until the wee hours of the morning. I was sad to finish it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Wonderful

    The plot has so many layers that a less talented writer could not have pulled off
    Her last book was so good I was afraid that this would change my opinon of her talent, instead it has ensured her to be one author that I always buy without even reading the dust jacket

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    The first half of the book was interesting and engaging, the sec

    The first half of the book was interesting and engaging, the second half... not so much. Also, the ending was a bit too abrupt for my taste. Still, it was a pretty enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Kitty Weekes arrived at Portis House, an isolated asylum for tro

    Kitty Weekes arrived at Portis House, an isolated asylum for trouble WWI officers, she came seeking asylum of her own from her painful past. Hired to work as a nurse, and with no nursing experience, Kitty struggles to come to terms with all that her job entails. When strange things begin happening, she begins to question her own sanity. Soon she discovers that she is the only one that deliver the patients and staff from an evil force that inhabits the house. That is, if they don't die from influenza first.

    This was in interesting, quick read. The mystery of the evil force was simple enough to solve. What really interested me the most was the depiction of how the war impacted these soldiers, and even how their families reacted to what today we would classify as PTSD.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first novel by Simone St. James I've read and I can

    This is the first novel by Simone St. James I've read and I can tell you I will definitely read more! The novel is historical, supernatural and a mystery all in one. Kitty Weekes is running from her past and finds a hiding place at Portis House. Portis house is home of a number of men who are mentally weak after the war. While there, she finds there is something sinister happening and a mystery to what happened to the family who once owned Portis House.




    Silence for the Dead is one of those novels where you are swept away into the story. I was fully engaged with every written word. A number of times my heart was racing, as I read. I had no idea how this was going to play out. As the novel drew to a close, I thought I had put some of the pieces together...I was wrong.




    I loved Kitty and Jack! I was very suspicious of where their story line would go--I think you will too, so I won't share! Actually, I enjoyed all the characters! I almost felt like I was right there during the story and I don't always get that feeling from a novel. I'm going to have to say one of my favorite books this year!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Historical fict

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    Historical fiction with ghosts, crazy PTSD soldiers and all in a home that is completely isolated from the world.  Kitty is a woman who has been running from a past for a very long time and she ends up in this historical home that has been converted into a mental hospital working as a nurse without the proper qualifications.  She learns that the past doesn't always stay in the past both the past of the occupants of the home and those in her personal past. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2015

    Good book if you enjoy mystery

    First half of the book was very interesting, I couldn't put the book down you wanted to know more, second half of the book became somewhat predictable, but it was still a good read and easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2015

    Disappointing. Did not finish. Simply could not connect with t

    Disappointing. Did not finish. Simply could not connect with the characters.

    Although, I did love The Haunting of Maddy Clare and Inquiry Into Love and Death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2014

    Awful

    The book is well written, but I could not enjoy it because of the utter loathesomeness of the "heroine.". I couldn't get past her low-class, lying, cheating, arrogance. She is the worst kind of Cockney trash, and we're supposed to like her? I can only be greatful this is set in the 20s and the author couldn't endow her with multiple tats and piercings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Now where did i just read this story?

    A daisy dobbs series ? everyone on the ww1 shell shocked vet plot please let us have shell shocked vets with a master crime org. funds keeping them in high class retirement home with beautif nurses and quite mad freudian fuedibg with jungiers of course the dates little off but who cares

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Nice!!

    Nice!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Tradgety

    Hahaha...

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1