Customer Reviews for

Silencing Sam

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Read by Julie Kramer!

    Julie Kramer's third novel in her series is an excellent read. It held my interest all the way through. Her character, Riley Spartz, finds herself investigating the homicide case of a gossip columnist, where she becomes the prime suspect. She now not only has to prove her innocence, but also try to find out who the real murderer is. As in her previous books, Riley is usually working on other news stories. In this novel, she is also following a story about rural wind farm bombings in southern Minnesota. Living in Minnesota I found all of the local references interesting, and it made the reading more enjoyable to me. Silencing Sam is well-written with memorable characters and very humorous. It is full of wit, charm, and suspense, and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys thrillers - a real page turner. You won't be disappointed. Looking forward to the fourth one!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    Great Summer Read

    This is the third in Kramer's series and is my new favorite! I really like the first person narrative, it pulls me into the storyline more and I really feel Riley Spartz's emotions. I like having the subplots, it keeps the storyline moving, she keeps the dialogue moving and it is hard to put it down. It hard to say more without maybe giving something away. It was a very enjoyable read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    Silencing Sam

    Julie Kramer shows her power as a raconteur in Silencing Sam. The third book in her Ripely Spartz series takes you directly into her story. Allow yourself plenty of time for this novel as you won't want to put it down. Her entertaining cast of believable charactors draw you into a fast paced plot as you race along collecting clues. You have met people like these in your own life. The unexpected twists of the plot keep you turning pages as you try to solve the mystery. Finally she satisfies us at the conclusion by wrapping up all the details with the protagonists getting their due. This novel gave good value and I was well entertained.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    I highly recommend Julie Kramer's "Silencing Sam"

    I have purchased all four of Julie Kramer's books and am just beginning to read "Killing Kate". Ms. Kramer is a great writer and the books kept me coming back for more. In fact, I purchased the books and the Nook Books! (I was traveling and wanted the convenience of using my Nook). I know "Killing Kate" just came out, but I am already looking forward to her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Investigative Reporter as the Suspect in a Murder Case?

    Riley Spartz is no stranger to the territory of breaking news: as an investigative reporter for Channel 3 Minneapolis, she has done her fair share of delving into a variety of cases, each of which has its own particular outcome. But the latest newsworthy incident in Minneapolis has an outcome that might prove a little more personal. After all, she is the prime suspect in the case of Sam Pierce's murder. In the eyes of many people, Sam, the star of the newspaper gossip column, deserved every part of what came his way--he made his fair share of enemies in his time with articles that sensationalized the weaknesses of others. Of course, this does not excuse the police from investigating the case, and, because of a recent public altercation with Sam, Riley is their best target. Now she must find a way to make sense of his mysterious demise before her incarceration is the latest headline. With enigmatic sources as her only guide, Riley must investigate and solve the most intense case of her life before it becomes her last. Join her as she struggles to understand who is responsible for Silencing Sam? Julie Kramer's latest novel, Silencing Sam, is an exciting thriller with elements of murder mystery and "deadpan humor." Kramer herself is an award-winning investigative reporter, as well as the author of novels that have been well-received by both critics and the reading public. Her next release is bound to captivate avid readers of murder mysteries and it will make a perfect addition to your thriller collection. If you are already familiar with Kramer's previous work, Silencing Sam will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    What do you mean you haven't read this book yet????

    Seriously, if you haven't read "Silencing Sam", you must do so!! And while you're at it, read "Stalking Susan" and "Missing Mark" as well. I read them in order -- you don't have to. "...Sam" is the best and will keep you turning the pages so fast you won't have time to grab one more pretzel! Julie Kramer is a talented Minnesota-based author that will hook you with her combination of suspense and subtle humor. Janet who????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fun Summer Read

    Silencing Sam is the third book in the series featuring Riley Spartz, a seasoned news reporter whose murder investigations land her in the middle of the mystery. Author Julie Kramer continues to grow with each novel and Silencing Sam is my personal favorite so far. The different plot lines in the novel are all woven together well and the characters are people we can care about. The final chapters that put together all the puzzle pieces are very well written and keep the reader turning the pages for more action. In this novel Julie also added spots of humor which often had me laughing out loud. Overall, this was a really fun read and I look forward to more novels by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1