Customer Reviews for

The Silent Boy

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Silent Boy: A must read!!!

The Silent Boy
Book Review

This very odd story of a young girl addresses stereotypes, difficulties disabled people have, and much more. The Silent Boy tells a story about a young girl, Katy, who one day encounters a very mysterious retarded boy. Her and her father ...
The Silent Boy
Book Review

This very odd story of a young girl addresses stereotypes, difficulties disabled people have, and much more. The Silent Boy tells a story about a young girl, Katy, who one day encounters a very mysterious retarded boy. Her and her father are going to pick up their new "hired girl" when Katy notices a faded figure of a boy in the window. Their hired girl, Peggy, explains to Katy that he is her retarded brother. Katy and her father encounter him many times in the future when traveling to the countryside to take care of various things. The boy, Jacob Stoltz, is very silent, and makes motions in a way to communicate that Katy begins understand just like she's family. He does very mysterious things such as slip away to odd places with no one watching. He barely speaks, has an extraordinary love for animals and appears to be very odd to Katy. Although she feels that this boy is very distant and strange, she feels some kind of connection to him. Katy understands Jacob's bravery in his actions. This touching story reveals the meaning in a distant connection and friendship. This book is very moving and interesting. It is a must read for people who love mysterious, well written novels that make one curious at every moment.

Reviewed By: Tano Anonymously

posted by DallasFabulously on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A sketchy book

The Silent Boy by Lois Lowry was a good rainy day book. It kept me turning pages with its creepy, eerie, mysterious feel. I gave it three stars although the story line was good, it was a very forgettable book. The story starts when Katy Thatcher's family, the Thatcher...
The Silent Boy by Lois Lowry was a good rainy day book. It kept me turning pages with its creepy, eerie, mysterious feel. I gave it three stars although the story line was good, it was a very forgettable book. The story starts when Katy Thatcher's family, the Thatcher, family gets a new hired girl. When this girl comes and starts working for the family things start to change and Katy notices the changes when her dad takes her out to the mill and the meet a boy named Jacob who does not talk. Then later in the book problems surface and Austin's family's hired girl leaves and Jacob is caught in the middle. Although the book had a decent plot line some of the details were confusing. Some of the detail even had no relation to the book. This is a book that will leave you wondering. This is a book that will keep you from being board. If you like Lois Lowry you should read this book, but I will warn you it is not like the Giver. Overall it is a very good book. I would read it again, but some and some of the detail might make since to me.

posted by pancakeonator on September 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    The Silent Boy: A must read!!!

    The Silent Boy
    Book Review

    This very odd story of a young girl addresses stereotypes, difficulties disabled people have, and much more. The Silent Boy tells a story about a young girl, Katy, who one day encounters a very mysterious retarded boy. Her and her father are going to pick up their new "hired girl" when Katy notices a faded figure of a boy in the window. Their hired girl, Peggy, explains to Katy that he is her retarded brother. Katy and her father encounter him many times in the future when traveling to the countryside to take care of various things. The boy, Jacob Stoltz, is very silent, and makes motions in a way to communicate that Katy begins understand just like she's family. He does very mysterious things such as slip away to odd places with no one watching. He barely speaks, has an extraordinary love for animals and appears to be very odd to Katy. Although she feels that this boy is very distant and strange, she feels some kind of connection to him. Katy understands Jacob's bravery in his actions. This touching story reveals the meaning in a distant connection and friendship. This book is very moving and interesting. It is a must read for people who love mysterious, well written novels that make one curious at every moment.

    Reviewed By: Tano Anonymously

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    A sketchy book

    The Silent Boy by Lois Lowry was a good rainy day book. It kept me turning pages with its creepy, eerie, mysterious feel. I gave it three stars although the story line was good, it was a very forgettable book. The story starts when Katy Thatcher's family, the Thatcher, family gets a new hired girl. When this girl comes and starts working for the family things start to change and Katy notices the changes when her dad takes her out to the mill and the meet a boy named Jacob who does not talk. Then later in the book problems surface and Austin's family's hired girl leaves and Jacob is caught in the middle. Although the book had a decent plot line some of the details were confusing. Some of the detail even had no relation to the book. This is a book that will leave you wondering. This is a book that will keep you from being board. If you like Lois Lowry you should read this book, but I will warn you it is not like the Giver. Overall it is a very good book. I would read it again, but some and some of the detail might make since to me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    Suckiest book i've read yet.

    ¿The Silent Boy¿ By Lois Lowry<BR/>¿His is the story I mean to write¿¿The Silent Boy, written by Lois Lowry, really caught my eyes, I thought this book would keep me on my toes throughout every page I turned but I was wrong. There were cretin parts of the book that did pull me into the book but if you ask me the book was extremely slow.<BR/>I was expecting the book to be centered on ¿the silent boy¿, Jacob but the protagonist was Katy Thatcher. This book is in the point of view of a six year old girl who is seven years old by the end of the book. Her father is a doctor and Katy loves going in her dads buggy as he goes to treat patients, she meets a boy who keeps all to himself and<BR/> never talks named Jacob Stoltz. Katy and Jacob have a friendship like <BR/>no other but when one thing goes wrong it¿s the last time Katy will <BR/>ever see Jacob again. <BR/>I honestly did not like this book, it would be better if it talked more about The Silent Boy himself. Maybe my expectations of this book were to big, but I would not recommend this book to anyone who likes to be on their toes throughout the whole book. <BR/><BR/>Yesenia Torres<BR/>Battle Creek, MI

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    Another Hit for Lowry

    I loved this book. At first when I began to read it, I felt it was going to be slow, but instead the pace quickened and I found myself always anticipating the next page. I think this book will join the ranks among Lowry's other hits such as The Messenger, The Giver, Gathering Blue, and Number the Stars. Just like those books, this one is simply titled, yet profound in meaning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Twighlight

    In love with it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    AWESOME

    i read this book and it is GREAT even though at the end everyboby thinks that he mudered someone but he didnt he wanted to save him but i think that you should try this book it is one of my favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Grood

    Sad and cute

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Nice

    Cute and sad. Love how she opened a chapter with an antique picture. Love her details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Beatiful

    Not only is this a beautiful story and tragic ending but it is written through the innocence of a little girl. Now I know that some people may go 'little girl, ugh'. I know, I am not crazy about stories told through the eyes if little kids either but believe this random person who is telling you THIS BOOK IS BEAUTIFUL!!! The style is great and is a good historical fiction. Perfect book to read because its nice and simple. Get it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    AWSOME!

    Out of many books I have read from Lois Lowry I loved this book. This book showed detail about everything and mostof all it had a very sad but also happy. I think that if Jacob really did just run away after the Asylum was gone he really made a good choice. I still wonder where he went. I also wonder if someone really saw nell in a factory. The saddest part was when Paul died.This is really a great book. I recomend this to everyone out there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    Dissaponted

    When I read The Silent Boy I was hoping for it to be more centered on Jacob(the silent boy). I wanted it to explain all about why he was different and how he was treated. I did not fully enjoy this book because of my high expectations. Also, the book was easy to read. Probably better for a 10 or 11 year old girl. If you are new to this Author, I would not recommond this as your first book to read. I think you would rather enjoy The Giver. I read it last year and I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    The Silent Boy

    In this story, The Silent Boy, by Lois Lowry, it reflects back to a relationship between Katharine Thatcher and Jacob Stoltz, and the incident that changes their lives. Katharine is an eight year old girl who wants to become a doctor like her father, and is very interested in people. She meets a boy name Jacob, who does not talk at all. Only Katharine befriends him and understands his mind. One day she hears that Jacob has disappeared after doing something very wrong to his sister¿s baby. Katharine wants to help her friend, Jacob avoid getting in trouble. It is up to her to reach the truth in time! It is very cruel and unjust how Jacob is treated so unfairly by the people around him, even by his own family. People often call him imbecile and they isolate him from the world. When there is a fire at Schuyler¿s Mill, they all blame Jacob that he burned Schuler¿s Mill. His father rejects him and sometimes talks to him sternly. Compared to others, it is really interesting how Katharine seems so caring from the moment she meets Jacob. Unlike other people, she treats him as a friend and trusts him. She talks to him even though he does not respond back to her. She gives him a present and calls him a friend. He begins to accept and trust Katharine as his good friend. Only Katharine understands Jacob and knows the real reason what he did to the baby. This incident influences her later life in helping her to be compassionate and understanding people. It is really a delight if the next reader finds the same thrill, in the inspirational story of The Silent Boy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    Silence Is Golden... Or Is It?

    The book I am reviewing is called The Silent Boy by Lois Lowry. It is a story about a young girl named Katy and her reaction to her life in the 1900s. The main conflict of this story is the relationship between Katy and the silent boy named Jacob. Katy learns how to understand Jacob¿s silent ways. She finds it fascinating that he can imitate any sound he hears. Another conflict is when Jacob¿s two sisters, one of them, named Peggy, comes to work at Katy¿s house, and the other sister, Nell, works for Katy¿s neighbor, Austin. Nell and Austin¿s older brother, Paul fall in love, Nell becomes pregnant and she is far too young to have a baby at her age. At the time, being pregnant while not being married is a big scandal. The rest of the story deals with how Jacob reacts to the baby. Something that I liked about this book was how the story was told by Katy. The chapters were like diary entries and she explained clearly what the time period of the early 1900s was like. She described how the houses were, how cold it was, how it was to have a telephone for the first time, and her neighbors new automobile. The one thing that I disliked about the book was that the author never talked much about the relationship between Jacob and his father. Another quality in this book that I liked was that at the beginning of each chapter, there was a black-and-white picture that seemed to tell you what the chapter you are about to read would be about. Also, I liked how the author seemed to have updates on the main characters after the story was told. I like the author¿s writing style in this book and I think if you would read this then you would enjoy it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    By: Lois Lowry The main character in this book is Jacob Stoltz `The silent boy¿. Jacob does not talk or learn like others do, but he loves animals. Katy is Jacob¿s neighbor and they became friends. Katy¿s Dad is a doctor that has his office next to their house. Katy wants to be a doctor like her Dad and she becomes one later in life. Peggy was Katy¿s family nanny and Jacob¿s sister. Jacob lives next door to Katy¿s family & helps the family by working with their horses. He does not go to school like the other kids. Peggy¿s sister Nellie had a baby when she was really young. Nellie was confused about motherhood and left the baby alone. No one in Jacob¿s family wanted the baby, so he took the baby to Katy¿s mom but the cold had killed the baby before he had got there. The court had decided to put Jacob in an asylum for the rest of his life when he was only 14. Jacob did not know he was doing anything wrong. Katy never saw Jacob Stoltz again. . The setting is between 1908 to 1911 in an old farm town. Katy is telling the story to her great -grandchildren later in life The story is mostly about a boy named Jacob that is kind of slow and does not talk. He was a nice boy that loved animals. No one understood him except Katy. I liked the story because I like books about people¿s lives whether they are real or not. I connect to the book because I used to not be able to talk because of my speech. I can connect to his world because I know how frustrating it is when no one understands you. I have never read a book like this before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    The Silent Boy, by Lois Lowry

    Katy and Jacob were friends but Jacob could not talk. Katy was interested in her Dad's work. Jacob took care of farm animals. The friendship Katy made with Jacob was very special. Jacob could not talk, but Jacob could make sounds. When Jacob and Katy played they would sing to the animals. Katy could understand Jacob by the way he acted with the animals. One day Jacob made a big mistake. A baby was born and the mother did not want to take care of it. So Jacob took the baby to the barn because he thought the animals would take of the baby. Because the baby was cold and not fed so it died and Jacob was taken away. The setting of this book is from 1908 to 1911 in San Francisco. This book is about Katy's life experience with family, neighbors and the friendship with Jacob. I really did not like this story because it bored me. Maybe this would be a good story for a girl. I can relate to this book because I also have family member that is unable to talk. Because of the time I have spent with him I can understand what he is telling me sometimes by his hand movements. I cannot relate this to any other books I have read. This book can relate to many people around the world because we all have friends, neighbors and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    Very good book

    This is a great book i had to do a book report on it and i had so much to write about just read it and you'll know what i mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    The story starts in 1987 when Katy Thatcher is an old lady, with great-grand children. She is reminiscing on her childhood and the boy she met who, without saying a word and without even looking at her, changed her life. She has a flashback to late 1910, when Dr. Thatcher, Katy's father, is preparing for a baby around the house and has a hired girl come out to work inside the house. Katy first sees Jacob here, but doesn't understand why he doesn't speak or go to school. The hired girl, his sister, explains that he is 'touched in the head.' Now we would call this a form of autism. Later that year Katy sees one of her mother's clothes catalogues and sees a picture of maternity dresses. The hired girl, Peggy, explains that maternity is when women are pregnant. Katy has 'the talk' from her father. Katy also learns that Jacob has the job of drowning the unwanted newborn kittens, but wouldn't harm anything in the world if he could help it. Katy finds Jacob with her horses one night. She realizes he has a way with animals. In 1911 Katy sees how Nellie, Peggy's sister, and Paul, Austin's brother like each other. At first she think's it's cute but then she is scared of them when they get mad at her for accidentally walking in on them while they were having 'alone time.' A few months later Katy has a birthday party. She wants Jacob to come but he isn¿t allowed to be there. Katy still mentions to him she would have enjoyed him there. Out of their sort of friendship he gives you a newborn kitten. Katy also learns her mom gave birth to a sister, who is unnamed for a while. Life goes by normally until a rainy night when Jacob is missing. Katy sees something happening in the baby¿s room but she¿s not allowed to see. Also, Nellie can¿t be found either. When Katy is coming downstairs she sees into the baby¿s room and understands what happened. She goes and sees Jacob in the barn. She tells him she knows what happened: How Nellie had a baby and didn¿t want it so she left. Nobody else wanted it in her family so Jacob tried to save it by taking it to Katy¿s mom but the cold killed the baby. Dr. Thatcher takes Jacob to court and they put him in the asylum. Katy never sees him again. This story is one of friendship and how it doesn¿t have anything to do with words. Friends don¿t have to speak, just understand, like Jacob and Katy. Lois Lowry shows in a great way how remarkable things can happen if we just listen past words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2006

    ¿The Silent Boy¿ ¿ a sad but awesome read.

    I think ¿The Silent Boy¿ by Lois Lowry is interesting because it is filled with facts from the past. It takes place in rural Pennsylvania during the years 1908 through 1911, and mentions the earthquake that destroyed San Francisco in 1906 and the horrible fire at the Triangle Shirtwaist Company that took so many lives in New York City in 1911. The book is about a special needs 14-year old boy who lives on a farm. He is good with animals, but he does not talk. He is shy and quiet he lives in his own world. Other people sometimes take advantage of him because he has special needs. His name is Jacob. Jacob makes a special friend with Katy Thatcher. ¿The Silent Boy¿ is told from Katy¿s perspective. Katy is a young daughter of a doctor, who gets to know Jacob when his sister comes to work for her family. Katy likes Jacob immediately and slowly becomes his friend. Jacob gives her one of the most special gifts she ever receives. There are twists and turns in the story and a huge problem divides the families. When the climax is reached, there is no one for Jacob to turn to but Katy. Katy knows what happened, but can she help? Will Jacob be accused for what has accidentally been done? Read this interesting book to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    Great But Very Detailed

    ¿¿No that Boy,¿ Jessie said impatiently. `The one in the field.¿¿ Jessie is not that nice and she said that hoping to get Jacob in trouble. I liked this quote because the boy Jacob can¿t learn the way other people can and so it¿s kind of funny because Jessie didn¿t know. It sounds like something is going to happen: something bad. Kate is a ten-year-old girl. She is the daughter of the town doctor. Kate is very intelligent. She and Austin are Jacob¿s friends. Jacob could not really learn like everyone else. He can¿t learn from a book and it¿s hard for him to understand what he learning from his teacher. He is close to the hired girls, and if Peggy, one of the hired girls, hired out forever, his heart would be broken. Jacob meets another friend and you see a whole other side of Jacob. When he meets Jessie, she makes Jacob have the wrong idea about actions and Jacob goes out and does something bad. I liked most of this book because it was very entertaining. It was funny but at the same time serious like in the first paragraph. That shows some seriousness in the book. Unfortunately, a lot of the book was detail and that part became boring. There were also a lot of names that were hard to keep track of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2005

    Love the concept...

    This book has a unique concept, using old photos to create characters, setting, story, etc. It can definitely be used as a creative writing tool, as well as, a creative read. I loved it...the readers guide in the back of the book allows the reader to expand beyond the pages into life application. Any book that allows you the opporunity to learn and grow from it, is a book worth reading, over and over and over...In my library it is a 'KEEPER'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2