Customer Reviews for

The Silent Boy

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Silent Boy: A must read!!!

The Silent Boy
Book Review

This very odd story of a young girl addresses stereotypes, difficulties disabled people have, and much more. The Silent Boy tells a story about a young girl, Katy, who one day encounters a very mysterious retarded boy. Her and her father ...
The Silent Boy
Book Review

This very odd story of a young girl addresses stereotypes, difficulties disabled people have, and much more. The Silent Boy tells a story about a young girl, Katy, who one day encounters a very mysterious retarded boy. Her and her father are going to pick up their new "hired girl" when Katy notices a faded figure of a boy in the window. Their hired girl, Peggy, explains to Katy that he is her retarded brother. Katy and her father encounter him many times in the future when traveling to the countryside to take care of various things. The boy, Jacob Stoltz, is very silent, and makes motions in a way to communicate that Katy begins understand just like she's family. He does very mysterious things such as slip away to odd places with no one watching. He barely speaks, has an extraordinary love for animals and appears to be very odd to Katy. Although she feels that this boy is very distant and strange, she feels some kind of connection to him. Katy understands Jacob's bravery in his actions. This touching story reveals the meaning in a distant connection and friendship. This book is very moving and interesting. It is a must read for people who love mysterious, well written novels that make one curious at every moment.

Reviewed By: Tano Anonymously

posted by DallasFabulously on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Suckiest book i've read yet.

¿The Silent Boy¿ By Lois Lowry
¿His is the story I mean to write¿¿The Silent Boy, written by Lois Lowry, really caught my eyes, I thought this book would keep me on my toes throughout every page I turned but I was wrong. There were cretin parts of the book that did ...
¿The Silent Boy¿ By Lois Lowry
¿His is the story I mean to write¿¿The Silent Boy, written by Lois Lowry, really caught my eyes, I thought this book would keep me on my toes throughout every page I turned but I was wrong. There were cretin parts of the book that did pull me into the book but if you ask me the book was extremely slow.
I was expecting the book to be centered on ¿the silent boy¿, Jacob but the protagonist was Katy Thatcher. This book is in the point of view of a six year old girl who is seven years old by the end of the book. Her father is a doctor and Katy loves going in her dads buggy as he goes to treat patients, she meets a boy who keeps all to himself and
never talks named Jacob Stoltz. Katy and Jacob have a friendship like
no other but when one thing goes wrong it¿s the last time Katy will
ever see Jacob again.
I honestly did not like this book, it would be better if it talked more about The Silent Boy himself. Maybe my expectations of this book were to big, but I would not recommend this book to anyone who likes to be on their toes throughout the whole book.

Yesenia Torres
Battle Creek, MI

posted by 3torrey on January 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    The Silent Boy

    In this story, The Silent Boy, by Lois Lowry, it reflects back to a relationship between Katharine Thatcher and Jacob Stoltz, and the incident that changes their lives. Katharine is an eight year old girl who wants to become a doctor like her father, and is very interested in people. She meets a boy name Jacob, who does not talk at all. Only Katharine befriends him and understands his mind. One day she hears that Jacob has disappeared after doing something very wrong to his sister¿s baby. Katharine wants to help her friend, Jacob avoid getting in trouble. It is up to her to reach the truth in time! It is very cruel and unjust how Jacob is treated so unfairly by the people around him, even by his own family. People often call him imbecile and they isolate him from the world. When there is a fire at Schuyler¿s Mill, they all blame Jacob that he burned Schuler¿s Mill. His father rejects him and sometimes talks to him sternly. Compared to others, it is really interesting how Katharine seems so caring from the moment she meets Jacob. Unlike other people, she treats him as a friend and trusts him. She talks to him even though he does not respond back to her. She gives him a present and calls him a friend. He begins to accept and trust Katharine as his good friend. Only Katharine understands Jacob and knows the real reason what he did to the baby. This incident influences her later life in helping her to be compassionate and understanding people. It is really a delight if the next reader finds the same thrill, in the inspirational story of The Silent Boy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    By: Lois Lowry The main character in this book is Jacob Stoltz `The silent boy¿. Jacob does not talk or learn like others do, but he loves animals. Katy is Jacob¿s neighbor and they became friends. Katy¿s Dad is a doctor that has his office next to their house. Katy wants to be a doctor like her Dad and she becomes one later in life. Peggy was Katy¿s family nanny and Jacob¿s sister. Jacob lives next door to Katy¿s family & helps the family by working with their horses. He does not go to school like the other kids. Peggy¿s sister Nellie had a baby when she was really young. Nellie was confused about motherhood and left the baby alone. No one in Jacob¿s family wanted the baby, so he took the baby to Katy¿s mom but the cold had killed the baby before he had got there. The court had decided to put Jacob in an asylum for the rest of his life when he was only 14. Jacob did not know he was doing anything wrong. Katy never saw Jacob Stoltz again. . The setting is between 1908 to 1911 in an old farm town. Katy is telling the story to her great -grandchildren later in life The story is mostly about a boy named Jacob that is kind of slow and does not talk. He was a nice boy that loved animals. No one understood him except Katy. I liked the story because I like books about people¿s lives whether they are real or not. I connect to the book because I used to not be able to talk because of my speech. I can connect to his world because I know how frustrating it is when no one understands you. I have never read a book like this before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    Very good book

    This is a great book i had to do a book report on it and i had so much to write about just read it and you'll know what i mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    The story starts in 1987 when Katy Thatcher is an old lady, with great-grand children. She is reminiscing on her childhood and the boy she met who, without saying a word and without even looking at her, changed her life. She has a flashback to late 1910, when Dr. Thatcher, Katy's father, is preparing for a baby around the house and has a hired girl come out to work inside the house. Katy first sees Jacob here, but doesn't understand why he doesn't speak or go to school. The hired girl, his sister, explains that he is 'touched in the head.' Now we would call this a form of autism. Later that year Katy sees one of her mother's clothes catalogues and sees a picture of maternity dresses. The hired girl, Peggy, explains that maternity is when women are pregnant. Katy has 'the talk' from her father. Katy also learns that Jacob has the job of drowning the unwanted newborn kittens, but wouldn't harm anything in the world if he could help it. Katy finds Jacob with her horses one night. She realizes he has a way with animals. In 1911 Katy sees how Nellie, Peggy's sister, and Paul, Austin's brother like each other. At first she think's it's cute but then she is scared of them when they get mad at her for accidentally walking in on them while they were having 'alone time.' A few months later Katy has a birthday party. She wants Jacob to come but he isn¿t allowed to be there. Katy still mentions to him she would have enjoyed him there. Out of their sort of friendship he gives you a newborn kitten. Katy also learns her mom gave birth to a sister, who is unnamed for a while. Life goes by normally until a rainy night when Jacob is missing. Katy sees something happening in the baby¿s room but she¿s not allowed to see. Also, Nellie can¿t be found either. When Katy is coming downstairs she sees into the baby¿s room and understands what happened. She goes and sees Jacob in the barn. She tells him she knows what happened: How Nellie had a baby and didn¿t want it so she left. Nobody else wanted it in her family so Jacob tried to save it by taking it to Katy¿s mom but the cold killed the baby. Dr. Thatcher takes Jacob to court and they put him in the asylum. Katy never sees him again. This story is one of friendship and how it doesn¿t have anything to do with words. Friends don¿t have to speak, just understand, like Jacob and Katy. Lois Lowry shows in a great way how remarkable things can happen if we just listen past words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2005

    VERY good

    I thought this book was very good. The ending did leave me in a bit of confusion, but it was still good. I would recomend this book to anyone who could read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2004

    A Great Book

    I really enjoyed the pictures in front of the chapters, they really helped me picture what is going on. It wasn't only about Jacob. The last part was really sad when Jacob got taken away when he meant no harm. I greatly recomend this book to all ages, Very well writen. The nursery thing almost drove me to insanity but that is a good thing, I wanted to know soo much what was in that room, it turned out to be really sad. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1