Customer Reviews for

The Silent Governess

Average Rating 4.5
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Another Hit from Klassen

Julie Klassen has become one of my new favorite historical fiction writers. Her books bring to life Regency England and make reading history fun even for those who normally hate reading history. In this book, we meet Olivia Keene, a young woman escaping her past who is ...
Julie Klassen has become one of my new favorite historical fiction writers. Her books bring to life Regency England and make reading history fun even for those who normally hate reading history. In this book, we meet Olivia Keene, a young woman escaping her past who is caught in the wrong place at the wrong time. She becomes injured and cannot speak and is placed on the staff at an estate. There she meets Edward, who is the heir of the estate who has his own secretive past. The two soon find out that they are connected because of this past and seek to find out why all the secrets had to exist.

This book totally plays out like a gothic romance or something akin to a Jane Austen novel. Klassen brings to life both the aristocrats and the servants by allowing to reader to see behind the scenes of life at an estate. I enjoyed reading about what it was like to be a governess in that time period and the solitary lifestyle they were supposed to live was sad. It was different from the life of a teacher because you were there 24/7 and had no contact with the outside world or even the adults in the house. My favorite part of the book was the transformation of Croome throughout the story. I was convinced from the beginning of the book that he was a dodgy character that was up to no good and could be potentially harmful to both Olivia and Edward. As the story progressed, we see that armor that's been protecting him all these years begin to chip away slowly to reveal a character that's not what he seems. It was definitely one of the best transformations in a story complete with heartache, humor and joy.

What I like best about Klassen's books is that she weaves a mystery inside all her historical tales. They are done extremely well, to the point where (and shame on me) I HAVE to peek at the end to find out what really happens. This is no fault to the author as the storyline is written very well. I'm just very impatient and want to find out the ending very quickly. I was pleasantly surprised with the ending on this one. It was not what I had expected and I had to flip back to see what I had missed. Also there is not a heavy focus on romance. While the subject is there and a good deal of the plot is focused on it, the story is not a regency romance and more attention is paid to the mystery. There are a few slow sections in the book that do drag on a little, mainly because the action does not take place in the central location. They are not really a bother, but I did find myself wanting to get back to the heart of the story.

Overall I really enjoyed reading this book. The storyline is intriguing, the characters engaging and the setting just sumptuous. I can easily see myself transported back to this time period and living among the characters. Julie's books have been a delight to read and I eagerly await her next offering. If you are a big fan of Regency novels, this is a must read.

posted by Deborah_K on April 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good

I like Julie Klassen's works but this one wasn't up to other efforts.
The "reason" for the Governess silence is too contrived and impossible
to enforce. But, I enjoy Klassen's writing and the details she offers
describing the era. Better choices would be Lady of Mi...
I like Julie Klassen's works but this one wasn't up to other efforts.
The "reason" for the Governess silence is too contrived and impossible
to enforce. But, I enjoy Klassen's writing and the details she offers
describing the era. Better choices would be Lady of Milkweed Manor
and the Maid of Fairbourne Hall.

posted by alfFL on July 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another Hit from Klassen

    Julie Klassen has become one of my new favorite historical fiction writers. Her books bring to life Regency England and make reading history fun even for those who normally hate reading history. In this book, we meet Olivia Keene, a young woman escaping her past who is caught in the wrong place at the wrong time. She becomes injured and cannot speak and is placed on the staff at an estate. There she meets Edward, who is the heir of the estate who has his own secretive past. The two soon find out that they are connected because of this past and seek to find out why all the secrets had to exist.

    This book totally plays out like a gothic romance or something akin to a Jane Austen novel. Klassen brings to life both the aristocrats and the servants by allowing to reader to see behind the scenes of life at an estate. I enjoyed reading about what it was like to be a governess in that time period and the solitary lifestyle they were supposed to live was sad. It was different from the life of a teacher because you were there 24/7 and had no contact with the outside world or even the adults in the house. My favorite part of the book was the transformation of Croome throughout the story. I was convinced from the beginning of the book that he was a dodgy character that was up to no good and could be potentially harmful to both Olivia and Edward. As the story progressed, we see that armor that's been protecting him all these years begin to chip away slowly to reveal a character that's not what he seems. It was definitely one of the best transformations in a story complete with heartache, humor and joy.

    What I like best about Klassen's books is that she weaves a mystery inside all her historical tales. They are done extremely well, to the point where (and shame on me) I HAVE to peek at the end to find out what really happens. This is no fault to the author as the storyline is written very well. I'm just very impatient and want to find out the ending very quickly. I was pleasantly surprised with the ending on this one. It was not what I had expected and I had to flip back to see what I had missed. Also there is not a heavy focus on romance. While the subject is there and a good deal of the plot is focused on it, the story is not a regency romance and more attention is paid to the mystery. There are a few slow sections in the book that do drag on a little, mainly because the action does not take place in the central location. They are not really a bother, but I did find myself wanting to get back to the heart of the story.

    Overall I really enjoyed reading this book. The storyline is intriguing, the characters engaging and the setting just sumptuous. I can easily see myself transported back to this time period and living among the characters. Julie's books have been a delight to read and I eagerly await her next offering. If you are a big fan of Regency novels, this is a must read.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I enjoyed reading this novel. I loved the characters, the plot. it was hard to put down.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    Olivia Keene has a secret

    I loved this book from beginning to end. There were certain twists and turns in the story that had me gasping in surprise. With Julie Klassen's book I can lose track of time and found out that I have been reading for hours. Julie is a wonderful writer and she has made it to my list of top 5 favorite authors. I can't wait for her next book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    This Silent Governess Speaks Volumes!

    I have read all of Klassen's books, and they're all phenomenal. However, this one outshines the rest in terms of realistic characterization, mystery, suspense, and drama. Klassen beautifully weaves the themes of identity and trust into this novel where no one is who they seem to be. Though I'm looking forward to future books from Klassen, it's hard to imagine that any will outshine this!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Great book

    Love all her books but this is my favorite

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    My FAV Julie Klassen so far!!!

    This Julie Klassen is my absolute favorite! I have read all four of her books, and this one is my most favorite. I especially liked the story line & plot. I was on the edge of my seat the ENTIRE time I first read the book. Since then, I have re-read it several times and loved it every time. I would definitely recommend this book as a good mystery/suspense/romance read. AWESOME book!! :D

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    Really enjoyed this book!

    I have now read all of Julie Klassen's books and I think I like this one best of all! Exceptional character development and very interesting story line - I hope Ms. Klassen writes another book soon! I have loved each of them!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Twists and turns!

    I enjoyed trying to figure out this story. Some I guessed and some surprised me. Good read and neat characters!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Wonderful book.

    Wonderful story and very well written!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    The Silent Governess by Julie Klassen

    THE SILENT GOVERNESS by Julie Klassen is an Inspirational fiction romance. It is written with rich detail of the Regency era. It gives insight into the family members, the governess and other servants in the household during this era. The story has romance, intrigue, mystery, family secrets, faith, friendship and loyalty. It will capture you from the first page until the last. The main characters are realistic and charming. The secondary characters are charming and enchanting they help carry the story along. This is a delightful story with wonderful characters. If you enjoy the Regency era, history, romance and mystery you will totally enjoy this one. It is a keeper. I would highly recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Silent Governess

    This is just a really fun, interesting book.

    Olivia is pretty much blackmailed into working at Brightwell Court after overhearing a secret about the owner's son (an adult). She's soon appointed to be the children's governess, and she kind of develops a thing for the owner's son (hence why I stressed he's an adult).

    There's a love story and a mystery and it's just fun.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    I absolutely loved this book! I have read all of Julie Klassen's books and this one is my favorite. This book was so well written and you fall easily in love with the characters. I could not put this book down and I loved the connection and love that was built between the two main characters. I can not wait for her to write her next book! You must read this!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    excellent read for Everyone!!!!

    this book is an excellent read!! really it is. i read it and i LOVED it!! it is clean and wholesome and funny......i reccommend it to everyone!!
    i love to just escape the trials of everyday life and this is the perfect type of read for that.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Good read

    I enjoyed this story so much the characters revisited me in my dreams. I grew to love them all. I was saddenened when my fears of the blackmailers was confirmed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Good

    I like Julie Klassen's works but this one wasn't up to other efforts.
    The "reason" for the Governess silence is too contrived and impossible
    to enforce. But, I enjoy Klassen's writing and the details she offers
    describing the era. Better choices would be Lady of Milkweed Manor
    and the Maid of Fairbourne Hall.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Highly recommended. Great story.

    Olivia is a strong female character. The story had a beginning, middle and end. The Lord Bradley character was a little weak, but Olivia's strength made up for it. A very good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Good Buy and Good Read!

    This book is definitely worth reading and buying. I ABSOLUTELY loved this book very much!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    A definite treasure!

    See, Olivia is on the run and is hiding a deep secret. Nearly simultaneously, Lord Bradley has discovered a family secret. So, in order for Lord Bradley to maintain his secret of all secrets, that Olivia mistakenly overheard, he must guard the person who knows. Ergo, the plot that truely doesn't unravel until the very end. Like the other Klassen novels, you know you have a good, historical Regency romance. But what you don't know is what to expect from chapter to chapter. You just have this uncontrollable drive to keep reading. I LOVE THIS STUFF!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Like Heaven

    This book is so twisted and always throws you for a loop every time you think you figured it out. I adore Julie Klassen's books. I have never been dissapointed by any of her writings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    I loved it.

    This book had me from page one, I didn't want it to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10