Customer Reviews for

Silent Hero: a tribute to Nintendo's The Legend of Zelda

Average Rating 4.5
( 429 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(306)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

READ THIS MESAGE

Firstly, if you really want to understand anything that happens in this book, you should at least play Ocarina of Time, Majora's Mask, and Twilight Princess. I promise you it will be worth it. Second, I have tried writing fan fiction before. It's not easy, and the pe...
Firstly, if you really want to understand anything that happens in this book, you should at least play Ocarina of Time, Majora's Mask, and Twilight Princess. I promise you it will be worth it. Second, I have tried writing fan fiction before. It's not easy, and the people who can really do it on the level of a best-seller are the ones who write Star Wars novels. This may not be the best book you'll ever read, but I give it a 5-star rating because it probably is the best unsponsored fan fiction you'll ever read. Finally, to those who say Link should always be with Zelda, try to remember that in the storyline he does have free will, easy as that is to forget when you direct him with your control stick. Those of you who have played Skyward Sword know the recurring events in Link's multiple lives are not the result of his destiny(or at least not as we commonly use the term), so I think we can safely say his personal life does not have to remain the same throughout his lives.

posted by Anonymous on March 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Just another bad fanfic

When you look at the cover of this book, you expect to get just another poorly written fanfiction. It delivers just that. The overall premise of the book is to cram every element from the Zelda series into one short novel. This creates problems. The fact is that the boo...
When you look at the cover of this book, you expect to get just another poorly written fanfiction. It delivers just that. The overall premise of the book is to cram every element from the Zelda series into one short novel. This creates problems. The fact is that the book is rushed because of its attempt to include everything it can. Everything in the plot happens so fast and you never get a feel for the characters or the locations in the story. The writing and dialogue is pretty average, but has some very low moments as well.

Overall I would say that the author needs to think smaller. Every single element from the series creates the need for a longer story, which would probably need to be split up by different novels. It may be a fanfiction based on already existing material, but that does not mean it has to be unoriginal.

posted by Gooey on December 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 306 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    READ THIS MESAGE

    Firstly, if you really want to understand anything that happens in this book, you should at least play Ocarina of Time, Majora's Mask, and Twilight Princess. I promise you it will be worth it. Second, I have tried writing fan fiction before. It's not easy, and the people who can really do it on the level of a best-seller are the ones who write Star Wars novels. This may not be the best book you'll ever read, but I give it a 5-star rating because it probably is the best unsponsored fan fiction you'll ever read. Finally, to those who say Link should always be with Zelda, try to remember that in the storyline he does have free will, easy as that is to forget when you direct him with your control stick. Those of you who have played Skyward Sword know the recurring events in Link's multiple lives are not the result of his destiny(or at least not as we commonly use the term), so I think we can safely say his personal life does not have to remain the same throughout his lives.

    21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Just Finished This...

    A flawless transition from game video games to a novel. I love the way the history of the series is woven together.

    As others have said if you're a fan of Legend of Zelda you won't be disappointed. The end may depress you though.

    How often does free and quality go in hand in hand?

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Wonderful!

    Greatest book I've ever read! And heck, I'm 10!

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Review from a person named Zelda

    I love the games but have always felt bad for zelda it was never her fault things went wrong. I don't know why zelda is not introduced sooner. And who th heck is Minda or who ever cuz LINK AND ZELDA NEED TO BE TOGTHER LIKE HARRY AND GINNY

    8 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    P PER Per Everyone will love

    A great book to read,its like a new Zelda game put in book form. Everyone would in enjoy this book, zelda fan or not.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Anonymous

    My sister got this book & she loves it... I can't wait to read it, but that's just 'cause I absolutely LOVE the Zelda games... I'm practically addicted to them...lol

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Pretty good

    It mashes three videogames into a perfect book : Ocarina of time, majora's mask, and twilight princess. Pure genius! A must read!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    AWESOME!!!!!

    This book is awesome, but i wish the author would have separated the story into multiple books to include more detail. Overall, a great book :-)

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Awesome

    I love the book! It has everything you would want.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Amazing!!!!!

    This book was so friggin awesome!! If u love the zelda games u will enjoy this book majorly! Even if u havent played zelda, u will still like it.

    And for thise who dont know who midna is:
    1) play twilight princess
    2) do u really not know who she is? Play all the games!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Read now

    Good book even non zelda fans will love it

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love legend of zelda. I think this book is amazing too. I hated how minda dies though. I wasnt expecting that. But other than that its an ammazing book!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Needs a sequal

    Most of the time i don't like fan fiction but this one is pretty good. It had sadness, action , and love i enjoyed

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Loved the games and adore this book!

    As a fan of the games I loved this story! I could imagine all the places they were talking about. If you are a fan of the game you will be a fan of this book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Great read

    I thought this was a very good read. The book made me want to play the game. Lol great read highly recommed to zelda fans!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    cool

    Cool and sweet story

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!

    One of the best books I ever read, truely amazing

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    by kitten

    i read this book and i loved im a midina fan

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Great fan novel

    Got concepts of game itself and they fused together for a great read :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Zelda fanatic

    I loved this book! Once i started readin it i coulnt stop

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 306 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16