Customer Reviews for

Silent Kills

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 5, 2013

    Silent Kills is a kind of procedural, but a lot more, and C.E. L

    Silent Kills is a kind of procedural, but a lot more, and C.E. Lawrence is that rare item, a series writer who gets better. Her Precinct is a little grim, nuts and sometimes funny. Try a rugby-playing boss cop married to a dangerous femme fatale and a detective who’s very afraid of dogs forced into close proximity with a German Shepherd.

    Most crime books are all plot, stripped and dead. Lawrence doesn’t have this problem. She can go into the perp’s mind and find interesting thoughts, then show them slipping into sick, damaged thinking. Princetonian profiler Lee Campbell was interesting from the outset of this series, living at the edge of clinical depression, exasperating and very real. Everyone knows someone like this – really cool, good-looking, but dragging through life without hope. Campbell just happens to be smart and interesting, and unlike many of this type, he just won’t quit. Not a high energy guy, but somehow he maintains an enticing exotic girlfriend along with his work and his neuroses. Lawrence puts him in a very believable New York City world that somehow co-exists with her Gothic imagination in a natural unforced way. Silent Kills moves at a pace that is hard to match, without losing depth. It’s taut and relaxed, and it never stops moving. When she goes off the genre reservation, she gets away with it, because she goes to interesting places. A meeting of the Vidocq Society for example, where Campbell’s Armenian girlfriend meets Someone New.
    And Lawrence’s characters lock in. You never ask yourself who someone is, even if they’ve been out of the narrative for a while. Her subliminal branding-iron identifies them indelibly – steampunk kid, sloppy cop, atheist Muslim street-vendor, crazy-beauty wife, whomever. You don’t forget the well-named Detective Butts and his appetite or a horny Valkyerie like Elena Krieger, or the smell of lamb as the street-vendor’s wife get him hot.
    Lawrence is right on top of what’s going on in this century. As the narcissist-escapees of steampunk fake their way along through the anniversary of 9/11, you get the dark side of American Exceptionalism. It’s a perfect world for Davey, her well-bred good-looking steam-punk killer, who needs fresh blood to really be himself. Davey is sharp, he has style, and he’s convincing, and his evolution is artfully traced. None of your generic vampire teeth-to-the-throat – this isn’t Anne Rice warmed over. Davey is very professional, and he works hard. It takes a lot out of him finding appropriate victims, but it comes back in the cocktail that follows, or a transfusion. But he needs more and more blood, and even the most careful serial killer gets caught up in a rising tempo.
    Likewise the reader. When cops, profiler, killer, and victim's brother drive upstate and converge on a steampunk gathering in Troy, Lawrence gives you the same frantic madness that capped Silent Victim. If you’re on the subway, you probably miss your stop.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    Burn Around the Clock!

    "Silent Kills" opens at a steampunk club in downtown New York City in a no-man’s-land East of Chinatown. It ends in Oakwood Cemetery in Troy, New York, where profiler Lee Campbell comes face-to-face with a serial killer who has become known as the Van Cortland Vampire because of a peculiar ritual he inflicts on each victim postmortem. In between, C.E. Lawrence takes us straight into the mind’s eye not only of the killer, but that of her remarkable main character.

    Campbell is a psychologist of considerable depth, a man with insight and intelligence, but he’s also damaged by a tragic past that drives him forward into his work. The fact that he moves into the dark heart of the case even though he’s scared or uncomfortable makes him unique and memorable. Lawrence surrounds him with a sturdy but eccentric ensemble cast, and in elegant prose, gives us a love-letter to the city of New York in its post-9/11 melancholy.

    What I liked most about the book was that there were no false shocks or manufactured action. The book felt true. It takes a writer of great confidence to turn her lamp down low and let it burn around the clock as she slowly builds to the suspenseful final scene that is definitely worth waiting for.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    The third book in C.E. Lawrence's psychological thriller series

    The third book in C.E. Lawrence's psychological thriller series featuring forensic profiler Lee Campbell, Silent Kills further explores the lives of Campbell’s intriguing colleagues as a new deranged murderer drains victims of their blood. 

    The team is hunting a killer who does not harm his victims in any way – unless, of course, you count their deaths by exsanguination. As Lee builds his profile and his colleagues research the steampunk culture in which the killer seems to hunt, readers get to see the inner workings of the mystery man’s mind through chapters from his point of view. The result is an on-the-edge-of-your-seat thriller that explores the psyches of both detectives and criminals.

    This book is perfect for readers who enjoy really well-developed characters -- Lawrence's detectives and crime specialists are much more realistic than those in other books in this genre. The author does a great job of creating complex relationships between Lee Campbell and his colleagues and even between the killer and his victims. Strong female characters like Lee’s love interest forensic anthropologist Kathy Azarian and Elena Krieger, the linguistic expert, complement a host of male detectives who use professionalism to hide a grab bag of insecurities. Lee himself suffers from severe depression and general anxiety disorder stemming from his sister’s disappearance and an insatiable need to hunt the worst evils haunting New York City. Even though this is the third book in Lawrence’s Lee Campbell series, readers will have no trouble jumping into these characters’ lives.

    The thriller also offers a peek into post 9/11 New York City, steampunk culture, and Lee’s traditional Scottish upbringing. It is a very smart book full of literary references and a healthy understanding of a long tradition of detective literature. C.E. Lawrence does a fantastic job of weaving many different cultures and people together to create a very realistic picture of crime solving in one of America’s biggest cities. Readers should be prepared for quite a bit of character and setting description that occasionally pull away from the otherwise fast-paced plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    THe Series Is Awesome

    I can so totally identify with the main character of Ms. Lawrence's books. The development of each of her characters transfers me New York and I feel as if I am there solving the crime along with the main Character Lee. I read the first two books in two days, and waited patiently for the third in the series. You will enter the world of Steampunk, which I had NEVER heard of so it was a real education for me as well. My one critique was Lee's backstory which the author has advised there will be a big reveal in the nest book!!!

    Ms. Lawrence's writing style, sense of drama, and intellectual twists into my own psyche makes her books a worthwhile read. It will not disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Recommend

    Cant wait to read the 4th book, came out 8/12

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Crime Drama

    This is a very compelling crime novel. Very grusam murders take place and the murder must be found. I did enjoy this book but will probably not follow the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    SILENT KILLS will keep the thriller lover tense and tumbling.

    SILENT KILLS will keep the thriller lover tense and tumbling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Great read

    Good story i will read other books in series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    Tired same-ol..same-ol

    Same old gory gruesome story about murders, just by different author. Really getting tired of the same stories. Bored the living daylight out of me. Sorry. Couldnt even finish it. I actually threw it across the room. Geez...get out of your "what will they think" frame of mind and write whatever comes into your head and shock me, upset me, make me think long after ive read ur book. Im doing it! Why cant u? Sorry. No, Im not. But u will be if u spend ur money on this old worn out story. DM

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    Psychological page turner

    This exciting thriller features a modern day vampire on a murderous mission in New York City's steampunk scene. A profiler becomes informed regarding 'steampunks" which to leads dangerous encounters & an exciting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    You can't put it down!

    I just finished this exciting mystery and stayed up way too late to find out who was killing people in NYC (someone with a blood fascination and Steam Punk ties...) The dark world of Steam Punk was presented with intriguing detail. I am getting hooked on this series, book 4 is coming soon? I hope?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Exciting read!

    Once again C.E. Lawrence thrills with Silent Kills. I really was glad to be back with the old gang of characters in Silent Screams and Silent Victim. Lee, Lisa, Charles, and the others are near and dear. This novel was set in the "steampunk" world...(you'll have to read it to find out what that is)...it was a very good read. Looking forward to her next book set to come out Dec. 2012.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Interesting read

    Having never read any of the other in this series, I was expecting the run of the mill thriller, filled with who dun its and chases especially given that the murderer was a serial killer. I found that, but a whole lot more as well. This is very much a psychological book about grief, loss and death. I found it havinga quality of introspection, making me (the reader) look at my own feelings about death. To me this book felt very "deep" and for that I was both surprised and delighted. It is so much more than it appears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    terrific police procedural

    NYPD criminal profiler Lee Campbell has returned to work after a leave of absence, but the depression caused by his sister's disappearance led to a nervous breakdown that crippled and hospitalized him The depression remains strong just at a lesser degree of intensity. His current case is profiling the killer of Candy Nugent who was seen at a steampunk club before dying from exsanguination. While Bronx Major Crimes Unit Chief Morton comments about The Bride of Dracula, Lee fears this draining of the blood indicates that the cops are dealing with a tyro serial killer just starting a reign of terror.

    Lee's prediction proves true when three more victims are found from a predator who injects his victims with a sedative to make it easier for him to remove his target from a club crowd before draining the blood. What the police do not know is that this psychopath drinks the blood. The young dead females remind Lee of his sibling, which increases the level of his depression.

    Although insane serial killers running rampart (see Silent Victims and Silent Screams) are as frequent as mindless zombies and angst vampires, C.E. Lawrence refreshes the theme with a mentally wounded protagonist struggling with a nasty case that reminds him of the cause of his depression. The story line occurs when 9/11 remains fresh in the minds of New Yorkers, which adds tension to the tale. Rotating point of view enables the audience to understand the beast's motivation while the protagonist displays his raw sensitivities on his sleeve. Scream III is a terrific police procedural.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended.

    This story takes place in New York City one year after 9/11 takes place. Not only is profiler Lee Campbell trying to catch a murderer, he is also still trying to deal with the loss of his sister, and the emotions that goes along with the healing that is still going on after 9/11. Lee must help catch a killer. A killer who is draining his victims of all their blood and posing them the most obvious places. This killer is not trying to hide his kills at all. Lee, and his fellow detectives involved in this case, must enter the Steampunk world to find their killer before he kills again.

    I do not read very many mystery/thriller books, but I do like to read them from time to time. This book sucked me in. The characters seemed almost real to me. You could almost feel the emotion in this book. There was nothing perfect about Lee Campbell and the things he is dealing with in his personal life. I love flawed characters. I was not sure how this book would end and the ending was not what I expected. I do think I am going to have to add C. E. Lawrence to my read list and keep an eye out for his next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2