Customer Reviews for

The Silent Land

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fans of Lost

I really enjoyed the mystery of this book. Be careful of reading reviews...will likely give too much away. If you like post apocalyptic books, this one might be for you. My only regret is that it's a quick read.

posted by kimbrly86 on May 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

English husband and wife Jake and Zoe take a ski vacation to th


English husband and wife Jake and Zoe take a ski vacation to the French Alps and. as the story opens, they have been buried by an avalanche. They manage to dig themselves out and head straight back to their hotel where they are surprised to find everyone gone. Is it po...

English husband and wife Jake and Zoe take a ski vacation to the French Alps and. as the story opens, they have been buried by an avalanche. They manage to dig themselves out and head straight back to their hotel where they are surprised to find everyone gone. Is it possible all the inhabitants of the town were evacuated, leaving them behind? Will someone come back to get them?

As time goes on, odd things begin to happen—cell phones that don’t work the way one would expect, cars that will only go so far, food that doesn’t seem to spoil. Is it possible that something far more sinister is going on?

The Silent Land is an hypnotic story with a distinctively creepy feel to it and narrator John Lee has the ideal voice for it. In the end, each reader/listener must decide whether the truth here is devastatingly sad or unutterably romantic. In the end, although I enjoyed the story, I felt it was a bit thin for its length and would work better as a short story.

posted by BuriedUnderBooks on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    English husband and wife Jake and Zoe take a ski vacation to th


    English husband and wife Jake and Zoe take a ski vacation to the French Alps and. as the story opens, they have been buried by an avalanche. They manage to dig themselves out and head straight back to their hotel where they are surprised to find everyone gone. Is it possible all the inhabitants of the town were evacuated, leaving them behind? Will someone come back to get them?

    As time goes on, odd things begin to happen—cell phones that don’t work the way one would expect, cars that will only go so far, food that doesn’t seem to spoil. Is it possible that something far more sinister is going on?

    The Silent Land is an hypnotic story with a distinctively creepy feel to it and narrator John Lee has the ideal voice for it. In the end, each reader/listener must decide whether the truth here is devastatingly sad or unutterably romantic. In the end, although I enjoyed the story, I felt it was a bit thin for its length and would work better as a short story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Not worth $10

    Ok story. Could have been wrapped up in 50 pages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Use your imagination

    This book was pretty good, thought it dragged on for longer than it had to. You could guess where this goes and I really thought the book would have been way better if they created a different reason for why they were stranded. But it was a quick easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    One of the best books I've read in a long time

    The Silent Land is one of the few books I've read in its entirety in one sitting. Stirring up a number of emotions (happiness, sadness, fear, anxiety -- to name a few) Joyce does an amazing job at bringing you into the story. Character development is phenomenal. I wanted more. Should be on everyone's short list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fans of Lost

    I really enjoyed the mystery of this book. Be careful of reading reviews...will likely give too much away. If you like post apocalyptic books, this one might be for you. My only regret is that it's a quick read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A solid novel, if somewhat repetitive

    This book sounded so good, and the first couple chapters were really good. The detail of the avalanche seemed realistic to me, and I found myself wondering what I would do with my freedom. However, the repetion of the testing, waking up, food descriptions and more got a little boring. I saw the ending coming a mile away, but it was a solid read, but one I won't pick up again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dark and fascinating fiction

    On a skiing vacation in the French Alps, a young married couple, Jake and Zoe, are buried under an avalanche. As they finally dig their way out of the snow they find themselves totally alone in a changed and silent world.

    Nothing is the same as before; even the concept of time seems to have been altered in this new world. Their concern mounts as their isolation increases and with it their fears of another avalanche. No matter how many times they try to leave the resort, they always wind up back in the same place, at the same hotel.

    Not similar but with the same overwhelming feeling of desolation as THE ROAD by Cormack McCarthy, this is a dark and frightening novel from cult favorite Graham Joyce. Although it dragged a bit in the middle, I thoroughly enjoyed reading THE SILENT LAND and look forward to reading other books by this award winning author. Lynn Kimmerle

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Great read!

    I read this book as I had just finished Joyce's "Some Kind of Fairy Tale" which I loved. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and was disappointed when it ended. I've been recommending this book to all my friends at work too. Graham Joyce is an exceptional and brilliant writer. I can't wait to read all of his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    MEDIOCRE

    Not that thrilling or suspenseful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Awesome!!!!!

    Reminescent of Stephen King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    A love story that crosses all boundaries

    Loved it! Love and the supernatural intertwine. Rich with detail it reads like watching a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Predictable yet Poignant: A Love Story

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2