Customer Reviews for

Silent Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    My Favorite So Far of the John Sanford "Prey Series"

    Wow! What a great read! I'm reading the series from start-to-finish & it just gets better & better at fulfilling its promise to be exceptional. This book was terrific from beginning-to-end ... full of plot twists + vivid character description. It also shows how damned smart Lucas Davenport is & why he's so good at what he does. A welcome bonus is that an even more human side of him continues to be revealed.

    1 caution to new readers - The continuity of the plots & "supporting cast of characters" runs from book-to-book, so it's best to read them in order vs randomly. Otherwise you'll be "all over the map" trying to sort out the details you should already know.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Fantastic Reading

    I love this man's writing style and the Prey series is wonderful reading for me. He seems to hit all the twists and turns and makes it a believable story all the way through. There is the slow and grinding police work involved and nothing superhuman about the investigations of the crimes. I give all of these books the same ratings and reviews.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Wonderful Series - fast paced and keeps you on the edge.

    Can't wait to finish one so I can start on the next!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Page-turner!

    I stayed up to keep readong rather than go to bed. A page-turner with more twists and turns than a bag of pretzels! I am in the process of re-reading the Prey series in chronilogical order. Sandford gets better with each novel he writes. I barely finish one before I am looking forward to the next in the sequence!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific thriller!

    John Sandford has such a great skill set when it comes to creating flawed characters. Whether it be truly evil Michael Bekker, some morally ambiguous New York City cops, or his protagonist, Lucas Davenport. I really enjoyed seeing the fish out of water as Davenport has to deal with the big city. Bekker is such a terrifying villain. One of recent fiction's best. The dialogue and plot were very good as usual. The side story involving Robin Hood wasn't as interesting as the main tale but overall this was a very good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    A REAL PAGE TURNER

    John Sanford has done it again, I couldn't put the book down. Excellent!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Hunting Grounds

    These are the SwiftClan hunting grounds. SwiftClan's main food sources are rabbits, mice, and birds, so expect to see a lot of those. Sometimes, I will put prey posts.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    A strange noise

    A strange(twoleg) noise comes from the forest

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Shadesong

    I obviously know youve been back

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Liongod

    THEY ARE MY KITS! I SHOVED MY REPRODUCTIVE ORGANS INTO SUNDAPPLE'S BABY HOLE! I WAS TRYING TO VISIT MY KITS, AND SUNDAPPLE GOT VIOLENT!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2008

    Poor excuse of a book

    This book was bland and that is an understatement. Sandford is a good writer however his plots are very basic. Nothing leaves you thinking after you are done. This book was the 7th I have read from him and its the worst to date. The others have been 4's for me but in this one, it's so straight forward. No twists, turns -- you are left bored at times. He is good at what he does but if you have read folks like Crais or Connelly this author bore you. He is a bit to easy to read. I mean nothing leaves me wanting more or scratchin my head but at least his ideas are pretty good but just not put to words as well as I have read from others in this genre.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2002

    Again, it was Aight

    I would say that you could read this book without necessarily reading other Stanford books...I did. I liked this book, but at times, it bored me. I liked reading about Bekker's character not because he was a murderer, but because every time you met up with him, it was new and unpredictable. I think people should read this book if they have nothing better to do.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2001

    NOT AS GOOD AS OTHERS!!!!

    This is the fifth 'Prey' book I have read and I liked it least of all. This is a follow up on 'Eyes of Prey'. If you do read this one you need to read 'Eyes' first. The story starts out ok with Dr. Bekker escaping from the place where his trial is being held. Lucus is asked to go to New York to help find him, but he is also asked to help see if cops are involved in killing people. They are called Robin Hoods. It is really a story in a story, was confusing to me. I had trouble following both things going on. May just be a slow mind on my part. Lucus is his usual bed hopping self. I don't like that part about his character, but then I guess I don't have to read these if I don't. The book ends ok but I just never got a good feel for the book. this is the first book by Sandford that I almost had to make myself finish it. I feel 'Winter Prey' is the best one for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4