Customer Reviews for

The Silent Sea (Oregon Files Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 327 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    One of the BEST

    This is a grabber right from the beginning. My only regret is that I didn't start with the first book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Silent Sea

    Clive Cussler's novels are so fascinating. This one begins with five brothers exploring a shaft on a small island rumored to hold pirate's treasures. Then the US is brought into the Second World War with the bombing of Pearl Harbor. This prologue pulled me in and I am glad it did. Fast forward to the present, Cussler's hero Cabrillo is trying to recover a US satellite that crashed the jungles of Argentina and finds the remnants of a blimp. From the jungles to Antarctica the adventure builds up with enough action to keep Cabrillo busy. This definitely was one page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    a good read

    The Silent Sea is a can't put down book like many of Clive Cussler's other books. Each page has you wanting to keep turning the page to find out what happens next. He does jump from one set of characters to the other and he is good at intergrating them at the same time as their stories meet towards the last quarter of the book. Juan Cabrillo is deffently has his hands full in this adventure. And there is an unexpected event that will have anyone in tears as they are reading. I think this is one of the best books I have read in a long time. Clive Cussler pulled out all the stops in this book. As I finshed the book I am anxious for the next Oregon Files installment to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Another Good one for Cussler

    I haven't read a book of Mr. Cussler that I didn't enjoy, and this was no exception. It is a easy read and flows very quickly. Can't wait till the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Nother awesome Oregon Files book from Clive Cussler and Jack DuBrul. A great pairing of two fantastic authors.

    Keep these books coming! I have all of Clive's books and all of Jack DuBrul's. I can't wait for another one from Clive relating to all of his characters and to Jack DuBrul's Philip Mercer.

    What a great pairing of these two authors. Keep up the great work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    He's done it again!

    If you don't like books with twists and turns or endings that leave you hanging, don't get this book. I have read all Cussler's books except one or two of his non-fiction books. While some are definitely better than others, I can't recall any that were just stinkers. This particular book, I thought was excellent. His books maybe more your typical "guy" type books, but I love action, adventure, and excitement and this one delivers all with a maddening ending. I am ready for the next one in this series. All his characters are believable, strong people and Cussler combines them with enough history tossed into a plot with lots of twists and turns to keep you turning the pages. He has really strong main characters, but most work with a team of some sort and all bring a different expertise to the project. This book, like most of Cussler's books, blends several historical possibilities/probabilities with believable modern day scenarios. The Oregon Files and Dirk Pitt series are my favorite of his books, but I enjoy them all. One of the things I really enjoy is that even though he writes series type books, they each will stand alone. You don't get lost because you didn't read them in order or any others before you read your first one. "Raise the Titanic" was my first many, many years ago and I scoured the country until I have and have read them all. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    Great Book from Great Author

    "Silent Sea" is a great book from Clive Cussler, though not his best one ever. The only real problems I have with this book is that he doesn't go into detail about the historical aspects of the book like he used to. It is also to get interested when the only threatening action by the protagonists in a global scale. Otherwise the book is funny, suspencefull, dramatic, informative and everything you would want in a book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    Still good after all these years!

    I've been a Clive Cussler fan for many years, and his newest work is not a disappointment! Great story line that keeps moving, twisting and turning, and you rarely know what is coming next. Great for a fun, entertaining and relaxing read that doesn't take too much mental energy or thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Very exciting story

    This installment of the Oregon Files does not disappoint. The state of the art ship, Oregon, continues to excel whilst keeping up the pretext of being an old rust bucket. Along with a paid assignment, Juan Cabrillo and the corporation go out on a limb to do the right thing. It's exciting from start to finish. Readers new to the Oregon Files will get to know the corporation's members while previous readers will be reacquainted by the brief background information. On this adventure we get to see the younger members have a little more field experience. I didn't want to put this book down and enjoyed every minute of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    Cussler and Du Brul do a fine job in a good action tale.

    I am not that much of a fan of the Oregon series, but I have learned to enjoy the technology used by the "Corportation" in solving potential earth-ending problems. They were first introduced in a Dirk Pitt novel some ways back. They were hired to help NUMA with a tricky assingment. The characters are unique and fun, so it is a good read.

    Any book with Cussler writing or sharing the authorship, as he does here, is worth the read for pure adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Boring

    I've read all of Cussler's books (Dirk Pitt) and think they're great. Excellent plots and adventure. But since Cussler has ventured away from his original characters, I find his book boring and the characters hard to get close to and are not interesting. I doubt i will buy anymore books unless he returns to his original chatacters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    Silent Sea

    I've read all of the Cussler books, all series, and enjoy the Oregon Series the best. Recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Fast paced read.

    This book is a fast and exciting read. For me, Cussler's writing style is very readable, I enjoy the characters and his stories and I find the book hard to put down once I start reading. This book was not as exciting as some of the other books of this series, but a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Can't go wrong with Clive!

    As usual, this Cussler novel reads very quickly and kept me enthralled. Clive Cussler is the only author that both my husband and I read...our tastes are usually very different. But his characters are fun and exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Clive Cussler Silent Sea

    For those who have read any of the Clive Cusser books, this one stays true to the course.
    For other who have not, this starts out as all do with fiction, blended with some truth ( ship size, crew it could hold, and or class, etc.)
    Then tells a short story, after it will jump to modern day, or a place in the near future.
    It will explain the characters, and their roles, backgrounds so you as the reader understand their roles, and their mission.
    Aso this like others tries to be as factual as possible as to the way things would be in real life.
    this book is filled with action, and adventure, like all in this series are.
    I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Above Average

    A great read! More like the exciting early Clive Cussler books. This is a fun read, exciting and great escapism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Custler at his continued best.

    Another boat ride of excitement and surprise. Nonstop action and intrigue. Tough to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    As always Cussler delivers a great fast paced exciting novel. Did not want to stop listening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    CC and Jack do it again!

    Whenever you combine two things that are great, the final product is made even better. Same goes for this latest edition of the Clive Cussler classic Oregon Files. Once again teaming up with Jack Du Brul, CC brings us back on board the Oregon. With harrowing twists and turns, a little comedy, and non-stop thrills, this work of fiction should be on all Cussler readers read list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Cussler Success!

    As always, Clive Cussler delivers an action packed, travel the globe thriller! Even if you've never read any of the other Oregon Files novels, you won't be lost reading this one first. But beware, once hooked, you'll wanted to read them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 327 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17