Customer Reviews for

Silent Spring

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Criticisms of 'Silent Spring' Inaccurate and Unfounded

To those who have not yet read this book, do not be fooled by the baseless criticism posted in negative reviews here. These negative notices are themselves ignorant of Carson's work and lack sound ecological understanding. 'Silent Spring' was published as a long...
To those who have not yet read this book, do not be fooled by the baseless criticism posted in negative reviews here. These negative notices are themselves ignorant of Carson's work and lack sound ecological understanding. 'Silent Spring' was published as a longer work, and not in a peer review journal, because of Carson's intended audience DDT was affecting the environment in immediate and horribly detrimental ways, even though scienctific studies had previously shown the destruction it wrecked. Carson wrote in a format which had the greatest ability to disseminate her work among the general public and thus have a greater effect of public policy, as was vitally needed. It was not necessary to publish in a peer journal, additionally, because the information which supported her claims already existed in the scientific world. She drew only on independent studies, which elimated common bias in studies conducted by special interest groups. The criticism which 'Silent Spring' evoked did not come from the greater scientific community, but instead from industry which relied on DDT for profit, as well as those seeking to discredit a women speaking in a field and in a role traditionally dominated by men. After the work's publication in 1961, JFK ordered an invesigation into the legitimacy of Carson's assertions this invesitgation confirmed Carson's work, and initated a decade's long environmental reform in the government. Furthermore, the environmental degradation done by DDT cannot be measured in dubious assertions of malaria deaths. Beside the baseless nature of such assertions, which fails in scientific proof, such attacks attempt to discredit an environmentalism out of ignorance in an area in which that environmentalism is strongly anchored: it seeks to protect the world as a whole, humans and nature included. If there is no world for us to live, no air to breath or water to drink, then there is no point, no effect, no good that can come out of any technoligical innovation. Essentially, do not be disuaded from reading this book by reviews here if you do not believe my argument, for whatever reason, read the book yourself, look up the facts for yourself. The facts don't lie the comments here have. For further information on what I have written here, see the work of Douglas Allchin, Professor at the University of Texas, an essay entitled 'Rachel Carson & Silent Spring'

posted by Anonymous on December 5, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Carson is not all that and a bag of chips.

Rachel Carson set out to maliciously prosecute DDT as a carcinogen because of her own cancer. DDT is not and has never been proven as a cancer causing agent and it is perfectly safe to use. The experiments citing egg shell thinning has never been reproduced and bird pop...
Rachel Carson set out to maliciously prosecute DDT as a carcinogen because of her own cancer. DDT is not and has never been proven as a cancer causing agent and it is perfectly safe to use. The experiments citing egg shell thinning has never been reproduced and bird populations that were claimed to be declining secondary to the deployment of DDT were in fact, in decline prior to the introduction of DDT to the environment. Further, DDT should not have been banned secondary to Carson¿s slander of the chemical, but public hysteria whipped up by environmental activists without any understanding of the situation caused a Federal review. A Federal judge reviewed the evidence and heard the testimony of hundreds of witnesses and concluded that DDT was a safe and effective chemical and did not pose any danger to the environment. The judge was overruled by the EPA head due to political pressure and DDT was banned, resulting in the deaths of millions of people in the third world due to malarial outbreaks. Carson became the first of many scientists to pervert science in favor of a political or personal objective. However, Carson does not stop there. She lies about the endorsement of her position by Dr. Albert Schweitzer in order to lend credibility to her jaundiced position. What I honestly don¿t understand are the glowing reports from those who claim they seek the truth, but turn a blind eye to the lies presented in Carson¿s book. If you think that I am going to recommend that you do not purchase this book, you are mistaken. I urge you to purchase it and read it from cover to cover. Then, research Carson¿s assertions and compare them with the data from scientific sources. You will be disgusted if you have any conscience at all, by what this author has done and the lives she caused to be lost due to her arrogance. In the context of pulling the wool over the public¿s eyes, this text stands out as a masterpiece.

posted by Anonymous on August 29, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    Criticisms of 'Silent Spring' Inaccurate and Unfounded

    To those who have not yet read this book, do not be fooled by the baseless criticism posted in negative reviews here. These negative notices are themselves ignorant of Carson's work and lack sound ecological understanding. 'Silent Spring' was published as a longer work, and not in a peer review journal, because of Carson's intended audience DDT was affecting the environment in immediate and horribly detrimental ways, even though scienctific studies had previously shown the destruction it wrecked. Carson wrote in a format which had the greatest ability to disseminate her work among the general public and thus have a greater effect of public policy, as was vitally needed. It was not necessary to publish in a peer journal, additionally, because the information which supported her claims already existed in the scientific world. She drew only on independent studies, which elimated common bias in studies conducted by special interest groups. The criticism which 'Silent Spring' evoked did not come from the greater scientific community, but instead from industry which relied on DDT for profit, as well as those seeking to discredit a women speaking in a field and in a role traditionally dominated by men. After the work's publication in 1961, JFK ordered an invesigation into the legitimacy of Carson's assertions this invesitgation confirmed Carson's work, and initated a decade's long environmental reform in the government. Furthermore, the environmental degradation done by DDT cannot be measured in dubious assertions of malaria deaths. Beside the baseless nature of such assertions, which fails in scientific proof, such attacks attempt to discredit an environmentalism out of ignorance in an area in which that environmentalism is strongly anchored: it seeks to protect the world as a whole, humans and nature included. If there is no world for us to live, no air to breath or water to drink, then there is no point, no effect, no good that can come out of any technoligical innovation. Essentially, do not be disuaded from reading this book by reviews here if you do not believe my argument, for whatever reason, read the book yourself, look up the facts for yourself. The facts don't lie the comments here have. For further information on what I have written here, see the work of Douglas Allchin, Professor at the University of Texas, an essay entitled 'Rachel Carson & Silent Spring'

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2007

    Carson is not all that and a bag of chips.

    Rachel Carson set out to maliciously prosecute DDT as a carcinogen because of her own cancer. DDT is not and has never been proven as a cancer causing agent and it is perfectly safe to use. The experiments citing egg shell thinning has never been reproduced and bird populations that were claimed to be declining secondary to the deployment of DDT were in fact, in decline prior to the introduction of DDT to the environment. Further, DDT should not have been banned secondary to Carson¿s slander of the chemical, but public hysteria whipped up by environmental activists without any understanding of the situation caused a Federal review. A Federal judge reviewed the evidence and heard the testimony of hundreds of witnesses and concluded that DDT was a safe and effective chemical and did not pose any danger to the environment. The judge was overruled by the EPA head due to political pressure and DDT was banned, resulting in the deaths of millions of people in the third world due to malarial outbreaks. Carson became the first of many scientists to pervert science in favor of a political or personal objective. However, Carson does not stop there. She lies about the endorsement of her position by Dr. Albert Schweitzer in order to lend credibility to her jaundiced position. What I honestly don¿t understand are the glowing reports from those who claim they seek the truth, but turn a blind eye to the lies presented in Carson¿s book. If you think that I am going to recommend that you do not purchase this book, you are mistaken. I urge you to purchase it and read it from cover to cover. Then, research Carson¿s assertions and compare them with the data from scientific sources. You will be disgusted if you have any conscience at all, by what this author has done and the lives she caused to be lost due to her arrogance. In the context of pulling the wool over the public¿s eyes, this text stands out as a masterpiece.

    8 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Brilliant, Well-Written about Yesterday, Today, and Tomorrow's Fragile Environment and Negative Human Impact of Fragile Environment with Bioaccumulation of Toxic Synthetics with a journey into it all.

    Eventhough "Silent Spring" was written in the early 1960s, it is so well written and the author so brilliant that it reads as though it were written yesterday. Utilizing published research data by the medical community, agricultural experts and similar, Carson writes about bioaccumulation of toxic synthetic chemicals in the environment and how they negatively impact wildlife, agriculture, and humans--as well as the toxins getting into the ground water and food chain--worldwide! Carson also writes about the resistance that "pests" develop within 6 months-6 years to horrific pesticides such as DDT, Lindane, Chlordane, BHC (Benzene Hexachloride) and similar including that the toxins kill the natural predators of the pests leaving superpests. This is the main area of toxicology discussed in her book, but she also mentions other areas too. Carson was supposedly one of the few women with an advanced biology degree during the time of when she wrote "Silent Spring," and she worked for the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. My only criticiem of this book is that as horrible the facts she states, she underestimates them as I suspect to keep her "job." I notice that today some USA government reports written by scientists underestimate, downplay problems (whether it is power lines or nuclear power). In "Silent Spring," Rachel Carson gives a history of pesticides such as in the years the 1800s, and mentions arsenic as one of the main ingredients though another major ingredient back then--lead--lead mixed with arsenic is not mentioned. That is, unless I missed it in my reading of her book. When lead was used then, it was also known that it was a toxin, so for it to be used then could be construed as deliberate pollution intention? Or, did she fear they would label it as a non-major ingredient and not list it? Whatever the case, at least Carson wrote about "arsenate of lead" used. From there, it gets much worse in the 21st Century, and the horrors she writes, she even mentions tank mixing of chemicals--though, you wonder if she also lacked some clarity to keep her "job"...Other than this, her writing style is beautiful as she contrasts the nice nature scenes with the human step backwards in science to create the unseen environmental disasters in a journey-type way. I read it many years ago, and it is current as new sunthetic toxins are created daily and mixed in many areas of the world. Carson was before my time, but her writtings are still about this era of history. Carson tries to get the scientific community into developing environmentally-friendly products, and to make everyone aware of the fragility of the environment. One often hears of the indigenous handlng "pests" by being better stewards of the environment so that there is not an imbalance or infestation--using birds and bats to help combat some insects, that are pests and utilizing medicinal plants as cures. Carson writes of some other "environmentally-friendly" developments, though some of those would be criticized also. This was also a testimony to her brilliance--to also show other developments.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    A great read... and probably the most interesting textbook you'll ever have

    Regardless of how you feel about the environmental movement, Carson's Silent Spring is well worth a read. Whether you agree or disagree with her stance on DDT and other synthetic insecticide use, Carson illustrates well how fragile natural ecosystems can be. No matter what we choose for an occupation, one day we'll end up influencing the world around us. It's probably best to know how to decrease the negative effect we'll have on it.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2005

    good read to make the uneducated feel smart

    This book twists and bended scientific research. This sort of subject is commonly used to cover up for the real concern: population control. Condeming millions of people to die each year, of which most are children and pregnant women in third world countries because of the ban on DDT based on such unfounded evidence is nothing but criminal! So feel good that you didnt save any birds or fish because not only does science prove DDT is one of the safest chemicles to ever come in contact with man, it saved millions before it was banned. Only 17 people died of malaria in Sari Lank while it was legal ten years later the death toll after it was banned back up to 53 million in that area alone. If you want to read something, read something so you will become educated and realize this should be a main concern of all and DDT should not be banned, the ban has caused more deaths than Hilter and Stalin combined... heck its more than the entire death toll from world war II. It is sickening why should all these people needlessly die?

    6 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    Check the studies cited by Rachel Carson

    Silent Spring is undoubtedly one of the most influencial books of our time. Recently, I encountered a letter to the editor that questioned the assertions of Silent Spring. It seemed incredible that Carson's claims about DDT had been overblown and that the Head of the EPA had banned DDT for political reasons overruling the findings of the EPA's hearing that had compiled over 9,000 pages of testimony from American and international scientific experts. I decided that I had to find out the truth because I found the idea so shocking given what I know about the devastation created by malaria. Among the many things that I came across was a transcript of a speech by Dr. J. Gordon Edward. Dr. Edwards points out many discrepancies in Silent Spring. After reading his review, I ordered a copy of James DeWitt's original article in The Journal of Agriculture and Food Chemistry from 1956 at a cost of $25.00 so see if Dr. Edward's criticisms were valid. The actual findings of Dr. DeWitt were exactly as described by Dr. Edwards which were substantially different from how they were portrayed by Rachel Carson in Silent Spring. It would seem to suggest that one should check the original research studies cited by Silent Spring. Silent Spring did not examine the use of DDT in controlled interior spraying to prevent malaria but blanket spraying in agricultural applications where the power and persistence of DDT represent an environmental hazard. The book was aimed at the general public and is a call to arms rather than a scholarly, peer reviewed work of original research. What we do know is that DDT remains the most effective method ever discovered in the prevention of malaria. The World Health Organization is currently recommending interior spraying of houses with DDT which their website states can reduce transmission by 90% and poses no environmental hazards to either wildlife or humans. The WHO's website states that a million people a year die of malaria, 30% of these are children. The WHO site shows the impact that malaria has on global poverty. 85% of the victims are in Africa. Silent Spring alerted us to a very real danger from widespread and indescriminate use of a very powerful pesticide. Silent Spring unfortunately overshadowed the fact that DDT is also a remarkable life saving technology if used in a stringently controlled and selective application.

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2004

    Great book if you are looking for baseless things

    The idea that this book presents some form of proof of anything is ridiculous. This book is purported to be 'The Book' of the environmental establishment in the sense it started the environmental revolution. If what Rachel had to say was so true and so important why didn't she publish her findings in a peer reviewed journal? The findings of this book are on the same par as the 'scientist' who discovered cold fusion...but just couldn't prove it. If anyone had written a journal paper based on the data in this book the paper would have been put in the trash can or used as kendling for a fire. Unfortunately, to many people have been misled to think Rachel actually did scientific research for this book. If the environmental movement is going to go anywhere it must distance itself from baseless claims made by those who wish to just make a name for themselves and focus on factual evidence and likely results based on that evidence...not sheer speculation.

    5 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2002

    Hope for a bleak future

    Nature, a web of energy transfers and the movement of ambitious life, broken down yields unique fibers each their own form and style; an endless matt of differentiation. Fibers defined by an independent characteristic which life and nature depend on. Rachel Carson¿s, Silent Spring, certainly changed the perceptions of all who have read it. Carson carefully wrote Silent Spring in her own soft style which incorporates scientific evidence, theory and reasoning along with the naturalistic biological observations Carson noted herself. Although, blatant evidence shows that chemicals like the: chlorinated hydrocarbons, phosphates and organophosphates mutate genes as radiation does, inhibit functions of the body, promote cancer in all cells, halt the division of cells and pass mutated DNA on to progeny. World wide these chemicals are sprayed at rates which any form of life, including humans, in any part of the world would undoubtedly absorb enough chemical residue whether directly or indirectly for the aforementioned unnatural catastrophes to take place. Carson made it clear that these chemicals have no counterparts in nature, which means nothing exists in the realm of the Earth that could break them down. They are sturdy and last the test of time, some thousands if not millions of years. Because of this, residues enter a food web in many ways. If water is contaminated in one place, water is contaminated everywhere; therefore all living beings have residues in their system and have passed them down the line. Animals not directly hit by the poisons may feed on others that have, or feed on an animal who encountered contaminated food many years ago. The poisons build up in fatty tissues where they become concentrated and sometimes multiplied. Mothers nursing newborn infants and feeding them baby foods which contain insecticidal residues never knew it, still even today. Carson has explained that insecticides, herbicides and pesticides all deserve the classification ¿biocide.¿ She describes them as biocides because these chemicals kill not only what their prefix implies but all life. One could determine this from the mere fact that all these chemicals stemmed from the poisonous gases by the U.S. in World War II. Now that industries have control over their own regulations, life as nature intended will become extinct if not all together. Rachel Carson wrote this book almost forty years ago and realistically, nothing has changed in chemical production, or the ignorant practices of agriculture. Some chemicals have been banned, although some countries still use them and residues travel across the world back and forth. Everyday, chemicals belonging to the three aforementioned groups are newly synthesized and marketed differently. Basically the same chemicals are just physically rearranged on the molecular level. Until people consider other forms of life then their own, as well as read Silent Spring, the world is headed for disaster.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Each chapter in the book offers a different environmental conce


    Each chapter in the book offers a different environmental concern. A main theme in the book suggests that deadly chemicals are being infiltrated into the atmosphere without consideration or thought of what or who may be effected by them which would be the atmosphere, bodies of water, air, soil, animals, humans, etc.  An important point that Carson is trying to get across to the reader is that humans have a moral and ethical dedication to the environment and animals. She is causing the reader to think more deeply of their actions and whether or not it is right to over-consume and use products, which could be deadly to the atmosphere. 

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Silent Spring is a well, detailed analysis and explanation about the effects of many pesticides and chemicals so widely used in the modern wold. This theme was clearly portrayed in the novel, as Carson vividly illustrates a world effected by the dangerous chemicals used today such as DDT. With an immense amount of information to be learned, Carson puts together a environmental masterpiece with the Silent Spring. As a reader I learned the many things effected by these chemicals such as plants, environment, people, and overall our dear Earth. This book is extremely recommended, as it brings forth a whole new side of danger to this environment we,as people, never knew about.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    Simple, Overwhelming, and Conclusive

    Rachel Carson's silent spring surprised me when I found that although it constantly discusses DDT it mostly focuses on daughter versions of the poison that are said to be many times more poisonous than DDT. The book constantly points out that DDT is in fact a poison that does its job well which was simply put to kill things (originally focusing on malaria carrying mosquitoes). The major point of the book is that after it killed the insects a few years later the insects would repopulate and another spraying would be necessary to kill them again and then this pattern would continue again, but what was found was that the poison built up as more was continuously added reaching lethal levels that would kill animals that had stored enough of the poison in their bodies from consuming toxic insects. The book's theme is that its beneficial to a certain extent then it becomes unacceptable. What I liked so much about this book was the fact that Rachel didn't so much attack the poison itself but the way in which the poison was used such as massive air drops of the poison and so on. She explained the idea of selective spraying that attacked key areas instead of subjecting all of the wild life to the poison. She also mentioned other methods of accomplishing the task that were given as much thought and detail as her attacks on the use of insecticide including economic benefits and other benefits giving a positive light on the situation rather than constantly droning on about why we shouldn't use the poisons. The book however does tend to lead to assumptions that weren't exactly proven with scientific evidence but more theorized by Rachel such as the dwindling numbers of a certain species of animal in or near a sprayed location. These assumptions only occur a few times in the book but other than that most of the events she mentions are very hard to falsify just by her use of common since and logical thinking. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested on this topic but I would also caution you to keep a very open mind when reading this book as it is very bias against the use of chemicals at all. If you do read the book constantly question which is the better: preserving animal life or delaying the spread of disease. Both have serious consequences but I would like to add a fact from the book which mentions the scientific study that some of these insects do in fact adapt to the chemical bombardments and then require larger dosages of poison in order to kill them off again. Overall it was a very enlightening book for me and I would without a doubt recommend it to anyone interested in the topic. CDotts

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    If you are taking any kind of Biology Class that deals with the environment; this is a most read book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Carson was the first to link surroundings to disease

    This was a nostalgic journey through a world facing nuclear and chemical solutions to its problems more for convenience than real productivity. Without her, we'd all be living next door to a nuclear reactor.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    I should have read this book 50 years ago.

    This book is well written and if you have a little background in chemistry and biology you will understand the dangers past, present and future of what we are doing to our planet and ourselves. Having grown up in a heavily industrialized town during the 50s and 60s my brother and I morbidly joke, wondering what kind of cancer we are going to die from. Like my brother and I, my wife also grew up downwind of these same plants that burned the cheapest high sulfur coal possible. They belched out all kinds of dangerous things into the air and buried things that are deadly and still there just waiting to leach out into neighboring water tables. My wife is now fighting for her life with stage IV lung cancer. She smoked for 25 yrs., but stopped 9 yrs. ago. Did the air pollution contribute to or trigger the cancer? We will never know.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    A

    A million African people a year die from malaria due to the assertions Ms. Carson makes in this book, which have been disproven .
    Maybe we should let the people suffering the most from this
    misguided ban on DDT choose the risk they would prefer, possible DDT exposure, or death by malaria.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Ahead of her time

    Changed the way I think about our pesticide/herbicide use & our industrial food industry. An excellent & informative read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Definitely something to think about. Rachel Carson had a good id

    Definitely something to think about. Rachel Carson had a good idea of what environmentalists want to get across to the public through a book. There was a very big environmental movement because of certain farming practices with using pesticides. Carson had had a big history with Marine Biology and the U.S Fish and Wildlife service. The author was mainly concerned about the pesticides in the environment because of the fruits and vegetables that people ate with a pesticide coating. She also really emphasized how DDT can affect the fat in humans and animals. The data she described in the novel was proof of a large rise in cancer rates which is important in the book because of live accounts. The main idea is that pesticides affect the environment in a major way and for human health. I really liked the idea that she was worried about the rise in cancer rates and how she would want to prevent deaths because of that. Very similar to Erin Brockovich's story in that sense. I disliked the amount of times she described the amount of time in the book it described to the scientific process of the pesticides to an extent that made it get boring. I really DO think that one should read this text because it is important for society because they should understand how the environmentalists might have a connection of what's happening now to 1962, and people should definitely be aware of the cancer rates. The author has a very similar personality as to Erin Brockovich because of the empowering story. Though Erin has a para legal case and sued the company Pacific, Gas, and Electric (Hinkley, CA) for 133.6 million dollars, she was an environmental activist who got the water records and found that hexavalent chromium was distributed to that city. People were getting cancer, tumours, and sicknesses and PG&E didn't support the money for that. Carson had the same idea of what she wanted for people due to this problem. Because of what all fell in place and the major connection to the environmental activist Erin Brockovich I would give this piece 4 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    Surprisingly Catching and Intriguing

    Every blue moon, one is bound to find something that randomly catches an emotional response, one such response that is quite surprising. Rachel Carson seemed intent on doing this with many people when she wrote Silent Spring. Having never considered myself a researcher (purely for my lack of interest in researching number-type data of my own motivation), I was quite surprised to find that Carson was able to capture my attention and present me with facts, and I never wanted to put the book down until it was finished. Carson's way of beginning with a story was the first thing to draw me in; I love stories. But the story was different than what one usually expects from something beginning with the line, "There once was a town in the heart of America where all life seemed to live in harmony with its surroundings." She then goes on to describe multiple facets of insecticides and human life, including listing and explaining different types of chemicals used, how they affect different areas of life (like the creatures of the water, creatures of the land, creatures of the sky, and humans in a separate chapter), and even showing how nature attempts to fight back/fend for herself. Carson also predicts outcomes of the road we are headed on (at the time of the book writing) and some ways to prevent it; aka, head down the road less traveled by, to see what it ends in. In the end, the choice, as Carson says, is ours to make. Cliffhangerrrr.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2006

    Inspiring!

    It reads like sinuous stream. The book lifts up those who fighting for our environment.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    Wish there were more Rachel Carson's in the World...

    Rachel Carson is AMAZING and I admire her so much. Because of her, our eyes were opened to the dangers in chemical pesticides that would have potentially killed us all. SHE SAVED OUR WORLD and because of her, the birds now SING.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4