Customer Reviews for

Silent Spring

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Criticisms of 'Silent Spring' Inaccurate and Unfounded

To those who have not yet read this book, do not be fooled by the baseless criticism posted in negative reviews here. These negative notices are themselves ignorant of Carson's work and lack sound ecological understanding. 'Silent Spring' was published as a long...
To those who have not yet read this book, do not be fooled by the baseless criticism posted in negative reviews here. These negative notices are themselves ignorant of Carson's work and lack sound ecological understanding. 'Silent Spring' was published as a longer work, and not in a peer review journal, because of Carson's intended audience DDT was affecting the environment in immediate and horribly detrimental ways, even though scienctific studies had previously shown the destruction it wrecked. Carson wrote in a format which had the greatest ability to disseminate her work among the general public and thus have a greater effect of public policy, as was vitally needed. It was not necessary to publish in a peer journal, additionally, because the information which supported her claims already existed in the scientific world. She drew only on independent studies, which elimated common bias in studies conducted by special interest groups. The criticism which 'Silent Spring' evoked did not come from the greater scientific community, but instead from industry which relied on DDT for profit, as well as those seeking to discredit a women speaking in a field and in a role traditionally dominated by men. After the work's publication in 1961, JFK ordered an invesigation into the legitimacy of Carson's assertions this invesitgation confirmed Carson's work, and initated a decade's long environmental reform in the government. Furthermore, the environmental degradation done by DDT cannot be measured in dubious assertions of malaria deaths. Beside the baseless nature of such assertions, which fails in scientific proof, such attacks attempt to discredit an environmentalism out of ignorance in an area in which that environmentalism is strongly anchored: it seeks to protect the world as a whole, humans and nature included. If there is no world for us to live, no air to breath or water to drink, then there is no point, no effect, no good that can come out of any technoligical innovation. Essentially, do not be disuaded from reading this book by reviews here if you do not believe my argument, for whatever reason, read the book yourself, look up the facts for yourself. The facts don't lie the comments here have. For further information on what I have written here, see the work of Douglas Allchin, Professor at the University of Texas, an essay entitled 'Rachel Carson & Silent Spring'

posted by Anonymous on December 5, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Carson is not all that and a bag of chips.

Rachel Carson set out to maliciously prosecute DDT as a carcinogen because of her own cancer. DDT is not and has never been proven as a cancer causing agent and it is perfectly safe to use. The experiments citing egg shell thinning has never been reproduced and bird pop...
Rachel Carson set out to maliciously prosecute DDT as a carcinogen because of her own cancer. DDT is not and has never been proven as a cancer causing agent and it is perfectly safe to use. The experiments citing egg shell thinning has never been reproduced and bird populations that were claimed to be declining secondary to the deployment of DDT were in fact, in decline prior to the introduction of DDT to the environment. Further, DDT should not have been banned secondary to Carson¿s slander of the chemical, but public hysteria whipped up by environmental activists without any understanding of the situation caused a Federal review. A Federal judge reviewed the evidence and heard the testimony of hundreds of witnesses and concluded that DDT was a safe and effective chemical and did not pose any danger to the environment. The judge was overruled by the EPA head due to political pressure and DDT was banned, resulting in the deaths of millions of people in the third world due to malarial outbreaks. Carson became the first of many scientists to pervert science in favor of a political or personal objective. However, Carson does not stop there. She lies about the endorsement of her position by Dr. Albert Schweitzer in order to lend credibility to her jaundiced position. What I honestly don¿t understand are the glowing reports from those who claim they seek the truth, but turn a blind eye to the lies presented in Carson¿s book. If you think that I am going to recommend that you do not purchase this book, you are mistaken. I urge you to purchase it and read it from cover to cover. Then, research Carson¿s assertions and compare them with the data from scientific sources. You will be disgusted if you have any conscience at all, by what this author has done and the lives she caused to be lost due to her arrogance. In the context of pulling the wool over the public¿s eyes, this text stands out as a masterpiece.

posted by Anonymous on August 29, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2004

    Excellent read for all

    It is incredible to me that so much scientific knowledge was disregarded for so long! This is a wonderful read for all ages and backgrounds, and an important basis for anyone interested in pursuing a career in the environmental sciences! We still have far to go!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    Amazing Read for All!

    Rachel Carson's Silent Spring was an incredible read from beginning to end. I first heard of this book this summer while watching a video about it. This book changed so many enviromental views and standpoints. Rachel Carson was phenomenol in writing this and I recommend it to anyone who is concerned with the environment!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2000

    Excellent - Timely!

    Rachel Carson was way ahead of her time on this one. Even though it was written some years ago, she is very current with her ideas and warnings. We have the same issues today. We as a people have still not realized that poisons are just that - poisons, whether chemical or 'organic'. This book is a 'must read' for gardeners, lawn owners, agriculturists, and government leaders! We must get away from the mind-set that the poison is the only way to attack pests. Nor are bio-controls always safe - sometimes the introduced insect or bacteria will attact not only the intended pest or weed, but others not intended and can create havoc themselves. For example, parasitic wasps do not stay in the fields where released, but also attack and kill the non-pest caterpillars of beautiful butterflies. Genetic Engineering is also not the answer - from creating superbugs and superweeds resistent to it, harming the soil, and creating hidden allergens, to harming wildlife (the GE plant's pollen can drift far and wide onto other plants, making them poisonous to animals not intended as the target). What can we use? There are pest-control methods not based on chemistry or genetics but on ecology. They work. Rotating crops. Mixing crops. Using organic fertilizers and mulches. Building up the ecosystem above the ground and in the soil so the natual predators rise and fall with the pests - doing so with a specificity that chemicals cannot match. Retiring the attitude that the almighty lawn is king. Putting the food grown to better use - if just one-third of the grains grown for animals would go to humans instead, we could prevent much of worldwide hunger. Organic gardening improves soil fertility, has fewer detrimental effects on the environment, and produces equivalent crop yields to high-intensity gardening. Natural landscaping is beautiful and comfortable to be in. Three cheers for Rachel Carson!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2000

    Impact

    impact(im pakt'; n) the power to move feelings, influence thinking, etc. Silent Spring made me even more aware of the environmental toxins in our everyday life. I've alway tried to be careful and not wasteful with products I've used but I probably did not take as much precautions on my own self that I should have. I've now found a whole new respect for the safety of any chemicals I and my family use, and will be using more natural home remedies for my environmental uses. I am spreading the word on this book but Silent Spring needs to be advertised more to make more people aware of it and get more young readers interested in it. I had never heard of Silent Spring until this year on a NPR radio station, and every 'older' person I've talked to about the book knew about it and read it back in the sixties.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Well-written and Terrifying

    Incredibly persuasive book. After reading it, I am no longer surprised that one book could have such a huge influence on national policy and public opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Great book

    Read it when first published.
    Give it for Gifts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    trouble keeping my eyes open reading this book

    trouble keeping my eyes open reading this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    The book was very intresting

    The book was very intresting

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    Very informative book by Rachel Carson

    Silent spring (book) is mostly about DDT and the affects of DDT on different species in the world, this book also gives different suggestions of pesticides etc that can be used instead of DDT. If you are a person like me that do not want to talk about death or hear about what is causing you to die then i would not recommend this book personally but after all i found this book really informative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    Recommended

    Silent Spring is a book about the effects of pesticides such as DDT. If you are interested in the affects of DDT on plants, animals, and humans, this is a must read. People do not realize that the pestisides do not just get rid of one thing and go away, the pesticides continue up the food chain. It can be a difficult book to get in to as the author uses a lot of statistics and a higher level vocabulary. Carson was very well reasearched on the subject. I found this book very informative and somewhat interesting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    historic

    This book created the hippies!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2007

    rachel carson helped to start environmental movement

    Rachel Carson was one of the first ones to publicly make the connection between pesticides, and diseases such as cancer, asthma, etc........She herself was dying of cancer, and thought this could be the reason. I very much admire and respect her courage to say what many farmers have thought all along! If all farmers were restricted from using pesticides, there would be less food, higher prices, BUT we would have all organic food for ourselves and livestock! A farmer friend of mine said he is not able to make a living competing with prices with other farmers, unless ALL pesticides are banned.....He says he gets rashes and breathing problems every time he applies pesticides and herbicides to his crops.......Surely they must have noticed this also in 1962, when her book came out. All of these 'movements' run in political cycles, and some of these causes put on the back burner, will be renewed again.....in 2007, and long after, hopefully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2002

    Please read

    This book rises above political leanings. It is so meticulously researched that to try to discredit it in any way is pure ignorant obstinacy. She doesn¿t exaggerate--I think she understates the dangers of pesticide use at times in an attempt to meet the mindset of the time halfway. Be assured that you will be amazed that POISONS were spread over land and water with such abandon. I didn¿t fully realize before I read this book that Organic farming is so, so important. Thank goodness for Organic Farmers!! Farmers can make a better living and have healthier lives when they¿re not forced to use toxic chemicals. Rachel Carson also brings up another important and chilling point about the relationship between the toxic chemicals mentioned in her book and cancer. As long as chemists are coming up with ¿new & improved¿ poisons, we will always be a couple of steps behind in the battle against cancer (if not several generations behind). WHY do we allow these carcinogens into the environment and into our homes? Why do we allow ourselves to be treated this way? Like lab rats?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2002

    One of the Greatest Books

    Thanks Rachel.You had catalyzed the Most Important movement in Human History.Through this landmark book Rachel achieved one of the greatest achievements of 20th century.Silent Spring is excellent book about harmful pesticides. This book inspired me for Nature and Wildlife Conservation.I recommend this book to only those who understand our common mother is Nature and common family is combination of Wildlife and Humanity.I wonder still idiots are using pesticides.One Question-Why the books written on Global warming,Ozone Layer Depletion or Water Conservation aren't as influential as Silent Spring??

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2000

    From a Student

    Rachel Carson started a revolution with this book and the reasons are obivious and endless. The writing style is almost poetic for enviromental safety can amaze anyone. However this is not a light reading book, so the recommendation to read it does not go out to everyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2000

    Ahead of it's Time

    This book has amazing introspective. Rachel Carson started a revolution with this book and the reasons are obvious and endless. The writing style is almost poetic and her passion for environmental saftey can amaze anyone. This book however, is not light reading so the recommendation to read it does not go out to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2000

    Birds, bees, apples, and trees!

    This book was very concise and introspective, but certainly not to my taste. As a novel I do not reccommend it, but if you need a research item, this is perfect! It is extremely specific. Not something you would want to read for fun.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2000

    Silent Spring

    A must read environmental book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2000

    Silent Spring

    This book made america think about pecticides

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4