Customer Reviews for

Silent Thunder

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    This book was as good as all of her other books. I've enjoyed r

    This book was as good as all of her other books. I've enjoyed reading all of the collaborative books with Roy Johanson. It grabs you at the beginning and is hard to put down. I love the characters that are woven in from book to book., The
    dolphins are back in this book. Great Read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    This book was really great!!!!! It grabbed my attention and kept

    This book was really great!!!!! It grabbed my attention and kept me reading until It was finished. LOVED IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Hell o u here yet

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Enjoyed it.

    The book was a good read. From the start it got me reading and not wanting to stop. I can't wait to get more from Iris Johansen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Lilykit

    Is this the right book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Great

    This mom and son duo need to make a series of the relationship that grows between the scientist and the former sub captain. And, they need to reach their common goal of getting the villian(s) who killed his wife and friends, as well as her brother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful read

    This was an absolutely wonderful read. It was fast paced, had good action, a little romantic tension, and a very good story line. I loved it. They have a sequel to this book that I can't wait to get my hands on. I'm very glad my in-laws gave me this book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Recommended Read

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I was quickly drawn into the story and hated to put it down. Big fan of Iris Johansen's suspense novels and was eager to read one co-authored with her son; it was a seamless read. Look forward to how they will follow this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Enjoyed the collaboration between mother and son

    Good read. Characters are believable, strong but sensitive and VERY capable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    Great Story

    I have really enjoyed this book, I have loved all of Johansens books even the ones written with her son . This book gives a great story line and plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    Loved it

    I have read all of her suspense books and I really liked the different feel of this book. The detail surrounding the submarines and their creation and maintenance was fascinating. I appreciated her research to make it accurate, entertaining, and somewhat enlightening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    Fast Paced!

    Kept my interest from start to finish. Flowed well for a co-authored novel. Wanted to read more. You will enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    Silent Thunder

    Excellent read - I couldn't put it down. I can't wait for their next book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book - Good Story Line - Strong Characters

    Iris Johansen is one of my favorite authors. I have read all of her book. I love her writting stye and her characters are always strong. The plot was very different. Although this was not one of my favorite it is still worth the read. I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Silent Thunder

    Love the combo of mother and son as authors. Good story. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    Silent Thunder

    Different theme from her usual writing but was a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    Entertaining

    I found this book to very entertaining and a light read. It kept you on the edge of your seat wondering what was going to happen next. It was one of those books you just didn't want to put down but finish it from cover to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Silent But Deadly

    In this first thriller by both Iris and her son, Roy, the authors try to tag team an espionage/adventure story - with great success. Iris Johansen is best when she focuses on the fast paced excitement of her novels and this one showcases that talent to the extreme. Her dialogue is sometimes "common", but in the larger scheme of things, it all makes for a quick thrill. Just read the inide jacket to get the initial story plot, but look to spend several hours enjoying the action and adventure surrounding Hannah and Ivanov (?) as they try to uncover the truth behind her brother's death while on the SILENT THUNDER; a Russian submarine. Roy's knowledge of espionage gives a stronger background to Iris' thunderous plot speed. It is hard to ever be critical of Johansen's novels because I read them to be entertained, not necessarily to hear speldidly literary dialogue or sentence structure. She is a huge fav of mine and i have never read one I did not like. I look forward to reading their next tag team adventure, STORM CYCLE out this July. Give this one a try on the beach or a lazy summer day. Like James Bond, we enjoy the adventure, speed and silliness of the stories and not with the realism of the tale. Who cares about the truth; to be entertained is to be content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    I LOVED IT!

    I loved this book and could not put it down. Although I admit I would have liked to see a little more romantic action between Hannah and Kirov, it left me hungering for more of them!! True Johansen fashion!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    Not up to Iris Johansen Standards

    This book was very disappointing. I usually can¿t put down one of Johansen¿s books but this had a completely different feel. I kept waiting for the normal suspense and intrigue and it never came.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3