Customer Reviews for

Silent Thunder

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    This book was as good as all of her other books. I've enjoyed r

    This book was as good as all of her other books. I've enjoyed reading all of the collaborative books with Roy Johanson. It grabs you at the beginning and is hard to put down. I love the characters that are woven in from book to book., The
    dolphins are back in this book. Great Read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Recommended Read

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I was quickly drawn into the story and hated to put it down. Big fan of Iris Johansen's suspense novels and was eager to read one co-authored with her son; it was a seamless read. Look forward to how they will follow this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Enjoyed the collaboration between mother and son

    Good read. Characters are believable, strong but sensitive and VERY capable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    Loved it

    I have read all of her suspense books and I really liked the different feel of this book. The detail surrounding the submarines and their creation and maintenance was fascinating. I appreciated her research to make it accurate, entertaining, and somewhat enlightening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    Fast Paced!

    Kept my interest from start to finish. Flowed well for a co-authored novel. Wanted to read more. You will enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book - Good Story Line - Strong Characters

    Iris Johansen is one of my favorite authors. I have read all of her book. I love her writting stye and her characters are always strong. The plot was very different. Although this was not one of my favorite it is still worth the read. I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    Silent Thunder

    Different theme from her usual writing but was a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    Entertaining

    I found this book to very entertaining and a light read. It kept you on the edge of your seat wondering what was going to happen next. It was one of those books you just didn't want to put down but finish it from cover to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Silent But Deadly

    In this first thriller by both Iris and her son, Roy, the authors try to tag team an espionage/adventure story - with great success. Iris Johansen is best when she focuses on the fast paced excitement of her novels and this one showcases that talent to the extreme. Her dialogue is sometimes "common", but in the larger scheme of things, it all makes for a quick thrill. Just read the inide jacket to get the initial story plot, but look to spend several hours enjoying the action and adventure surrounding Hannah and Ivanov (?) as they try to uncover the truth behind her brother's death while on the SILENT THUNDER; a Russian submarine. Roy's knowledge of espionage gives a stronger background to Iris' thunderous plot speed. It is hard to ever be critical of Johansen's novels because I read them to be entertained, not necessarily to hear speldidly literary dialogue or sentence structure. She is a huge fav of mine and i have never read one I did not like. I look forward to reading their next tag team adventure, STORM CYCLE out this July. Give this one a try on the beach or a lazy summer day. Like James Bond, we enjoy the adventure, speed and silliness of the stories and not with the realism of the tale. Who cares about the truth; to be entertained is to be content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2008

    fun read

    I thought somewhat of unrealistic, but enough action and story to make this a fun read. One could relate this to the world we have now, sadly enough, to pull this off, the writers maybe reaching a bit...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting thriller

    It is her job as a marine architect to make sure the Russian nuclear sub Silent Thunder is clean so that it can be put on exhibit by the museum that purchased it once there are no booby traps or despicable items on board. Hannah Bryson works with her brother Connor on the scrub he finds the strange metal plate with weird symbols on it. She leaves the sub to make a call to a CIA agent to inform him of the find, but while she is doing that someone gets insides and blows up Connor. --- Livid, Hannah has no time to grieve as she learns that Agent Bradworth and Russian Nicolas Kirov used them as bait to trap crime lord Mr. Pavski, who killed the crew on the sub¿s last voyage except for Kirov who wants revenge. The CIA wants to use her to get top secret information Pavski possesses about Putin¿s Russia. Pavski is obsessed with finding the precious artifact the Golden Cradle because he believes it will give him more power. Hannah and Kirov team up to get Pavski because he killed people they loved. --- Though a bit over the top, the Johansen mother and son team provide an exciting thriller that uses a touch of romance to relieve some of the stratospheric levels of tension. SILENT THUNDER is a superb cat and mouse caper with the bad guy and some of the so called good guys consistently changing the rules of the game to better fit their personal agendas. Hannah is a courageous but typical of the action thriller genre as a person who seeks vengeance for her brother¿s murder and though she lacks the skills and it means placing her own life on the line whereas Kirov is an enigmatic introvert who has plenty of experience surviving the dark side of life. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1