Customer Reviews for

Silent Truth

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Best BAD Agency novel yet!

Sherrilyn Kenyon is known best, perhaps, for her powerful characters, and has made her fame and hit the top of the list with paranormal romance and now with sci-fi romance, but she's always been a little overlooked as a Romantic Suspense author. I think this will be th...
Sherrilyn Kenyon is known best, perhaps, for her powerful characters, and has made her fame and hit the top of the list with paranormal romance and now with sci-fi romance, but she's always been a little overlooked as a Romantic Suspense author. I think this will be the book which changes that. Bringing Dianna Love into the mix was a brilliant stroke on Kenyon's part. Together the two authors have taken the BAD Agency series to something much, much bigger.

Fans of Kenyon's old series will have noticed a shift when Love joined the mix--not quite as light and fluffy as it used to be, but that's a good thing if an author wants to be taken seriously by hard-core Romantic Suspense readers like me. I want the puzzle. I want the heart-pounding action. This reads like a thriller in many ways. Kenyon's witty dialogue, to-die-for romance and touch of humor are still there, but it's rolled into a kick-butt puzzle of a plot with a suspense climax that hurls you breathless toward the last page. It's a little darker than Kenyon writes on her own. These two writers have managed to hit a tone that's pretty dead-on perfect for this kind of read.

Add into that the development of the bigger world threat--the Frateli--and the threads of intrigue which weave through their world--and this series takes a leap to extraordinary. I don't see how Kenyon and Love are going to save the world at the end of this series, but I trust that they WILL, and I'm really looking forward to the rest of the ride.

Now as to Hunter Wesley Thornton-Payne III and Abbie Blanton--let's just say I have always kinda hated Hunter. Hunter was a hard guy to like. And his story was NOT where I expected Kenyon and Love to go next. But I'm so, so SO glad they went there. He is my favorite BAD boy yet. I guess it's true, the bigger they are, the harder they fall. Or maybe in this case, the BADDER they are, the harder they fall.

Watching Hunter fall--and fall for sweetie-pie Abbie--was a real treat. They've got ahold of my heart now and just won't let go. The emotion in this book is deeper, the characters more wounded, and the ending more satisfying than any before in the series. Exactly what I love to read.

I liked Nathan and Terry's story (Phantom in the Night). I loved Carlos and Gabrielle's story (Whispered Lies). But this one is my absolute favorite so far. I'm always worried that an author won't be able to sustain a series like this and keep me loving it, but Kenyon and Love are doing it. Silent Truth is the best BAD Agency novel so far. It's just a fantastic, kick-butt read.

posted by CarrieJameson on April 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

THE worst!

I thought this book would NEVER end. It plodded along and I didn't care about any of the characters. The only reason I finished (and was speed reading and turning pages very quickly by the last quarter of the book!) was because I needed to keep up with the overall plot ...
I thought this book would NEVER end. It plodded along and I didn't care about any of the characters. The only reason I finished (and was speed reading and turning pages very quickly by the last quarter of the book!) was because I needed to keep up with the overall plot of the Fratelli.

It was difficult to even give this book a one-star rating. The female character whined, groaned, and was annoying the entire time. The male character was OK, but I had no empathy for him whatsoever. Any romantic scenes were contrived and dull. Overall, it seems that this book was poorly stitched together.

Let's hope the next installment of BAD is a whole heck of a lot better than this one. I'll give it one more shot and, if the result is the same, I'll just move on and let BAD just be BAD writing.

posted by supersookiefan on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hunter's story is finally here...

    Hunter an agent for BAD has lived his whole life never trusting anyone except his friend Eliot. Eliot scarifies his life for Hunter during a mission and it is Hunter's goal to track down Eliot's killer and take revenge. Hunter is willing to destroy his life and his status as an agent for BAD to take this vengence. He is one step away from tracking down his friend's killer when he runs into Abbie. Abbie shows Hunter open trust and rocks his core belief that everyone has an motive/sceme. Will he learn to trust Abbie before he ruins his life, hers and the BAD Op to stop the terrorist plot.

    Another great BAD series story form Sherrilyn Kenyon. Keeps you guessing to the end with a whopper of a twist.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best BAD Agency novel yet!

    Sherrilyn Kenyon is known best, perhaps, for her powerful characters, and has made her fame and hit the top of the list with paranormal romance and now with sci-fi romance, but she's always been a little overlooked as a Romantic Suspense author. I think this will be the book which changes that. Bringing Dianna Love into the mix was a brilliant stroke on Kenyon's part. Together the two authors have taken the BAD Agency series to something much, much bigger.

    Fans of Kenyon's old series will have noticed a shift when Love joined the mix--not quite as light and fluffy as it used to be, but that's a good thing if an author wants to be taken seriously by hard-core Romantic Suspense readers like me. I want the puzzle. I want the heart-pounding action. This reads like a thriller in many ways. Kenyon's witty dialogue, to-die-for romance and touch of humor are still there, but it's rolled into a kick-butt puzzle of a plot with a suspense climax that hurls you breathless toward the last page. It's a little darker than Kenyon writes on her own. These two writers have managed to hit a tone that's pretty dead-on perfect for this kind of read.

    Add into that the development of the bigger world threat--the Frateli--and the threads of intrigue which weave through their world--and this series takes a leap to extraordinary. I don't see how Kenyon and Love are going to save the world at the end of this series, but I trust that they WILL, and I'm really looking forward to the rest of the ride.

    Now as to Hunter Wesley Thornton-Payne III and Abbie Blanton--let's just say I have always kinda hated Hunter. Hunter was a hard guy to like. And his story was NOT where I expected Kenyon and Love to go next. But I'm so, so SO glad they went there. He is my favorite BAD boy yet. I guess it's true, the bigger they are, the harder they fall. Or maybe in this case, the BADDER they are, the harder they fall.

    Watching Hunter fall--and fall for sweetie-pie Abbie--was a real treat. They've got ahold of my heart now and just won't let go. The emotion in this book is deeper, the characters more wounded, and the ending more satisfying than any before in the series. Exactly what I love to read.

    I liked Nathan and Terry's story (Phantom in the Night). I loved Carlos and Gabrielle's story (Whispered Lies). But this one is my absolute favorite so far. I'm always worried that an author won't be able to sustain a series like this and keep me loving it, but Kenyon and Love are doing it. Silent Truth is the best BAD Agency novel so far. It's just a fantastic, kick-butt read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    high octane romantic suspense

    Bureau of American Defense operative Hunter Thornton-Payne has been a dedicated warrior since he joined the black ops squad. However he also has a personal vendetta, which the karabiner he carries with him always reminds him of. For four years ever since his newly married friend Eliot died on a mission off the coast of Kauai, Hawaii, he has hunted the killer; at the same time he avoids Eliot's wife Cynthia and their son, unborn when he died.

    Hunter attends a women's shelter in Chicago as apparently a terrorist group to include Eliot's killer plans to be there also. At the gala is investigative reporter Abbie Blanton who Hunter knew during his affluent social days. When her mother becomes critically ill following a visit to the women's center, Abbie investigates. However, neither she nor Hunter expected to run into each other and to be on the run from some bad dudes.

    The latest BAD thriller (see Whispered Lies and Phantom in the Night) is a high octane romantic suspense starring two people who after each went rogue unites to elude danger. The story line is razor thin and takes abrupt leaps, but is fun to follow as Hunter fears love even before his best friend died, which accentuated his belief that operatives don't marry, but Abbie has him crazy with desire even with danger engulfing them.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    BAD Boys and Girls

    SILENT TRUTH delivers in true Kenyon/Love style. The pace is spot on and the main characters have more hurdles to jump than an Olympian. Hunter and Abbie cross paths while attending a fundraiser. He is looking to pick up information from a mole on the inside of the dangerous Fratelli de il Sovrano organization for the BAD Agency, while Abbie is on a mission of her own. The question is, will Hunter set aside the personal vendetta over a fallen agent to fulfill his duty, and save the girl? After Abbie's memory is jarred as to why Hunter looks so familiar, will she get over her embarrassment and let him? But more important things are at risk than her pride, like the life of Abbie's mother. These questions must be answered while they are on the run from a killer trained as well as any operative. Throw BAD hot on their heels in the mix and Hunter's time is running out if BAD thinks he has gone rogue for revenge.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    THE worst!

    I thought this book would NEVER end. It plodded along and I didn't care about any of the characters. The only reason I finished (and was speed reading and turning pages very quickly by the last quarter of the book!) was because I needed to keep up with the overall plot of the Fratelli.

    It was difficult to even give this book a one-star rating. The female character whined, groaned, and was annoying the entire time. The male character was OK, but I had no empathy for him whatsoever. Any romantic scenes were contrived and dull. Overall, it seems that this book was poorly stitched together.

    Let's hope the next installment of BAD is a whole heck of a lot better than this one. I'll give it one more shot and, if the result is the same, I'll just move on and let BAD just be BAD writing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I couldn't put it down!

    I should have known better then to pick this book up at night but I was so excited I couldn't resist and started reading it the first chance I got. At 3am I had to finally make myself put the book down (these ladies certainly know how to end a chapter).

    If you're looking for an alpha male who could go toe to toe with one of Suzanne Brockmann's Navy SEALs and a story with an intricate plotline that has you on the edge of your seat then this is it! I love the mythology of this series and each book keeps me eagerly turning the page for more and makes me want to go back and read the rest of the series again.

    I loved the relationship between Hunter and Abbie, two complex, emotionally damaged people. The great thing about Abbie is she knows that she's not a super spy and doesn't do the too stupid to live things some heroines do. When her life is on the line she listens to what Hunter says. Of course, she's no pushover and very much a match for Hunter's alpha maleness.

    I was thoroughly enthralled with Silent Truth and loved the journey that SK and DL took me on and look forward to the next thrilling story from these two wonderful authors!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    same old, same old

    I was not impressed with this book, I usually love this series, but I felt like they wrote it with emotion, like they were using the same story, different names. Maybe it is just me, but I don't recommend this one.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Loved this book, but I love anything Sherri writes!  Can hardly

    Loved this book, but I love anything Sherri writes!  Can hardly wait for my next book to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Silent Truth

    Great Book all Sherrilyn Kenyon Books are great have almost all her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Good Book

    Good plot not quick paced, but enjoyable reading. The hero's character could have been developed a little better. The author missed the fact that the reason secret ops people do not tell wives and others around the them very much is for their safety. Knowing nothing reduces the risk of kidnapping and torture for information. Bunny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Great Book!

    I often have trouble getting hooked into whatever book I am reading. This one is different and I really enjoyed it. The plot isn't the same as every other 007 type book and the characters are really well put together. This book is definitely worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Disappointing

    I have been reading the BAD series since it came out. I have to say I have been seriously disappointed since Kenyon decided to give it away. The plot seems to be the only important thing now. I can't stand the characters and they don't seem to match how they were described in previous novels. the romance is almost nonexistent. The love seems rushed and a sideline plot. I read romance for a reason. I expect more romance than suspense when reading a "romance" novel. I will not be buying anymore of these BAD novels. The only one I might make an exception for is Joe and Tee's story, that was advertised on the website to come out in 2007. I guess they're a little behind. The only good thing about Love taking over is at least the website has been updated in the last decade. I will stick to Garwood, Coulter, and Howard for my romantic suspense. They do a much better job of meshing romance and suspense together.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5