BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Silent Witness

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    Thank you Mark Furhman for writing this book!!

    I have been anxiously awaiting the release of this book for some time now and when I bought it on the 28th, I couldn't put it down, and ended up reading the entire book that night. Once again Mark Furhman has stepped up to the plate to ask the very important questions, that in this case, should have been asked 15 years ago. I have read most of the court transcripts and just about anything that I can get my hands on concerning this case and Michael Schiavo's story of what happened the morning that Terri collapsed, and the day leading up to it, changes everytime that he tells it. Why did Judge Greer not see this? There are many players in this case who's actions need to be investigated, to include Judge Greer, George Felos, the Sheriff's Department, Bernie McCabe, who Governor Jeb Bush has asked to look into the amount of time that it took MS to call 911 after his wife collapsed, and the owners of the hospice where Terri past away. Over the past several years, Bernie McCabe has put a stop to any and every investigation attempt into this case. He has already stated that he will look into this for the Governor, but as of now he sees nothing criminal. I just hope and pray that this book will open some eyes and a REAL investigation will be initiated, and -IF- Michael Schiavo is guilty of any wrong doing, I hope that he is punished for it. I cannot imagine the HORROR that the Schindler family went through watching Terri die such a slow and agonizing death, for absolutely no reason whatsoever, except for Michael's sudden ALLEGED memory, after 7 YEARS, of Terri saying that she would not want to be kept alive by artificial means (providing food and water to a person does not fall into this category). Michael Schiavo will go on to live happily ever after with his live-in companion of 10 years and their 2 children together, while the Schindler's are left to grieve with so many unanswered questions. I did not even know Terri and I continue to grieve for her and her family, and there are many other people out there that feel the same way, but have been silenced by the media and all of their untruths about this case. Again, I THANK Mark Furhman so much for bringing these very important questions out in the open and Sean Hannity for asking him to do this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2006

    The Usual Fuhrman Full of Himself Book

    Fuhrman in his usual self centered I'm great attitude wrote another dud. He thinks he knows so much about her medical condition and the boring details in his book seem like he was writing for a Hollywood soap opera. He is the worst, most boring writer. I thought I was going to learn something because I was there in the crowd protesting for her life. All I saw out of Fuhrman was his big head and flirting with lots of women to feed his huge ego as big as the state of Florida. He's a joke and I cannot believe anything he says because he is a cosumate liar and the OJ case proved it. A man in love with his ego, himself and any woman who will give him the time of day. The book has nothing special in it and it was written very quickly after her death and I get the impression that he is a man who will take advantage of any situation if it will get his face in front of a camera. He's a fake and anyone involved with this guy better watch their back.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    Truth now known

    Started reading this book reluctantly. And for a good reason since my instincts were true. Fuhrman writes for shock value. Everything is always one-sided. He says and writes what he thinks people want to hear or read. So anxious to get this book out instead of being a responsible writer of truth, he should've waited for the results of the autopsy and then write about the controversy and how it caused such dissention amongst family, the public and most of all government interference in our lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    Nothing new

    The facts in the book on Terri were already reported on the news channels. Mark Fuhrman could have left out the chapters on Cause of Death and Possible Scenaries and dug up more on what wasn't reported on the news channels. Very disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2005

    Dissapointing

    I purchased this book because I had followed the Teri Schiavo case on the news and in the media. I was very intersted in it and wanted to see what the supposedly 'untold story' was. As far as the untold story goes, there were a few things that I didn't know about Terri and her life that were presented in this book. It was relatively insignificant things....for example, her education, her brother's job....etc. However, this book was disspointing because what I wanted to know was what were the results of the autopsy? Where their significant facts to the case that the media was unable to share with the public? None of these questions were even attempted. Finally, it goes in depth with a lot of medical terms and explanations. For example, it goes on for two or three excrutiating pages about what an EKG is and how it works. It was very detailed. I did not pick up this book to get a medical perspective of things....I wanted interesting facts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    To paraphrase this book's author, 'This case isn't about the right to die peacefully, or about euthanasia.' Retired detective Fuhrman takes the position that this case is about a man wanting to free himself from a marriage, and doing so at any cost as long as someone else is making payment. I have two criticisms of Mr. Fuhrman's work. First, it should not have been written before the autopsy results for Terri Schiavo became available. They would, I believe, have altered some of his assumptions and therefore some of his conclusions. Second, he repeats material not once but several times not for emphasis, but (in my opinion) to extend the word count sufficiently to make it book length, and publishable as such. With those things said, though, I found myself thinking about the Schiavo tragedy from different angles than before I read Mr. Fuhrman's book. Like a good detective, he accepts nothing at face value and his understanding of human nature, at its best as well as at its worst, illuminates much that never made sense to me before. Worth reading, although the repetition makes even this sad yet riveting story bog down at times.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    a good book to read

    i liked it because i could put myself in terry's parent's shoes, if that should ever happen to one of my chilren. i would want them here with me, even if they couldn't take care of their selves. a very good book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2005

    Still many questions left unanswered

    Fuhrman does a decent job of presenting a case for possible wrong doing, but draws no personally-held conclusions as to what actually caused Terri Schiavo's initial injuries. He presents a number of scenarios based on collected evidence and interviews. All seem at least somewhat plausible. Since the recent release of the medical examiner's report all but ruled out the theory of bulimia causing Terri's original injuries, Fuhrman's scrutinizing of the events of that morning and the implied potential for ciminality seem appropriate enough. This book does not answer the question of why Terri Schiavo became severely brain injured, but it raises some interesting theories and is worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2005

    Outstanding Book!

    This is a very interesting book. It is seen through the eyes of an investigator. While Mr Shiavos family thinks this book calls her husband a murderer, it really doesn't. It provides the facts that do not make Mr Shiavo look very good. You have to draw your own conclusions.This story will haunt me for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1