Customer Reviews for

Silent Witness

Average Rating 4
( 206 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

"Silent" Sequel "Screams" Success!

Ms. Forster has done it again. Totally captivating story and blend of characters, both old and new. Just when you think you have figured it out, it twists and turns another direction. Josie, Archer, Hannah---the gang's all there but they come with new friends and foes, ...
Ms. Forster has done it again. Totally captivating story and blend of characters, both old and new. Just when you think you have figured it out, it twists and turns another direction. Josie, Archer, Hannah---the gang's all there but they come with new friends and foes, complications, successes, pain and emotions and then she throws in the intrigue of a Theme Park, setting the scene with the joys of the young at heart and the horror of something that can go terribly wrong. Read this book. You will not be disappointed and you will do as I did---ordered the rest of the Thriller Series! There are many talented writers out there in the world. Rebecca Forster is at the top of that list. Treat yourself to her books and see for yourself. I am glad I did!

posted by Ima-Dancer on February 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not Any Better

This wasn't any better than the first by this author (I bought all 3 on the same day . . . so I'm going to read them all!). I still didn't care for the main character, and the spelling and grammar were even worse!

posted by BalloonLady on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    "Silent" Sequel "Screams" Success!

    Ms. Forster has done it again. Totally captivating story and blend of characters, both old and new. Just when you think you have figured it out, it twists and turns another direction. Josie, Archer, Hannah---the gang's all there but they come with new friends and foes, complications, successes, pain and emotions and then she throws in the intrigue of a Theme Park, setting the scene with the joys of the young at heart and the horror of something that can go terribly wrong. Read this book. You will not be disappointed and you will do as I did---ordered the rest of the Thriller Series! There are many talented writers out there in the world. Rebecca Forster is at the top of that list. Treat yourself to her books and see for yourself. I am glad I did!

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Highly recommended

    There are four books in this series and all are fantastic. The first book is Silent Witness. All four of these books are very good and hard to put down. I would suggest however that you read these books in the ordered intended. At the end of each book it will tell you what the next one is. It will also say its not necessary to read them in order. I disagree as each book makes reference to incidents that have occurred in the previous books. But all are certainly MUST READS!!!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    highly recommended

    i couldn't put it down...

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    This is a MUST read!

    I have read all four of the "Witness" books and would actually recommend reading all of them. I connected with the characters and didn't want to put any of these books down. I am anxiously awaiting to read Book 5 when it is released.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent book...couldn't put it down (one of those 'fast reads' you can get through in a weekend).

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I read all four books in this series, the were awesome!! I can't wait for more!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Page-turner that keeps you guessing!

    Josie Baylor-Bates is back and this time her boyfriend, Archer is accused of killing his handicapped step-son. Besides dealing with the emotion of defending Archer, Josie has Arthur's deceased wife's ex-husband adding intrigue and tension. On the homefront, she is again confronted with mother/daughter issues because Hannah, the troubled teen from 'Hostile Witness' has been placed in her care. Rebecca Forster is masterful in creating legal thrillers that transcend the genre and deal with relationships on many different levels. Add to that the twists and turns that will surprise the most concientious reader and you've got a book you won't be able to put down. Download this one - you won't be disappointed.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    MOVE OVER GRISHAM!!

    USA TODAY best selling author Rebecca Forster rocks! Does she have a fan club?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The plot was intriguing and kept my nose in the book way after I

    The plot was intriguing and kept my nose in the book way after I should have turned in for the night. The characters were realistic and interesting.
    Archer is accused of murder and attorney, Josie Baylor-Bates is defending him. She digs for evidence to set him free but worries that facts are not looking good because he appears to have motive and intent. Her digging reveals many truths about his dead first wife that will surely be brutal to Archer but they are needed to set him free. The highs and lows hit every right note. I thought the book was very good.



    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Very good, Highly recommend

    Will read more of her books

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Silent witness

    I purchased one of these books to see if I'd like them and I did so got the others. Rebecca Forrester is a good writer, I enjoyed the books

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Any Better

    This wasn't any better than the first by this author (I bought all 3 on the same day . . . so I'm going to read them all!). I still didn't care for the main character, and the spelling and grammar were even worse!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    excellent legal procedural

    Defense attorney Josie Baylor-Bates has taken troubled teen Hannah into her home after the girl¿s mother was found guilty of murder. While the two females adjust, Josie¿s lover, retired detective and practicing private investigator Archer is arrested for killing his mentally challenged stepson Tim two years ago in the Pacific Park amusement park while they and his dying wife rode the Shock and Pop together.--- A video shows Archer making what could be a threatening move towards Tim. Ironically, Tim¿s biological father bailed Archer out of prison because he needs the truth to support his civil suit against Pacific Park. Evidence at the preliminary hearing binds Arch for trial; Josie needs a miracle to prove her lover is innocent of first degree murder.--- Rebecca Forster¿s latest legal procedural is a thrilling courtroom and investigative drama in which Josie has doubts that she should represent her lover as she is too personally involved, but refuses to trust anyone else with his life. She also learns more than she ever wants to know about Archer in the course of her efforts to defend him. The investigative scenes are fascinating as Josie gathers evidence from witnesses that she uses at the trial to make the case that Archer had no motive to kill the child of the woman he loved. SILENT WITNESS is totally enthralling.--- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Another winner

    Love Ms. Forster and her witness series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    Just OK!

    I bought four of Rebecca Forster's ebooks at the same time and this was my third to read. The story was ok, a little slow in the middle, but wrapped up nicely at the end. However, the numerous grammar/spelling/editing errors totally distracted me from the story (famines instead of families, come on!). I will read the fourth one, Privileged Witness, but I will not buy any more books by this author due to the many errors. --K--

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    If you like detective thrillers you'll love this one.

    Silent Witness kept me reading past my lunch hour every day until I finished it. The characters were very believable. I ordered the other Witness books before I finished this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    oould not put it down

    I stayed up til 3:00 in the a.m. because I could not put it down.
    Suspenseful, captivating and downright good.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    I must recommend this!

    I was hoping Ms. Forster would continue the characters and it was great visiting again with Josie and Archer and the enigmatic Hannah. The story was fast paced and gripping and it made a weekend in the sun even better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2005

    Engaging, Suspenseful, and Totally Fun to Read

    Silent Witness builds beautifully on its forerunner, Hostile Witness. Josie, Archer, Jude, and Hannah are each engaging characters caught up in a serious amount of trouble. Everyone has an 'agenda.' And yet each has that interdependency that weaves their fortunes together in ways that are both fascinating and suspenseful. The plot pulls us quickly through a series of discoveries that really do not stop until the final surprising outcome. Who knew?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Highland Recommended

    This book is the first in a sesries by Josie Baylor-Bates, a defense attorney in southern California. It mixes her personal life with her legal work - many courtroom scenes - and is an excellent story. I am now reading the 3rd book in this series and have enjoyed all of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11