BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Silent in the Sanctuary (Lady Julia Grey Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT

    amazing mystery with underlying romance. This book was as good as book 1. every character is intriguing-even the villains! Lady Jane is a strong (and a bit eccentric) heroine that you can't help but adore. Brisbane is dark and moody. Good chemistry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely not a Sophomore Slump

    Contrary to many of the reviews that I read on Amazon.com, I really liked this book precisely because the continued love-hate relationship from the previous book, Silent in the Grave, was in no way resolved, and in a way that was true to the characters. That's genius, if you ask me, because it keeps the true fans of the series panting for more. This book is funny, charming, and portrays High Victorian Society oh so well. The setting is well-written without overtaking the plot, the characters are snappy, and my favorite device is used: giving tertiary characters their own subplots that affect the whole. Read this book for a sophomore attempt that was as good (if not better) than the first, for a lesson in creating characters that don't fit in their own society and yet seem genuine to the reader, a true puzzle of a crime, a charming and funny narrator, a passionate romance with no real sense of a happy ending (must continue to read the series!), and the only series in a long time that has an alpha romance lead that doesn't make me want to shoot him. * Review originally posted at my blog, Worderella Writes: http://worderella.com/2008/03/book-silent-in-the-sanctuary/ *

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Much better than the first

    This book was definitely better than the last. To a point I did enjoy [book:Silent in the Grave], but the solving point I felt ruined what could have been a perfectly great mystery. But that's enough about that. I really enjoyed this one. This was not just one mystery, but several wrapped up in one. There was some romance and extreme feelings between various persons and trying to see them was a task. I enjoyed this story, and it makes me anxious to read [book: Silent on the Moor], because I believe it will be even better. The first book I would not recommend to certain audiences, but I believe that most people could read this one without much affect in a negative sense. It is much more tasteful and enjoyable. I felt as if I could see clues and piece them together, when with the first novel it was more of a jolt of information here and there. In my opinion, this author is getting better and better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Vx bxbb g k

    Bbbm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Very enjoyable

    Silent in the Sanctuary is a fabulous follow up to Silent in the Grave. I found myself unable to put the book down until it was finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Love it!

    I truly enjoy Dianna Raybourn's Lady Julia Grey Series. Her descriptions of the weather, the Abby home that never seems filled with enough warmth or light, the delightfully interesting characters. They are family, and have all the foibles and passions of any family. Great reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Good follow up in a well-written series

    Silent in the Sanctuary gratifies Lady Julia followers by giving us more of the eccentric March family; a large, mysterious, captivating old country home as a setting; and an interesting locked door mystery. Raybourn's writing is beautiful and lives up to the expectations her first book created for us. Even though the book was full of interesting characters, spectres, and entertaining escapades, I find two drawbacks. The first is the fact that Julia and Brisbane's relationship doesn't develop or move in any direction. Their "romance" is just as frustratingly stuck at the end of the book as it was in the beginning. Their back and forth is certainly entertaining, but no progress is made between them leaving the readers at a loss. Even Julia's father admits he was hoping Brisbane would "declare himself." The second drawback is the ending. Although the mystery is solved, the ending falls a little flat both in pacing and interest. Once I reached the conclusion it wasn't gripping and I wasn't drawn to finish the book no matter what, the way I was in the first of the series. Despite these drawbacks the book is worth reading for both Lady Julia fans as well as for those readers who enjoy a good mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lady Julia does it again...

    In this second book in the series, the characters, plot, and descriptions are better than ever. We meet more of Julia's nine siblings, as well as some other eccentric family members. I never tire reading about Julia openning her "retucule" and the men wearing "cravats". After all the events of the first book, Julia has been tramatized. Heck, I was traumatized! We see first hand, the character developing and growing. As for Nickolas Brisbane, I am still trying to figure him out. But then, that is part of the mystery and the fun. We can't wait for the next sentence, the next paragraph, the next chapter, the next book! Deanna Raybourn has a wonderful writing style, that lets you visually walk into the story. I would highly recommend this book if you enjoy historical mysteries. Now, I need to think about who would best play Brisbane in the movie... Hummm..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Deanna Does It Again

    In the continuing story of our now familiar Lady Grey, we find her and her brothers being called home for the holidays by their father. Upon arrival home they find that their home is filled with guests for the holidays. One of them being none other than Nicholas Brisbane, whom since we were last with him has gotten engaged, to Lady Grey's horror. However, she would never show it to him so she must put on a stronger persona then before and face the fact that she may have lost the one man that makes her feel like she has never felt before. However, before she can begin to worry too much about Brisbane's pending nuptials there is a murder in her family home.

    You will spend several hours visiting our old friends brought to life by Raybourn's unique writing style. While being introduced to new just as intriguing characters. Raybourn once again captures everything with such detail that you find yourself wrapped up in a world that you don't want to leave. You have to keep turning the pages to find out what is going to happen next. Once you reach the end you will be disappointed that you read so quickly. You will find yourself wishing you had taken your time with it. Savoring it and letting it linger longer just like any good meal.

    I could not get to the local bookstore quick enough to get Silent on the Moor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    light mystery suspense

    interesting read - light mystery and suspense. somewhat formulaic. suggest ms raybourn get a new editor - almost every Italian phrase uttered by not only the 'italian' character but also those who supposedly spoke the langueage was incorrect. even a child whose seen the disney movie "lady and the tramp" knows it buona notte - not buone notte...and there were quite a few other major errors...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Deanna Raybourn doing what she does best

    When you form a relationship with a writer's work, picking up that writer's book becomes a kind of home-coming experience. Even if the book is a brand new and unfamiliar one, you can still enjoy the anticipation of coming back to your favorite's writing, storytelling style and - if it is a series - the characters you have come to love from the prior works.

    Being an enthusiastic "serial reader" myself, I revel in the sense of returning. This was very much the case with Azimov's "Foundation" series and Clarke's "Rama" series, the delicious Harry Potter books by J. K. Rowling and even Terry Goodkind's "Sword of Truth" series (until the author got lost in his own plot lines and couldn't find the way out).

    So, it was with no small pleasure that I finally got around to reading the second in Deanna Raybourn's Lady Julia Grey series Silent in the Sanctuary. The feeling was further enhanced by the fact that the book itself also began with a home-coming of Lady Julia and her brothers (with a few new characters in tow) to the March family seat - the Bellmont Abbey.

    From then on, it is Deanna Raybourn doing what she does best: making you laugh one moment, frown in puzzlement the next and cringe two minutes later. She is precisely the kind of author, with whom you need never worry about being disappointed - it just cannot happen. After the edge-of-your-seat page-turner that was "Silent in the Grave", one might think that there are really only so many riddles and plot twists one author can come up with to keep the reader interested. Well, apparently this author has a secret portal into a riddle and plot twist universe, because I personally don't see her running out of them any time soon.

    The complex multi-layered plot is garnished with all the favorites Deanna Raybourn supplied so generously in the first book: fantastic environment (Thornfield Hall would have been so proud!); incredible food (I think each book should come with a recipe Appendix); gorgeous clothes; the cleverly-hidden nods to other works of literature (read the March family train station scene and then the similar departure scene from Jerome K. Jerome's "Three Men in a Boat" side-by-side - you'll laugh twice as hard at them both); and - of course - the characters that, while honoring the great traditions of romantic literature, remain nonetheless fresh and fascinating: the likable villains, the crazy-yet-sharp old ladies, the annoying I-know-something-but-I-won't-tell guests - all of them swirling in a mad vortex around Lady Julia herself and - of course - the incomparable Mr. Brisbane.

    A word of caution: if you are hoping to get a breather with this book, think again. The closer you get to the end, and the more questions are being answered, the more new mysteries pop up. So, if you are anything like me, expect to stay up till midnight devouring the last 100-150 pages. Not that you will notice the time, mind you - you will be far too busy enjoying yourself in the company of Deanna Raybourn and her characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Silent in the Sanctuary

    The world of Lady Julia was well drawn in "Grave." I loved the details of Julia's home, her clothes, her interests, her friends, her meals, her maids, etc. Everything was fascinating and very realistic - that is, I could believe in the reality of the character's experiences, especially her childhood and family. In "Sanctuary," we go to Lady Julia's childhood home for Christmas. Five of the ten children are visiting, along with two cousins, a moldering aunt, her father's paramour, and assorted other characters - including Julia's heartthrob, Brisbane, who arrives sporting a new title and a new fiancee. The details of Julia's experience and the experiences of her family and friends again ring true and are enthralling. I loved everything about this book; this is the one that "Grave" wanted to be. SILENT IN THE SANCTUARY is an interesting blend between romance and mystery. Raybourn is clearly a talented author--I'll certainly look for more of her books in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    This is book two of the murder mystery trilogy by author Deanna Raybourn. Book one ends with a new murder to be solved and this inquiry continues in book two.

    This second book develops the relationships within Lady Julia's family and within her circle of friends and acquaintances, as well as the growing attraction between Nicholas Brisbane, private inquiry agent and Lady Julia. There is another murder to be solved and Nicholas wants Lady Julia to refrain from interfering with his work, as he fears for her safety. Lady Julia is determined to assist Nicholas and we have the opportunity to view the push away from Nicholas and the interference from Julia in her efforts to be helpful. Nicholas and Julia are confronted with the intricacies of the murder situation and their own increasingly complex relationship.

    The author maintains the readers interest throughout this book and ensures the reader will want to read the final book of this trilogy to find out if this complicated relationship between Julia and Nicholas is one that blossoms into one that grows into a more permanent one than seen in the prior books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the Silent Collection!!!!!

    I have loved all three Silent... novels by Raybourn. I can't wait until the next one is published. You really have to read them all to get the entire story...Silent in the Grave, Silent in the Sanctuary, and Silent on the Moors. Very detailed writing. You feel like you are there. I couldn't put them down. I read all three in a row. I would highly recommend this and the others in this collection. Intriguing and entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellant!

    This book is one of my favorites. I recommend the entire series. The writing style was the best I have read in a long time. I couldn't put it down and finished it in less than a day. Amazing writer and story line. Love the characters and the twists and turns in the plot. It is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    Not A Dull Moment In Victorian England

    Picked up on a whim and discovered literary gold. Great characters, solid plot, fine writing with beautiful descriptive phrasing...not to mention a well woven mystery and a believable and well crafted ending. A real talent. If Nathaniel Parker wasn't already Thomas Lynley he would make a great Nicholas. Easily on solid footing with Martha Grimes, Elizabeth George, and others in their league.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    One Of The Best!

    Recommending this book to everyone! Looking forward to the sequel-love to see this book on the screen with Colin Firth playing the role of Brisbane!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2008

    Slowly but surely

    This book started out so slow that I didn't know if I was going to finish it. I'm glad I hung in there because the book got better and the characters became more interesting and more like they had been in the first book, 'Silent in the Grave'. Like the first book, the mystery is not easy to figure out, which makes you want to read that much more to find out who done it. Not as good as the first but still pretty good. Will read the next in the series when it comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    Fantastic Read

    I couldn't put it down, even during a dinner party 'just kidding, though I practically ran back to the book after shutting the door'. A great mystery/romance, which in my opinion, is the best combination a book can have. I cannot wait for the next installment to arrive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    Well done !

    Sometimes reading sequels can be disappointing, but Silent in the Sanctuary was, in my opinion, even better than the last. I picked up the first book on a fluke, but was pleasantly surprised. Can't wait for the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5