BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Silent on the Moor (Lady Julia Grey Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    another excellent mystery

    Silent on the Moor is third in the Lady Julia Grey Victorian mystery series by Deanna Raybourn.

    In this third installment, we have Julia following the handsome private investigator, Nicholas Brisbane, to the moors of Yorkshire. Julia first met Brisbane after her husband was murdered in the first book, Silent in the Grave. Julia comes from wealth, a large eccentric family. Brisbane is half Gypsy, half English. But Julia does not care about propriety and has followed Brisbane on the pretense of keeping her sister Portia company, while Portia sets up household for Brisbane at Grimsgrave Hall, the manor that he has recently purchased. Brisbane does not think he is good enough for the young widow, Lady Julia, and tries to drive her away. But she is determined to settle things between them once and for all. But first she has to solve the mystery of the hidden mummy babies, and the attempted murder by poison of Nicholas. The Allenby's are the former owners of Grimsgrave Hall and the mother and her two daughters are still living there while a cottage is being prepared for them. They had to sell the manor after the son squandered the family money before his death from malaria. Julia discovers Brisbane's ties to the family and the reason he has bought this rundown manor and the plans they have for him.


    I love the Lady Julia series. The more recent book covers portray these books as bodice ripper romances. But they are not, they are well-written mysteries with complex plots and fascinating characters. Of course, the chemistry between Julia and Brisbane doesn't hurt either. Julia is very stubborn and headstrong and ignores Brisbane's warnings of danger and is often involved in scandalous behavior. And though he is loathe to admit it, he needs her help.

    This is a perfect read to snuggle up with on a cold night. Though these books could be read as stand alone, I really recommend starting at the beginning to really get the history and flavor of the series. You don't want to miss any of these books.

    They only downside is that this is the last book until Raybourn writes another, which I hope will be soon. I look forward to more adventures of Nicholas and Lady Julia!
    http://bookmagic418.blogspot.com/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Well Written and Atmospheric Gothic Romance

    I had great anticipation for this Raybourn sequel and it did not disappoint. Her main characters continue to be original and well-constructed, and her plots involving and satisfying. This book owes a lot to the Brontes, and even to Conan Doyle's Hound of the Baskervilles, but while it revisits the familiar Victorian themes of class disparity,loneliness and human contradiction, and paints a very gothic portrait of the moors, it's also fast paced and very modern in it's appeal, and in the character of the heroine and her sister.The hero is a bit stereotypically brooding and inscrutable at times, but he never seems to be acting out of character, and the final resolution of conflict and tension between the two main characters is entirely believable. I hope Raybourn continues to give us many more of these intelligent and entertaining ventures into reviving the Gothic romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    silent on the moor

    Lady Julia Grey has had enough. Despite Brisbane's best efforts to keep her safely out of his path, she has decided to follow her sister Portia to his remote Yorkshire estate, Grimsgrave, on the pretext of helping him to outfit the place. Despite his strong feelings for her (and she for him) Brisbane decidedly does not want Julia to come to his new home but Julia convinces her reluctant family to let her go and force Brisbane to decide once and for all what is to become of their relationship. Upon arriving at the mysterious Grimsgrave, Julia finds things are not as calm as they appeared and she slowly unravel mystery after mystery surrounding the the previous owners of Grimsgrave and their connection to Brisbane. All my favorite elements from previous books are once again out in force - gypsies, the quirky Grim, servants who will happily spill gossip for a chance to chat with the lovely Lady Julia, and of course, bodies that keep popping up. Not to mention Julia's frequent interactions with her hilarious family - Julia and Portia's exhangces frequently had me in stitches.

    This third installment of Raybourn's fantastic series is a real standout. I felt the mystery itself was much more unexpected yet entirely believable and for that reason more horrifying. Julia really comes into her own as well. Always outspoken, she finds herself for the first time on equal footing with Brisbane and adeptly holds her own. I loved it.

    Lady Julia Grey is my hero. Not only is smart and an extremely good dresser but she just so happens to expertly solve the most puzzling mysteries that normal people would run screaming away from. Her curiosity is one of her most intriguing characteristics - she is logical, methodical and can give one cutting remark. I love her. I want to be her. And I also want Brisbane. And Ms. Raybourne, just so you know, I sleep much better at night just thinking that a Brisbane could possibly be wandering around this earth. Thank you.
    seemichelleread.blogspot.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Smooth, Enchanting, Delightful

    (First I should state that I would LOVE to see this series put on film by only the best producers/directors.) I was introduced to this author by a local bookstore employee and have been hooked since the first, "Silent in the Grave". I agree with the other posts on three points...I prefered the more mysterious covers of the previous two books, waiting for this to become available was a KILLER and one needs to pace oneself so as to savor the book as long as you can. I preordered with B&N and it arrived just in time to make winter temporarily disappear. Deanna Raybourn has a writing style that appeals to me as a reader. She draws you into a lovely scene and the story unfolds with a mesmerizing effect that the reader forgets they are turning pages. Then you realize, the chapter breaks and you see the beautiful quotes and scroll work to indicate that you have been entranced. Some plots I presumed to have had figured out but was grateful that I had not. Descriptions were wonderful. You can feel the emotions, smell the odors, hear the sounds. A delightful way to treat your eyes. I look forward to many more novels written by Ms. Raybourn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    ENJOYABLE BUT PREDICTABLE

    Raybourn needs to be more csreful w/ her clues. I figured out the plot almost right away -- even specific details. At one point it was so obvious I just rolled my eyes. Hope the next one is better at the plot twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Such a wonderful read.

    Of the entire series (thus far) this book is my favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    One of my favorites in the Lady Julia saga....love the setting,

    One of my favorites in the Lady Julia saga....love the setting, love meeting the gypsy aunt, and part of mysteries past are revealed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Long- Winded

    3rd book in the Lady Julia Grey series

    This latest tale is a mix of fiction, romance and mystery, which has Lady Julia and Nicholas Brisbane at each other like stray cats while around them there is revenge, death and many skeletons in the family closet.

    Lady Julia heads north with two of her siblings to Grimsgrave, to help Brisbane get his newly acquired house in order. It is an estate located in the moors of Yorkshire that has fallen into disrepair and the former blue blood owner, Lady Allenby and her two daughters are still in residence and are relying on Brisbane's hospitality for their survival.

    Upon her arrival, it was evident; Brisbane and Julia were not able to cordially work out a plan of attack so Brisbane left in a huff. Julia's curiosity soon had her prying onto the Allenby's family and Grimsgrave history, not realizing this would lead to an eventual nightmare of events. She finds herself caught up in the study of Egyptology and on the wrong side of Gypsy mythology that will place her and others in peril, especially Brisbane...

    As in my experience with Ms. Raybourn's previous novels, I found the introduction uneventful and long-winded. The endless bickering between Julia and Brisbane and the friction with Lady Allenby and her daughters soon became an irritant. Keeping my mind on track became a challenge but I was determined to see the outcome, I purchased the novel so I felt obliged to see the end. All that said and done, it was fun trying to guess who tried to rid the world of Brisbane by poisoning him. I may be a bit critical but 3 novels later I have the same complaints: lack of mystery, deprived of stimulating suspense and an atmosphere of romance that is as cold as the castles of the time. The main characters have become boring and one-dimensional to a point where I question if I will continue reading this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite of the series!

    I didn't care much for the cover of this book, but since it's a NOOKbook, I guess it doesn't make much difference. This book was by far my favorite of the three, and I loved the plot. Lady Julia Grey is her usual spunky, witty self, and Brisbane is just as brooding as ever. And of course, all of the unanswered questions finally get answered!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Gothic Climax to the Trilogy....

    In this third book in the series, Brisbane writes to Lady Julia's sister, Portia, and tells her "... and don't bring your sister". Well, we know Lady Julia... she is going to go to Yorkshire and the moors to find out why. Following right on the tails of the last novel, this one is just as captivating: the mysterious Allenby's, the blonde gameskeeper, the gypsy white witch and her absent husband, a falling down mansion, moors that can swallow you up. Then, there are Egyptian artifacts, references to Macedonians, mummy babies, a flatulent dog, bossy maids, etc. Brisbane is still having headaches and visions. And, Lady Julia has to unwind the mystery of this place, all the players, and her push-pull relationship with Brisbane. I am still trying to understand how someone could travel with a raven, but glad Grim was there nevertheless. The Marches are in prime form. I have to say this bookcover is a hoot though. The best news however, is that this is not the end of the series! For those of us who have grown to love the characters, the time period, and Ms. Raybourn's style of writing (hey, some of these words are not in my dictionary!), we cannot wait until the fall for a new episode.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mesmerizing Mystery With Gothic Atmosphere

    This atmospheric mystery is primarily set within a dilapidated mansion on the English moor and features Lady Jane Grey, her sister Portia, the dispossessed family members of the mansion as well as a brooding Brisbane and a mysterious gypsy healer. The story begins with Julia accompanying Portia on a planned visit to Brisbane's newly acquired mansion. Julia's sole purpose in doing so is to discover whether Brisbane loves her. Annoyingly, that romantic subplot, (which has Julia chasing after an unmarried Brisbane despite her brother's objections, father's misgivings and Victorian convention), does not carry through to the much-anticipated romantic showdown. Fortunately, the story is rescued at that point by a murder attempt and Julia's discovery of two mummy infants hidden within a secret priest hole. The plot resolves in a heart-hammering showdown on the moor. Shortly thereafter, the romantic sub-plot reaches resolution. I recommend this book to anyone who appreciates an atmospheric romantic mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An exciting journey from start to finish!

    Deanna Raybourn has done it again with Silent On the Moor. Just when one thinks they have it all figured out, Ms. Raybourn comes along and twists things up again. There were times when I was quite annoyed with character Nicholas Brisbane and almost ready to see him meet an untimely death, but he redeemed himself admirably. I look forward to any future writings by this author; she has quite the gift!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best one of the series....yet

    You have to read the first two Silent novels by Raybourn (Silent in the Grave and Silent in the Sanctuary) before this one. A true page turner! I was already hooked, but this one really set it off. I can't wait for the next Silent novel to be released! Highly recommend the entire series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Great historical romance.

    I have enjoyed this series very much. The two main characters have great depth and intelligence, and very likable. I appreciate the writer's romance without all the sex. There is a great story line in each of these books. I do think one would get more enjoyment and appreciation for this series if they are read in order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good escapist read

    Good description of Yorkshire moors. Drama, mystery and romance plus very likeable characters continuing from previous novels in the series make this a very enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    Fun!

    I thought this was a lot of fun and a real Comfort book. Chocolate in book form

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Silent on the Moor

    Deanna Raybourn's Lady Julia Grey doesn't disappoint. Julia is a strong woman in a time dominated by all male social conventions and stigmas, yet delicate enough to know and see the strength in finding that perfect connection in the mysterious Nicholas Brisbane. This third books ties some loose ends and the reader will feverently beg the author to continue bringing the colorful dynamics of two very different but relatible characters to print.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thoroughly Satisfying

    Upon finishing this novel, the phrase that comes to mind is "thoroughly satisfying". I think that it is safe to say that I read this almost six hundred page novel in about three sittings, I just could hardly put it down. It was just that enthralling for me.

    Side note: I agree with what has been said about the cover. The original cover for the first two novels was much more mysteries and intriguing to me. This cover presents itself as a romance, and this is so much more than a romance novel.


    Easily this novel could stand alone, although you might feel the characters a bit more after having the background of what they have been through. Their stories are introduced well and it does not deter from this story to miss the background, so either way works. The first novel I enjoyed minus one certain part that just bugged me, not the writing, but a plot line. Anyway, the second novel was so much better than the first, so I was excited to read this one. Having already decided that I am a fan of Deanna's writing, I was expecting to enjoy this book. What I was not expecting was to absolutely love it beginning to end.



    Of the three Julia Grey novels so far available, this is the best so far. Each book gets better and I cannot wait for more from Deanna Raybourn in the future.



    With each twist of the plot and mysterious event to unfold I was shocked and amazed at the pieces that I missed and thrilled with the bits that I figured out myself. Julia Grey brings us through a fabulous journey with not just one big mystery, but bunches of little ones as well that kept the pages turning.



    Throughout the novel, I laughed out loud, became infuriatingly angry, teared slightly, and snickered relentlessly. Within the main plot and all the side plots, I definitely feel that the entire story led up to a great overall tale and I was vastly entertained.



    It is another one of those books, where I ask, why did it have to end and when can I get more?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Angieville: SILENT ON THE MOOR

    It's difficult for me to describe exactly how excited I was for this book to come out. SILENT ON THE MOOR was easily at the top of my most anxiously awaited books of 2009. I discovered Deanna Raybourn last year and, after blowing through the first two Julia Grey novels, have spent the last six months in that special agony reserved for the lovers of sequels. Fortunately a copy popped up at a local (ish) bookstore and I was saved from suffering through the last two weeks til its March 1st publication date.

    The third installment opens with Julia's big brother Bellmont trying to talk her out of haring off to Yorkshire after Brisbane when he has made it clear, in no uncertain terms, that he does not want her anywhere near the place. Julia, of course, doesn't care a fig for Monty's scandalized pride and makes her way with all haste (and several good intentions) to the moors. Unfortunately, Brisbane's new home, Grimsgrave, is even creepier and more decrepit than he led Portia to believe in his letter. The whole place reeks of Miss Havisham's manor and, after meeting the current occupants, Julia soon realizes something is seriously amiss in this house where madness and murder walk hand in hand. Not only does she face the task of convincing Brisbane of a few increasingly important things, but Julia also finds herself uncovering hidden corpses, accepting charms from Gypsy witches, and thwarting a particularly vicious murder attempt.

    Reading SILENT ON THE MOOR was an exercise in conflicting emotions. I wanted to blow right through it to the end in one sitting and I simultaneously wanted each page to last longer than it possibly could so that I could savor being back with these two characters I have come to love. I had some pretty high hopes for this one. The third book in a series such as this comes with a rather hefty share of promise resting squarely on its shoulders and can really make or a break the series as a whole, in my opinion. This one truly made it. Every hope I had was fulfilled and I found myself turning back to reread favorite passages before I was even a third of the way through the book. This practice was repeated at regular intervals for the duration--truly the mark of an excellent read around these parts. If you like literary mysteries and haven't come across this series before, for the love of all that is holy, go get them now. I am immoderately fond of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A suburb whodunit

    In 1888 London Lady Julia Grey¿s brother Bellmont admonishes her for chasing after a fool who rejects her; he also lectures her older sister Portia for abetting her in this doltish escapade. Widow Julia agrees with everything Bellmont says, but leaves with Portia for Yorkshire anyway where the inquiry agent Nicholas Brisbane, whom she met when her spouse was murdered (see SILENT IN THE GRAVE) bought Grimsgrave Hall on the moors.<BR/><BR/>Upon arrival Julia is taken aback as to the dilapidated condition of Brisbane¿s new home and even more so by the arrogance yet defeated auras of the aristocratic former owners Lady Allenby and her daughters. Julia receives a mixed welcome from her host; he obviously wants her, but also wants her far away from him as he refuses to bridge the gap in social classes between them and fears his work will harm her. When poison enters the mix, social class no longer matters as Julia investigates the past to determine who wants to send the tenants especially the new owner of Grimsgrave to their graves.<BR/><BR/>The third Lady Grey ¿Silent¿ late Victorian mystery (see SILENT IN THE SANCTUARY) is a suburb whodunit that provides readers with a deep sense of time and place when the aristocracy is in free fall. The story line is action-packed, but driven by the strong cast. Lady Julia is at the top of her game as she has some experience in inquiry and with Brisbane as a target, she and readers learn of his past. Fans will relish this exciting historical whodunit.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4