Customer Reviews for

Silent to the Bone

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    Silent to the Bone

    The book, Silent to the Bone, is a mystery story. It¿s about a boy, named Connor, who has to solve the mystery of who put a baby in a coma. The suspects: the baby¿s older brother, the baby sitter, and the pizza man. And how did it happen? Did the baby fall? Was it dropped? The baby¿s older brother, Branwell, made the 911 call, and goes into shock. He won¿t talk to anyone now. Now Connor has to interview everyone present at the scene, and those who know the people suspected to be involved. The book goes through several turns, and suspects are then dropped out, and put back into perspective. Finally, good news with the baby comes. This helps the brother in his state of shock. Meanwhile, Connor shows him note cards to help him find the right person. The cards have words between the two of them that only they would understand. As the story unravels, secrets are told, and questions are answered. I would recommend this book for people of all ages. It¿s more targeted at the teen audience. It¿s a nail biter with a spin of humor, and a pleasing ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    I highly recommend this book for all young adults. This book is about how Conner helped Branwell figure out what had happened in the Jack-and-Jill bathroom the day that Branwell dropped Nikki.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    Silent to the bone

    This book is a fun to read story for most ages. A mysterious tale of friendship, care, and being to quiet for what you've done. Branwell Zamborska has just turned thirteen and lately his friend, connor has noticed changes in him. Why was he changing and wasn't connor. One day everything changes when Connor gets the news of Nikki, Branwell's half-sister, being purposely dropped and the blame was put on Branwell himself by his au piar, Vivian. With that Branwell has stopped talking and not said a word since the 911 call. Now Branwell has one hope left, Connor. But Connor also has his suspician on Branwell after he has met Vivian for the first time. Now Connor must find a way to communicate with Branwell and prove him falsley accused to set him free. But will the story take a twist when a man's voice is heard on the 911 tape. This book caught my attention on the firat page and E.L. Konigsburg left no room for insults in this suspence and mystery filled book. With a side story of friendship that keeps filled thourgh the whole story. this book i will not recomend for kids 7 and under. Who really did it read to find out!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    Konigsburg, E.L. '2002'. Silent to the Bone. New York: Athenieum Books. Contemporary Realistic Fiction Synopsis: The story is about a young man who becomes speechless when his infant half-sister has a terrible accident and must be rushed to the hospital in a coma. Branwell is accused and presumed to have done something to Nikki, but since he 'Branwell' is not talking, it is up to his friend Conner to solve the case and help his friend. Conner ultimately creates flash cards with words on it to spark interest from Branwell, but it really starts moving when letters of the alphabet are written on the back sides of the cards. Through these cards we learn the nanny really has a hand in what happened and is using Branwell¿s silence to avoid suspicion. Evaluation: The book is well-written and takes a look at friendships, family, and love or more specifically, coming of age. Growing up is hard enough to do with a distant father and a step-mother who has just had a baby, but factor in a young, British nanny living in the house who has her own agenda when it comes to being around an impressionable young man. Branwell has no choice but to fall for the nanny, thanks to many traps and ploys made along the way while she was scantily clad. Family and friendship is shown to be important by the interactions of Conner with his father and half-sister ¿ although they do not always see eye-to-eye, the three do manage to come together and solve many issues for Branwell. Conner sticks with his friend through the entire ordeal and shows how the nanny manipulated a young man who misunderstood a normal, natural, growing up process as something shameful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    awesome

    ok i gotta admit i did not understand this book at all the first time i read it but i read it a second time and then i realized wat e.l. konigsburg was tryin to tell me this book is awesome and it mite be confusing but go for it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    Amazing

    It was a great book. And It is true life, this kind of stuff does happen!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    I lov it its soo mysterious

    My teacher likes so i guess i like it to she like to

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    my review to you

    Branwell should not be in trouble for something he did not do.good thing that Conner helps him to be proved he is not lying. Vivan is trying to blame Branwell without knowing his side of what happenened.I really recommed it if you love great mystery books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    great book

    this book was a outstading and it was a book you could just sit down and read until you finish it because it has so many things in the book that make you wonder like what happens next. I reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Very good book!

    This book is very good and understanding....it is just like real life, when someone is accused of murder or serious injury and you do not no what to do.....well read this book and you will no that life is worth having!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2003

    Great Mystery

    This book was a great mystery that I would reccomend to most people who like to read. I brought it with me on a trip for the plane and they had to pull me away from the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    A good book.

    This book is about friendship and how one boy tries to help out his friend. I really recommend this book. It is also kind of like a mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1